COVID-19: Phase 2 Heightened Alert 16 May to 13 June

Blueray

Message added by BabyBlade

One step forward two steps back (the sweeter Phase 3 ☹️😞)

35 minutes ago, Kopites said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/stay-home-this-weekend-given-growing-covid-19-cases-in-the-community-masagos

copied from the news. "Singaporeans should remain in their homes over the weekend, going out only if necessary, because of the growing number of Covid-19 cases in the community, said Minister for Social and Family Development Masagos Zulkifli on Thursday (May 13)."

-------------------------------------------------------

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-visited-community-cases-ikea-malls-changi-airport-14803894

Copied from the news "There is no need to avoid places where confirmed cases of COVID-19 have been, added MOH."

Isn't these two contradicting reports spell of complacency all over on how the incumbent handle the situation.

If I read ST I should stay at home. If I read CNA (MOH) no need to avoid those places.

🤔

Actually the proper interpretation seems to be please stay at home and go out only if necessary, but do not need to avoid those places visited by covid-19 cases. This maths question like very tricky. The places would have gone through thorough cleaning thus no need to avoid, given our understanding of the virus so far. 

9 hours ago, Heartlander said:

If you just pause to look at the statistic published on the MOH website, only 3 in ICU now despite all the doomsday scenario painted by a few here. Relax abit lah. I will panic only when those vaccinated start getting the severe symptoms and those warded in ICU faces sharp increase.

Don't gong LJ wei. How much tax do you pay (do you guys even pay tax?)? Are you going to support those jobless due to the CB and pandemic closures with your own money? Are you going to pay those business owners whose businesses have been affected? Are you going to chip in your time at our hospitals to help the doctors and nurses? Are you going to spend your time helping those doing contact tracing? 

Edited by Weez911
  • Praise 11

11 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

According to the terms agreed by both sides, the scheme will be suspended for two weeks if the seven-day moving average of unlinked infections in either city exceeds five cases.

Think we haven’t exceed yet. Link ah link.

26th may.. so -7 days is 19th may. So haven't start counted.

7 hours ago, Heartlander said:

Despite all these, only 3 ICU cases. 

Screenshot_20210514-000134_Chrome.thumb.jpg.7900d65dad7c971fae79eeb6a4318b7b.jpg

My opinion is that ICU cases should always be kept to a minimum.  It's not like other industries where maybe you operate at 80%  max capacity and leave 20% buffer. Cos for ICU, sometimes there is no warning time and when a bed is needed, the bed is needed immediately.  No time to prepare.  

And this is something I learned from my days in the hospital but might not be relevant here so take it with salt if you must.

https://www.ncid.sg/Facilities-Services/Pages/default.aspx

You are assuming that NCID ICU beds are solely for covid-19 cases.  I don't know.  I only know that life doesn't come to a standstill just because of covid-19.   Other infectious diseases still go happen.  So it's always better to have a reserve.

Example. I was attached to a burns ward once.  Then one senior remarked that even during situations like Bali bombing, where cases were flooding into Singapore,  there were still fires in Singapore and all that and you have to be careful not to fill up your ward unnecessarily cos the normal cases dont stop just because something happened overseas.

• Praise 11

10 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

Don't gong LJ wei. How much tax do you pay (do you guys even pay tax?)? Are you going to support those jobless due to the CB and pandemic closures with your own money? Are you going to pay those business owners whose businesses have been affected? Are you going to chip in your time at our hospitals to help the doctors and nurses? Are you going to spend your time helping those doing contact tracing? 

I.G.N.O.R.E

15 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

26th may.. so -7 days is 19th may. So haven't start counted.

Moving average same?

Edited by Fcw75

9 hours ago, Heartlander said:

If you just pause to look at the statistic published on the MOH website, only 3 in ICU now despite all the doomsday scenario painted by a few here. Relax abit lah. I will panic only when those vaccinated start getting the severe symptoms and those warded in ICU faces sharp increase. The big difference from a year ago is we have the vaccines now which is still effective even for the mutated virus. Just be responsible and do your part can already.

