COVID-19: Phase 2 Heightened Alert 16 May to 13 June

Blueray

Message added by BabyBlade

One step forward two steps back (the sweeter Phase 3 ☹️😞)

9 hours ago, Ender said:

They left out the numbers for singapore. And ranking of 3rd highest outside India. His first day as MOH, and we are given this type of statement of denial of accountability. Jin smart alec in response.

The figures shown are after they reluctantly stop STVP holders from coming in of course will have high percentage of SC/PRs lar, think we stupid???😤

8 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Probably these old folks already full vaccinated  and thought they are safe? 😂

It appears to me most of the 31 deaths we had are from old folk. 

It’s their choice to go maskless, let them die

13 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

She has been flouting rules many times since last year, I wonder why was she not caught earlier.

Maybe give chance cause ex COL? Now splashed all over.... cannot give chance Liao. 

Just now, Mkl22 said:

Maybe give chance cause ex COL? Now splashed all over.... cannot give chance Liao. 

These SDA and police would not know she's an ex col in the 1st place. So this one is surely not accurate to say that.

1 minute ago, Macrosszero said:

Yeah typical old people talk. Always in their mindset “bo Tai Chee”. Die then die lor. But when they get sick and gasping.... it will then become save me save me. 

Just now, Yewheng said:

These SDA and police would not know she's an ex col in the 1st place. So this one is surely not accurate to say that.

My meaning of caught is a fine or some form of punishment. So either she is rich to continue paying the fine or punishment needs to be stiffer. 

9 hours ago, Raubern said:

7 primary schools with Covid-19 cases will switch to home-based learning from May 17 to 28. In the case of Yio Chu Kang Primary School, pupils there are already on HBL, and this will be extended till May 28.

Kong Hwa School

- Palm View Primary School

- St Andrew's Junior School

- St Margaret's Primary School

- St Stephen's School

- Yio Chu Kang Primary School

- Yu Neng Primary School

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/seven-primary-schools-on-home-based-learning-for-two-weeks-as-more-pupils-get-covid-19

cant be safe that other schools are not of concern. wonder if they do pool testing on the other schools.

1 minute ago, Nolicense said:

cant be safe that other schools are not of concern. wonder if they do pool testing on the other schools.

Got a feeling that schools gonna close early for the June holidays. Since it was not announced the last few days. Then likely maybe this weekend to bring it forward one week. 

4 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

My meaning of caught is a fine or some form of punishment. So either she is rich to continue paying the fine or punishment needs to be stiffer. 

Ya lor. Maybe previously she had gotten 300 dollars fine and to her it's nothing. But then now it's different, she will be charged to court and might end up stay in jail. So gg for her..

11 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

Just to qualify - I am not implying those who died are because they did not wear masks.

I am highlighting that the elderly are the ones that are most vulnerable yet they are the ones who are most prone to flouting mask regulations (not wearing or wearing it improperly).

And for those, I’ve no pity for them

58 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

I was in navy too, but I don't know her. I joined in year 2007 and left in year 2013. Probably my older officer might know her. 

That being said,  from these videos that went viral. Can clearly see that she's the type that if something that she don't like or don't agree with, even if it is set as a law to obay, she will not do it. Worst come to worst, just do it for show, after that when no one is checking, she will just back to her ownself. For this case is mask wearing. 

Her character had nothing to do with her capabilities. That video is just too short and only show her not wearing mask, it does not show anything about her capabilities in doing work. So there's always 2 side of the coin.

So yeah bash her for not obeying the law, lack of discipline and she will face the music soon. But then if people because of that incident bash her for why she was in the officer in the 1st place. Then I feel that's quite unfair to her. Then also saf is all about discipline, and yes it's of a past. But there will surely have questions in many people mind, how the hell saf select her to be a leader, somemore she was once a commanding officer in a ship. These are the things that saf or perhaps just navy itself need to look into and see what are the gaps and is there any improvement since then and if nothing much had changed, then it's time to review and make it more comprehensive and select the right person to be in leadership position.

Ah Heng ah.. she deserved to be bashed all round..

As a former so called oppicer, is this the proper way to behave? 

Mind you, there are more previous incidents involving this Bui Soh hor..

It’s really the self entitlement mentality that we are pissed off..
You saw the way she spoke to the poor lady..

Really sibei umbrage watching the whole vids ..

So Ah Heng , I dun understand your logic and that 3 in ICU guy..

Really got these kind of people when things are it is but still want to force the issue 😱

19 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

I know one of the 31 ppl who died. He was going thru cancer treatment. Both he and his wife caught it in the early days. Wife recovered but he hang on for a month in ICU before he died. Pls dont anyhow say

3 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Ah Heng ah.. she deserved to be bashed all round..

As a former so called oppicer, is this the proper way to behave? 

Mind you, there are more previous incidents involving this Bui Soh hor..

