DIY Curbed Wheel Fix - Was It Worth It?

kobayashiGT

NICE!!!! so for those who kenna kerb rashes on your rims, the other consideration is to get it repaired. Don't change when you can repair!

But I think in Singapore context, it will be more cost effiecent to send to a local spray painting shop for the job. 😬

I juz leave it as is

Losing battle. Especially when the missus drives it......

• Haha! 9

2 minutes ago, Soya said:

I juz leave it as is

Orh hor....................................

9 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Orh hor....................................

Hard truths

3 minutes ago, Soya said:

Hard truths

Better make sure you log out each time. RIP. Hahaha.

13 minutes ago, Soya said:

I juz leave it as is

Which is cheaper? Change rim, change car or change missus? 

Stay stock the cheapest...😁 

7 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Curb rash juz gotta treat as normal wear n tear

As long as rim not warped or suffer from high speed wobble, life goes on

Edited by Soya

11 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Change rims - $800 - $3000

Change car - Starting from $40K.

Change missus - Half of your assets gone.

What do you think? :grin:

16 minutes ago, Soya said:

Curb rash juz gotta treat as normal wear n tear

As long as rim not warped or suffer from high speed wobble, life goes on

Nowadays I don’t even go to car wash... tyres still got treads can oredi...semi slick or simi slick tyre also can...just drive very very slow...

attain zen or reach nirvana state liao 😁

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

Propose have it repair after more than 3 rims damages.

Check for warp condition / hairline cracks before decision on the repair n have a new coat of paint (new colour) for a refreshing look too

23 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Change rims - $800 - $3000

Change car - Starting from $40K.

Change missus - Half of your assets gone.

What do you think? :grin:

Stock...keep everything good or bad intact 😁

39 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Nowadays I don’t even go to car wash... tyres still got treads can oredi...semi slick or simi slick tyre also can...just drive very very slow...

attain zen or reach nirvana state liao 😁

Wah sei....u more hardcore than me. Lol

I've fixed curb rash on my rims before. Just use some quick drying putty, sand down, dried over night and spray or brush paint the next day. Super easy. Couldn't find the fix the day i sold the rims. lol.

One thing is the rims cannot chrome as i cant find a good paint can that can reproduce the chrome look. The is the reason (other than i hate chrome rims) i do not look into chrome rims when changing. Other colour like black, grey and gun metal are easier to DIY patch.

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

hahaha. you need this bro.

https://www.rimringz.com/

I dun wanna add any unnecessary weight or stuff that might cause wheel wobble from it being unbalanced

Besides, this doesn't prevent curb rash n might land up looking worse w damaged plastic/rubber lining dangling from the rims

Macaim trying to protect the leather seats by covering up w a T-shirt which has holes n looking worse overall.....

14 minutes ago, Soya said:

I dun wanna add any unnecessary weight or stuff that might cause wheel wobble from it being unbalanced

Besides, this doesn't prevent curb rash n might land up looking worse w damaged plastic/rubber lining dangling from the rims

Macaim trying to protect the leather seats by covering up w a T-shirt which has holes n looking worse overall.....

T-shirt with holes are known as ventilated tee...good for our climate when park under the hot sun. 😁

36 minutes ago, Soya said:

that is ironic. hahahhaha.

2 hours ago, Soya said:

I juz leave it as is

3 heartaches (daughter 2 wife 1) within 2 months of the arrival of our new family car.

currently there is an almost indiscernible kerb rash which i really cannot be bothered to get repaired now.

Edited by sake