Where can food delivery riders/drivers parked when collecting food

RachelKim

Hi everyone,

Can i check if there are any tips when parking to collecting food for delivery? Consider to drive for delivery part-time amidst the current lockdown situation, but some places like orchard or city area parking is hassle when collecting the food. Some places after 5pm, which is usually dinner time charges $5 per entry for cars, which basically almost negates the pay earn from the delivery. Also can drivers parked at loading area to collect food? Thanks! 

Does it even make financial sense to drive a car to deliver? Fuel, engine wear, parking, time spent walking to and from the carpark...... 

Maybe should consider taking out that old bicycle!

• Dislike 1

25 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Does it even make financial sense to drive a car to deliver? Fuel, engine wear, parking, time spent walking to and from the carpark...... 

i oso say

• Dislike 1

26 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Maybe should consider taking out that old bicycle!

As car can go further, the delivery fee can be double figures per delivery 

Edited by inlinesix
  • Dislike 1

12 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

As car can go further, the delivery fee can be double figures per delivery 

Great. Can be the onli grabfood delivery person to deliver Changi Village nasi lemak to NTU. Can earn $6 sia....

17 minutes ago, Soya said:

Great. Can be the onli grabfood delivery person to deliver Changi Village nasi lemak to NTU. Can earn $6 sia....

From Kallang Wave to Upper Boon Keng already $5.

Unker, you go and try la

4 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Unker, you go and try la

I cheapo onli order those free delivery type 

i tried grabfood before. yes, you need to park properly in the car park like all cars normally. you need to pay the parking fee which eats up your earnings.

in a big shopping centre, when you do not know exactly, where that restaurant, you also spend time walking, running to find the restaurant, after that you wait, your earnings go down by the minute.

once i pick up at a duck's restaurant in Scotts Sq, there's no place to stop illegally for a short while, go down basement, $3 gone.

you don't to risk parking illegally, kena fined is $30 at least.

so how to do grabfood on a car ? i stop doing long time ago.

unless you ride a motorbike or bicycle, for a car the parking is the killer.

that's why I wonder how my colleague using e class to do food delivery

always call him siao

but he said better than ferrying humans 😜😜😜

• Shocked 2

25 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

i tried grabfood before. yes, you need to park properly in the car park like all cars normally. you need to pay the parking fee which eats up your earnings.

in a big shopping centre, when you do not know exactly, where that restaurant, you also spend time walking, running to find the restaurant, after that you wait, your earnings go down by the minute.

once i pick up at a duck's restaurant in Scotts Sq, there's no place to stop illegally for a short while, go down basement, $3 gone.

you don't to risk parking illegally, kena fined is $30 at least.

so how to do grabfood on a car ? i stop doing long time ago.

unless you ride a motorbike or bicycle, for a car the parking is the killer.

Last year during circuit breaker I also do food delivery. The good thing is that all HDB carpark and many shopping malls extend the grace period to 20 mins. That help a lot, as most of the time will exceed 10 minutes but within 20 minutes. Plus during circuit breaker at the beginning period, shopping malls carpark are empty. So it's very easy to find parking lot near the entry, so it is actually quite fast. This time round heighten alert, shopping malls carpark still quite a lot of cars and also only 10 minutes grace period. So a little bit difficult I feel.

2 hours ago, RachelKim said:

Hi everyone,

Can i check if there are any tips when parking to collecting food for delivery? Consider to drive for delivery part-time amidst the current lockdown situation, but some places like orchard or city area parking is hassle when collecting the food. Some places after 5pm, which is usually dinner time charges $5 per entry for cars, which basically almost negates the pay earn from the delivery. Also can drivers parked at loading area to collect food? Thanks! 

u can check out doin courier/parcel deliveries instead

maybe makes more financial sense dan doin food deliveries..........

have to do the numbers, net receipts after petrol and parking expenses.

and I think one loading bay fine can easily wipe out a few days work.

my gut feel is that its probably not worth the effort.

grab hitch may be more viable.

33 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Last year during circuit breaker I also do food delivery. The good thing is that all HDB carpark and many shopping malls extend the grace period to 20 mins. That help a lot, as most of the time will exceed 10 minutes but within 20 minutes. Plus during circuit breaker at the beginning period, shopping malls carpark are empty. So it's very easy to find parking lot near the entry, so it is actually quite fast. This time round heighten alert, shopping malls carpark still quite a lot of cars and also only 10 minutes grace period. So a little bit difficult I feel.

yes, I'd rather do grabmart, grabexpress, where parking is much easier. Usually in hdb area. Most of the time it's take and go, don't even pay parking, within grace period.

but I won't do grabfood, bcuz most of the time, I get to collect in shopping centres where parking is expensive. Then you wait and join the queue. Last time, I'll wait 1 hr before going to collect. Don't care, what for go early to pay parking ?

48 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

Last time, I'll wait 1 hr before going to collect. Don't care, what for go early to pay parking ?

You confirmed my view not to order food delivery as they will turn out lukewarm and soggy! 

Edited by Volvobrick

anyhow stop and park like all phv and food/parcel delivery guys lor...

met one phv this afternoon at my block and was awed by the driver parking skills.  i never knew a vezel can block 2 empty loading bays and the entire rubbish chute area while waiting for her pickup and prevent any other drivers from stopping their cars there temporarily to load and unload.

all in the name of earning a living

💪👏👏

Edited by Enye

12 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

You confirmed my view not to order food delivery as they will turn out lukewarm and soggy! 

As food deliverer, we received job at X hr. On a car, you go there. find a parking lot, pay parking, then you go look for the restaurant. Try that in NEX, you walk around and around in circles, up and down floors, bcuz you're not familiar. During CB, it was much worse, many doors are locked, you just keep walking around searching. trying to find entry and can't find the restaurant. Waterway Point is another major headache, walk and walk, bcuz doors are locked here and there.

Now if you're lucky to get into the right lift or right floor, you go to the restaurant, and you find long queues of grabfood delivery boys waiting.

All waiting. There's no queue number, just haphazard calling out of food order number.

Some set out tables with labels for grabfood and others. You just wait and wait for them to lay the food, you have no idea how long you have to wait.

A few times, I would just cancel, bcuz it's wasting my time, and I'm paying my parking fee. When I cancel, it goes to the next guy, and the whole thing repeats.

So I've learned to cancel fast food collection in shopping malls, even before I go, bcuz I don't want to waste my time. And those time that I decide to go, I'll take at least half hour or 1 hr before I set off.

So yeah, don't order fast food located in shopping malls. If you order from local hdb coffee shop, it's much less trouble.

26 minutes ago, Enye said:

anyhow stop and park like all phv and food/parcel delivery guys lor...

met one phv this afternoon at my block and was awed by the driver parking skills.  i never knew a vezel can block 2 empty loading bays and the entire rubbish chute area while waiting for her pickup and prevent any other drivers from stopping their cars there temporarily to load and unload.

all in the name of earning a living

💪👏👏

yeah, phv anyhow parked, caused problem for others.

in northpoint, they like to take risk parked around the small road northpoint drive. then enforcement guy will come, kena booked, while they are waiting to collect food. that guy keep coming around every hour, sure can catch a few each time.

earn $9, kena fined $30. [laugh]

3 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Unker, you go and try la

Kallang wave to upper boon keng quite near also $5? Then $6 from CV to NTU bo hwa liao?