travel photos to mark 2021

Wind30

52 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

IMG_2046.JPG

Very nice indeed! Reminds me of the Weeping Wall in the Rockies... hee hee... taken from the car... that's the advantage of a DSLR... super fast focus and framing...

DSC02794.thumb.JPG.d6a5a19a8a80fe8a724ac455a0e23793.JPG

Edited by teomingern

4 minutes ago, teomingern said:

Wow! Which hotel did you stay at? I stayed at Hotel Residence Brunner... facing Jungfrau... yours look like an expensive hotel... ha ha...

Hotel Baren . I don’t think it’s expensive. 

16 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Hotel Baren . I don’t think it’s expensive. 

Wah!!! Your hotel room is like $250+ one night, mine was $255 for 2 nights! Cannot say not expensive bro... but of course I had to slog to bring my luggage uphill... your hotel is much nearer to the train station... I remembered searching high and low for a more affordable place to stay in in Wengen... and I searched and searched... until I got this place... I probably didn't consider this hotel cos of cost lar... 

Edited by teomingern

Yes, a nearby trip is all we asked....

Taken at Batu Ferringhi and had to wait patiently for this moment - we love Penang for the food and the proximity makes it super easy for short getaways.

DE333130-1030-45E9-AD20-15BF0F620E5A_1_105_c.jpeg

12 hours ago, teomingern said:

Wah!!! Your hotel room is like $250+ one night, mine was $255 for 2 nights! Cannot say not expensive bro... but of course I had to slog to bring my luggage uphill... your hotel is much nearer to the train station... I remembered searching high and low for a more affordable place to stay in in Wengen... and I searched and searched... until I got this place... I probably didn't consider this hotel cos of cost lar... 

I dug out my reservation, it was 400chf per night for a family room, 2 bedrooms, 2 adults 2 children and we booked in July 6 months in advance. 
includes breakfast and dinner for 4 pax. The room I remember is Spartan and modestly furnished only. Ya wengen is expensive and we were looking for family rooms for 4 and it was much harder. This was definately the cheaper one we found.

bad thing about Swiss is hotel is so ex. My hotel in zermatt is 475 Chf per night with just breakfast alone… but looks better, more high end. Hotel bellerive. Very different. 

Edited by Wind30

14 hours ago, teomingern said:

Very nice indeed! Reminds me of the Weeping Wall in the Rockies... hee hee... taken from the car... that's the advantage of a DSLR... super fast focus and framing...

You know in Indonesia there is a beautiful waterfall cascading down, i can't remember the name of the waterfall, it was beautiful, i remember the trip as we went to hike around mount bromo...another fantastic journey there...

16 hours ago, teomingern said:

nice, I also takes photos from the car when I first started travelling. Shoot everywhere. Later stop at unplanned interesting places and then shoot.

nowadays, kids are so lazy we just drive from point A->B....

4 hours ago, Wind30 said:

I dug out my reservation, it was 400chf per night for a family room, 2 bedrooms, 2 adults 2 children and we booked in July 6 months in advance. 
includes breakfast and dinner for 4 pax. The room I remember is Spartan and modestly furnished only. Ya wengen is expensive and we were looking for family rooms for 4 and it was much harder. This was definately the cheaper one we found.

bad thing about Swiss is hotel is so ex. My hotel in zermatt is 475 Chf per night with just breakfast alone… but looks better, more high end. Hotel bellerive. Very different. 

Phew... that's really expensive leh... I also dug out my reservation... (I usually use Booking.com)... and it's CHF252 for 2 nights for a twin room... CHF400 is really wow! Sobs... next time bring my two kids must every day eat bread and vegetables only from the Coop supermarket at Wengen... I remember enquiring to eat roast chicken at a nearby hotel restaurant... CHF42 for one chicken if dine in, but only CHF21 if takeaway... so we 'ta bao' lor... and bought cucumubers and tomatoes from the Coop supermarket for vegetables.... then sat at our balcony and ate with a view of Jungfrau... like that also quite shiok! 

20180620_183705.thumb.jpg.428b874634ff2090a1dd24997cf01e36.jpg

The view from our balcony... hahaha... somemore got two cows with cowbells for music...

24 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

nice, I also takes photos from the car when I first started travelling. Shoot everywhere. Later stop at unplanned interesting places and then shoot.

nowadays, kids are so lazy we just drive from point A->B....

Hahaha... not lazy... they just feel uncool lar... I can only shoot from the car cos my dad is driving... by myself, it's impossible to do so lar... haha... miss that kind of shooting...

15 hours ago, Wolfverine said:

Yes, a nearby trip is all we asked....

Taken at Batu Ferringhi and had to wait patiently for this moment - we love Penang for the food and the proximity makes it super easy for short getaways.

DE333130-1030-45E9-AD20-15BF0F620E5A_1_105_c.jpeg

Perfect bro... I also miss Batu Ferringhi... last stayed there in Dec 2018... the Holiday Inn Hotel is now closed down... sads... the neighbouring Park Royal is quite ex in comparison... but the beach here is the best of the whole Batu Ferringhi...

