1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

20210713_114716_compress41.jpg

I'm a sucker for hae bee and dried chili .. So this dish looks d*mn shiok! 👍

21 minutes ago, Loki said:

Bento for lunch again.  This one with unagi, tamago and some veggies

20210713_123532.jpg

for the unagi, where you buy the raw eel? or is buy already cooked?

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

You 大胃王 ah? There are 6 dishes plus rice le, such portion i find more than enough for me liao. 😂 I never have 6 dishes on a cai png. Most is 4. Lol.

but each dish portion is just a bit so for me, it seems small. But maybe I eat quite a lot. 😅

29 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

for the unagi, where you buy the raw eel? or is buy already cooked?

Bought cooked frozen unagi.   Don't think my helper can prep live/raw eel

Part 2 of one week cook one time. 

First time using my cast iron skillet bought one year ago. Zzz my food thermometer ran out of battery just before I started cooking. Ended up medium-well in the end. 

20210713_080442_compress1.jpg

20210713_113534_compress57.jpg

20210713_142039_compress52.jpg

20210713_142023_compress4.jpg

20210713_141351_compress48.jpg

20210713_141347_compress37.jpg

• Praise 20

56 minutes ago, Ckll said:

I'm a sucker for hae bee and dried chili .. So this dish looks d*mn shiok! 👍

Yes pretty awesome. Crunchy enough for blanched long beans. I find the zi char version bit too "heaty" with both deep fried beans plus the chilli etc.

Left half of it for leftovers this week. 开胃菜。

8 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

First time using my cast iron skillet bought one year ago. Zzz my food thermometer ran out of battery just before I started cooking. Ended up medium-well in the end. 

20210713_113534_compress57.jpg

20210713_142039_compress52.jpg

20210713_142023_compress4.jpg

20210713_141351_compress48.jpg

20210713_141347_compress37.jpg

alamak at least watch a few youtube vids before you cook your steak..

you want medium rare right?

$30.9/kg for grass fed rib eye.. good price.. is chilled? i see you put in water so maybe frozen?

QB food i buy 1 time.. go very far.. shag

Edited by Nolicense

8 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

$30.90/kg for Aus ribeye is very cheap. Frozen or chilled ? Granted it's grass fed, which has more flavor. Grain-fed quite tasteless IMHO.

Generally, 1" thick max 2 mins each side will get medium rare.

1min 45sec each side to err on the side of caution.

But I think your cut is about half-inch thick. So, maybe 1 min each side will probably do.

6 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

alamak at least watch a few youtube vids before you cook your steak..

you want medium rare right?

$30.9/kg for grass fed rib eye.. good price.. is chilled? i see you put in water so maybe frozen?

QB food i buy 1 time.. go very far.. shag

Nothing wrong but since no thermometer usually prefer to overcook it a bit. Don't want end up medium rare wife don't want to eat. Also let my kids eat a few bites. 

Qbfood Home delivery. But takes about two weeks for a slot. Bought 6 of these, one chuck tender and one rump. 

15 minutes ago, Ckll said:

$30.90/kg for Aus ribeye is very cheap. Frozen or chilled ? Granted it's grass fed, which has more flavor. Grain-fed quite tasteless IMHO.

But I think your cut is about half-inch thick. So, maybe 1 min each side will probably do.

Chilled. But I froze it for storage. 

Yes I'm a grassfed beef kinda guy. Though some grain fed is nice, but usually its the premium cuts. Porterhouse or florentine. 

I like grain fed sirloin and grassfed ribeye. The grass fed sirloin has too little fat and usually is too dry. Whereas the grain fed ribeye tends to have lot of fat but not enough flavour. 

My favorite steakhouse is the ranch where u can get the grassfed ribeye. Its their cheapest steak but my favorite. 

24 minutes ago, Ckll said:

a man after my own. you like your meat..lol

2 hours ago, Nolicense said:

a man after my own. you like your meat..lol

I like veggies too. That's why I cook my own. Outside the veggie jin pai jiak. 

First time try this...i must say very nice...both the warm and cold tea were unforgettable...so were the truffle xiao long bao and char siew in prawn base broth 😋

IMG_20210713_145253.jpg

IMG_20210713_145412.jpg

• Praise 19