It’s really the self entitlement mentality that we are pissed off..
You saw the way she spoke to the poor lady..

Really sibei umbrage watching the whole vids ..

So Ah Heng , I dun understand your logic and that 3 in ICU guy..

Really got these kind of people when things are it is but still want to force the issue 😱

Don't know whether the judge will see that she's an ex officer. So commit offence the sentence will be heavier. 

We always hear the word, if officer commit an offence, will charge the officer double. 

Hmm..

4 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

Just to qualify - I am not implying those who died are because they did not wear masks.

I am highlighting that the elderly are the ones that are most vulnerable yet they are the ones who are most prone to flouting mask regulations (not wearing or wearing it improperly).

And for those, I’ve no pity for them

Very good that you clarify, else many ppl will clearly take UMBRAGE at your earlier statement and implied assocation. Myself included, cos its implying those that lost the fight against COVID deserved it. A bit of logic flaw in association in that case.

1 minute ago, yishunite said:

I know one of the 31 ppl who died. He was going thru cancer treatment. Both he and his wife caught it in the early days. Wife recovered but he hang on for a month in ICU before he died. Pls dont anyhow say

Hence my follow up post - that in retrospect I had initially implied that those 31 died because they weren’t masked, which wasn’t my intention.

https://www.mycarforum.com/?app=core&module=system&controller=content&do=find&content_class=forums_Topic&content_id=2719656&content_commentid=7097795

8 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

Hence my follow up post - that in retrospect I had initially implied that those 31 died because they weren’t masked, which wasn’t my intention.

https://www.mycarforum.com/?app=core&module=system&controller=content&do=find&content_class=forums_Topic&content_id=2719656&content_commentid=7097795

Still not the point. Mask doesn't protect wearer so much as protect others from the wearer in case they are infected. And those who arent masking up are probably irresponsible self entitled a**hole who dont take proper precaution on lots of things. So whack them with fine and jail (and deportation if applicable) imo

1 hour ago, Yewheng said:

I was in navy too, but I don't know her. I joined in year 2007 and left in year 2013. Probably my older officer might know her. 

That being said,  from these videos that went viral. Can clearly see that she's the type that if something that she don't like or don't agree with, even if it is set as a law to obay, she will not do it. Worst come to worst, just do it for show, after that when no one is checking, she will just back to her ownself. For this case is mask wearing. 

Her character had nothing to do with her capabilities. That video is just too short and only show her not wearing mask, it does not show anything about her capabilities in doing work. So there's always 2 side of the coin.

So yeah bash her for not obeying the law, lack of discipline and she will face the music soon. But then if people because of that incident bash her for why she was in the officer in the 1st place. Then I feel that's quite unfair to her. Then also saf is all about discipline, and yes it's of a past. But there will surely have questions in many people mind, how the hell saf select her to be a leader, somemore she was once a commanding officer in a ship. These are the things that saf or perhaps just navy itself need to look into and see what are the gaps and is there any improvement since then and if nothing much had changed, then it's time to review and make it more comprehensive and select the right person to be in leadership position.

you have a point. people should be selected based on "merit". or in case where we have no wars, potential. just recently in the us, many retired generals and admirals signed a petition against biden. the pentagon consider it as inappropriate of cos. suffice to say these generals didnt get to where they are without some fighting. but they are war mongers.

people in authority get used to it. being humble does not come naturally. what comes are common sense to some may not be so to people who always question every action. (i think just wear a mask is not something that will kill you.. so i do think she made a mistake to blow the matter up)

however, i do have a bone to pick with your association of character has nothing to do with capabilities. this i will attribute as a failure in the system and human nature. when you have so many scholar regulars all fighting to reach the top, and many regulars need to make a certain rank before a certain age. all of them are competing with each other and all of them are just as capable. how do you pick the one to promote?

you dont promote the one that makes the least mistakes and always follows the law. if you want a leader, you pick the one that shows a bit of metal teeth. willing to take a calculated risk that you can rationalise properly to your superiors. if you were rank and file, you dont stand out and higher ups in saf have a problem with rank and file. dont you agree?

1 hour ago, Yewheng said:

Ya true. 

Maybe that's why saf have tough training, example OCS, specialist course and etc. These tough training are to pick up those who have strong good character and those who are not so. So rightfully she could had been pickup during the OCS training that she's not suitable to be officer due to her character. That being said it's been many years in fact more then 10 yrs since. So a lot might had changed. The only thing that perhaps I see it's a logical thing for saf to do is that to have a review in terms on OCS training, specialist training to see is there any gap that can be closed and or improved to be able to pickup people character more accurately? If saf had not done a review for quite sometime.

actually due to manpower shortage all along, the only concern for saf is if the person is pes A/B, has "sufficient" intergrity, and is at least Poly or A level.

nothing else matters. oh.. unless its the white horse category