20181128_182820.thumb.jpg.5a42d70a81f01a60ca4b690663b38946.jpg

20181128_185155.thumb.jpg.623d5e08c0970025f8a3d28d492fb7d7.jpg

Both shots from just in front of the former Holiday Inn Batu Ferringhi... having the beach just in front is so shiok! Missing it already... love the long drive up... usually break at Ipoh to eat the yummy food there...

Last trip before the pandemic struck... was undecided cos first trip with a kid.... but we pressed on and we're so glad that we did it... 20191126_113757.thumb.jpg.a0b579b7bfb21be2f8769a9e4d3c9084.jpg

Namburg, Perth, Western Australia, Pinnacles National Park. Finally could visit this... previous trip with parents, they didn't want to drive so far...

20191128_135301.thumb.jpg.6b987058283f5b6268a983591ddfee37.jpg

Busselton Jetty... sigh... we missed the train to the end of the jetty cos could not make up our minds... then got to wait for one hour for the next train... nothing else to do there so we skipped lar... sad...

20191129_164459.thumb.jpg.0e0854d11fb730ee7b59580725a5a529.jpg

Lighthouse at Cape Naturaliste... very beautiful place... especially in the later afternoon light...

20191130_113233.thumb.jpg.d2e60aa89575589882393cdcff4f55ea.jpg

Lake Cave... my second time... definitely worth 1000 step climb down to the cave... then remember must climb 1000 steps up again...

20191205_115744.thumb.jpg.bb91e287894f09f5fe1944ca63fdac5b.jpg

A hidden gem - Two People Bay... a drive out from Albany... secluded paradise... 

20191205_144113.thumb.jpg.9154c03a752a64b03127198ab5a1e056.jpg

Apex Lookout on Mount Clarence in Albany... worth the winding drive up just for the views... absolutely fabulous... I think Perth is the most scenic of the Australian cities...

2 hours ago, teomingern said:

Last trip before the pandemic struck... was undecided cos first trip with a kid.... but we pressed on and we're so glad that we did it... 20191126_113757.thumb.jpg.a0b579b7bfb21be2f8769a9e4d3c9084.jpg

Namburg, Perth, Western Australia, Pinnacles National Park. Finally could visit this... previous trip with parents, they didn't want to drive so far...

20191128_135301.thumb.jpg.6b987058283f5b6268a983591ddfee37.jpg

Busselton Jetty... sigh... we missed the train to the end of the jetty cos could not make up our minds... then got to wait for one hour for the next train... nothing else to do there so we skipped lar... sad...

20191129_164459.thumb.jpg.0e0854d11fb730ee7b59580725a5a529.jpg

Lighthouse at Cape Naturaliste... very beautiful place... especially in the later afternoon light...

20191130_113233.thumb.jpg.d2e60aa89575589882393cdcff4f55ea.jpg

Lake Cave... my second time... definitely worth 1000 step climb down to the cave... then remember must climb 1000 steps up again...

20191205_115744.thumb.jpg.bb91e287894f09f5fe1944ca63fdac5b.jpg

A hidden gem - Two People Bay... a drive out from Albany... secluded paradise... 

20191205_144113.thumb.jpg.9154c03a752a64b03127198ab5a1e056.jpg

Apex Lookout on Mount Clarence in Albany... worth the winding drive up just for the views... absolutely fabulous... I think Perth is the most scenic of the Australian cities...

I don’t like Perth that much. I thought the great ocean road has more dramatic coast lines. Or Great Barrier Reef, Hamilton islands if you like beaches wildlife. Melbourne has the penguins, Sydney has the Harbour. Been to Perth once only though, mainly the caves and food I remember.

covid004.jpg

covid051.jpg

covid054.jpg

covid090.jpg

Edited by Wind30

2 hours ago, Wind30 said:

I don’t like Perth that much. I thought the great ocean road has more dramatic coast lines. Or Great Barrier Reef, Hamilton islands if you like beaches wildlife. Melbourne has the penguins, Sydney has the Harbour. Been to Perth once only though, mainly the caves and food I remember.

covid004.jpg

covid051.jpg

covid054.jpg

covid090.jpg

Hahaha... I'm the opposite leh... I visited Melbourne twice... did the Great Ocean Road but didn't find it all that exciting... in part perhaps didn't go right down to the beaches... was late to the 12 Apostles so didn't have time to explore... also did Perth twice and found it rather pretty especially in the south... I found Sydney too humid in Dec while Adelaide was rather sleepy and restful but not much to do... my next stop will likely be Brisbane as that's one of the main cities in Oz that I have not visited before... all my visits are in Dec... summer... the coldest was my first trip to Melbourne... the hottest was the same trip on the return leg to Sydney (in-between did NZ)...

2007 Adelaide.. before any of my kids came out. So take photos of other kids…

F36C279F-7055-4BC6-9158-1AAC8CD3B81D.jpeg

6 hours ago, Wind30 said:

2007 Adelaide.. before any of my kids came out. So take photos of other kids…

F36C279F-7055-4BC6-9158-1AAC8CD3B81D.jpeg

So cute!!!! You seem to travel during winter a lot?

Edited by teomingern

I saw a jetliner in the sky just now… I don’t know why, but I started waving at it… 😢