Hand Brake vs Foot Brake vs Flap Brake (aka EPB aka Electronic Parking Brake)

DOBIEMKZ

Just now, Phluvcat said:

Heng manual cars are handbrake, or is it? I cannot imagine foot rest, foot brake, clutch, brake and gas. 

Why not?

22 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

So the bigger, longer and/or thicker the handbrake stick, the more expensive it will cost to replace?

Bro, we are talking about tablet size lah. hahha. Your imagination is wild.

1 minute ago, Phluvcat said:

Heng manual cars are handbrake, or is it? I cannot imagine foot rest, foot brake, clutch, brake and gas. 

My first car after getting my driving license was a manual car with a handbrake stick lever.

But that was like a quarter of a century ago.

Don't know about manual cars now.

But it will be safer and more ergonomic for them to use hand-pull parking brake.

3 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Bro, we are talking about tablet size lah. hahha. Your imagination is wild.

Opps! Pai seh.

15 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

Opps! Pai seh.

haha. No prob. but usually the thicker one more shiok lah. hahaha.

12 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

My first car after getting my driving license was a manual car with a handbrake stick lever.

But that was like a quarter of a century ago.

Don't know about manual cars now.

But it will be safer and more ergonomic for them to use hand-pull parking brake.

Haha I also dunno, my cars so far more than 10 y o. 

Put me in the latest model I probably cannot even get it started. 

Remembered many years back need to use uncle's cefiro to fetch him at airport, I think I could not figure out how to release "hand brake"... OMG.

I dunno I feel some stuff should keep it mechanical or hydraulic so if the area kanna a EMP blast, kanna remotely hijacked, at least still got means to stop or slow down the vehicle 😂

26 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

haha. No prob. but usually the thicker one more shiok lah. hahaha.

Yes agreed.

Past two weeks handled or test-driven some new cars with handbrake levers, some are indeed thicker than others.

And some are softer than others; maybe they are covered with some kind of rubbery foam and wrapped in leather.

2 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Most important

it works.

To know that it works, there must be some sound.

Am I the only one that likes foot brake?

At least the L foot for something to do. Just stamp on lt and and it's all it needs. 

Just now, Hamburger said:

At least the L foot for something to do. Just stamp on lt and and it's all it needs. 

You can also practise left foot braking

😂

5 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

I love foot brake. 
Nothing against EPB. But at least i can check if my footbrake is on/off even after i powered the car down.

10 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

You can also practise left foot braking

😂

I do that.

Keeps my mind alert and my brain agile.

5 hours ago, Phluvcat said:

I drove a w202 C220 diesel manual during my last visit to UK, this mercedes comes with 4 pedals & footrest...😂

Edited by Sugimoto

7 hours ago, Phluvcat said:

Old manual 200E Merc foot brake with release pull handle on the right side of the steering. Mind boggling to operate. In the end didn't get it. LOL

W124 Foot Operated Parking Brake with Release Handle on the Right Side,really a Lousy Design,W126 just Right Side Pull Handbrake is the best Design....the best Foot Parking Brake is Toyota 2003 Camry,Step to engage,Step 1 more time to release.

Once i sat in a PHV going ~100kmh and the traffic in front suddenly stop. He had to supplement the foot brake with hand brake. If no hand brake kiss the car in front liao.

I wonder if the EPB can provide additional braking power?