You can choose to live your life base on facts or fear mongering. Is your life.

oh only 3 in ICU... so are we going to praise the govt for a job well done?

• Sad 1

12 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

I think I better talk less since I am definitely paying lesser tax than you do. Really has our society evolved into such that if I pay more tax, people will look up to me more and respect my view more? Good thing reality is abit different. Our dear Kumar once joked that when a husband tried to tell his wife off that she can't cook well despite spending many hrs watching cooking videos, she replied why he watch so much porn videos yet bit good at it.

I will take it that you are not guilty of gjw yourself if you have done all that you mentioned. And I will clap for you really if you do.

The list of places visited by covid patient is completely useless now.  They might as well have a list of places not visited by covid patients 

20 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

My opinion is that ICU cases should always be kept to a minimum.  It's not like other industries where maybe you operate at 80%  max capacity and leave 20% buffer. Cos for ICU, sometimes there is no warning time and when a bed is needed, the bed is needed immediately.  No time to prepare.  

And this is something I learned from my days in the hospital but might not be relevant here so take it with salt if you must.

You are assuming that NCID ICU beds are solely for covid-19 cases.  I don't know.  I only know that life doesn't come to a standstill just because of covid-19.   Other infectious diseases still go happen.  So it's always better to have a reserve.

Example. I was attached to a burns ward once.  Then one senior remarked that even during situations like Bali bombing, where cases were flooding into Singapore,  there were still fires in Singapore and all that and you have to be careful not to fill up your ward unnecessarily cos the normal cases dont stop just because something happened overseas.

I understand this reserve thing perfectly. Thanks for reminding all. 

But now I am simply highlighting that the situation is not as dire as what some here painted, using the 3 ICU bed occupancy rate as an evidence 

5 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

I understand this reserve thing perfectly. Thanks for reminding all. 

But now I am simply highlighting that the situation is not as dire as what some here painted, using the 3 ICU bed occupancy rate as an evidence 

Boss....dun count your chickens before they are hatched is all I can say...still early in the game...for the virus to toy with us...

The optimism here reminds me of the 1999 Bayern Vs Man U - UCL game.....Bayern leading by 1 goal for much of the 90minutes....that is until...injury time....the rest is of course history..

Sometimes peepur can get overly conceited..as our leeders do...then concede late own goal...

Edited by Kyrios

31 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

There is no ICU bed solely for COVID19.  Accordingly, ICU cases have to be kept to a bare minimum.

In addition, NCID has 300+ isolation ward.  These wards are not solely for COVID19.

Koped from HWZ. 2 students from Kong Hwa kenna. Compared to the OG variant where very few children kenna, this new variants infected a number of students in such a short time.

image.png

• Shocked 3
  • Sad 1

7 hours ago, Hubwee said:

Tot we have stopped those short term visit pass ? How come still have case 63123 who is here to visit his PR family member ....

He came in before we stop those passes or ??? 

He is a contact of 4 other cases.

The oldest is 62,254 who is confirmed on April 22.

The newest is 62,785 who is confirmed on May 2.  Symptom onset date: April 27.

Without all these 4 cases, case 63,123 will not be detected.

My deduction is that he came in before the restriction date.

48 minutes ago, Chongster said:

The list of places visited by covid patient is completely useless now.  They might as well have a list of places not visited by covid patients 

St John, Kusu, Ubin etc still not on the list. [laugh]

Task force never learn .... Covid is airborne and asymptomatic. 

Students at another 2 schools affected! Total 5 schools till date (for the current wave)...

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20210514-1146669

I am fully supportive of CB2.0 (for say 1 month), to prevent further spread in the community.

All the half past 6 WFH, headcount restriction, advices to minimise outing, etc. are useless. Feel free to quote my post as I know what I am talking about and will not mince my words.

• Praise 14
  • Angry 1
  • Shocked 2

Are we closer to the point where there's a 4pm announcement, that begins with MY FELLOW SINGAPOREANS

• Sad 1