Japan Olympics 2020(1) will continue as planned in midst of global pandemic

Blueray

8 minutes ago, RadX said:

i sense imposter account cos such a credible and sensible post NEVER came from you

i'm gonna ban you, whoever you are...you kidnapped the original  @ash2017

you don't subscribe to ST... not true and good friend

1 minute ago, Ash2017 said:

you don't subscribe to ST... not true and good friend

have sufficient supply of toilet paper for now

Just now, RadX said:

have sufficient supply of toilet paper for now

I take umbrage, going to write to head of Pearly Gates to delay opening hours.

Even at 1.84m built.

He looked small against other bigger built and taller swimmers. 

Physique really plays an important part of swimming. 

Need a lot more to make up the physique difference. 

36 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

I think he boh chance for Asian games next year. 

He is into 26 already,  and overdue for his NS obligation ( before 26) . The original plan was for him to enlist last year after the games. But now by the time he finish BMT will be year end or early next year liao.  

Asian games together with Commonwealth games and SEA games are all pack into a 6 months window next year,  almost no time for him to prepare.  

Anyway,  with his current conditions,  even SEA games at best come back 3rd place,  how to even think of Asian games... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

actually 26 is still at a peak period for any   athlete.

just that maybe he lost his focus and passion  already. 

might as well come back and finish his ns

8 hours ago, Tianmo said:

There he was training full time,  studying part time.  Here he is working full time,  training part time..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think training partners play a big part also, which maybe lacking here....  

All the sport lack training partners here..

33 minutes ago, RadX said:

i sense imposter account cos such a credible and sensible post NEVER came from you

i'm gonna ban you, whoever you are...you kidnapped the original  @ash2017

Yah man,  I had to praise that post for the post itself and not the writer... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i think JS feels more terrible and sad than all of us. it doesn't even matter if he was a gold medalist so long he tried his best. It irks me when i saw all the negative comments about him on social media. 

After ytd's event, i think there will be no more major event for team SG right? except for the 50m FS for QTW. 

9 hours ago, Atonchia said:

Totally agree. 

The heat Caeleb swam, almost everyone swam close to JS Olympic record. 

前浪早就死在沙滩上。

58 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

NS for 2 years then no more chance Asian or Paris Olympic in 2024.

Not putting JS down.. But its really tough to do better in physically in late 20s compare to early 20s....for anyone for that matter. 

The only thing he can train and improve during NS likely is 2.4km run. 

Depends on where he is posted to bah.

If he become lifeguard then as good as giving time to train everyday, but if he kena send to NDU then is hong kan liao....[:p]

Yes, early 20s would have a better physical advantage, but if the program suits, and technique improves, late 20s still are very competitive.  

The problem I see in many sports here is actually the programs that are written, creating a lot of peak and crash instead of consistency. So if JS gets a program that suits him now, he could still do well. Not saying his current program is no good, but what suits him 5 years ago may not suit him now. 

Anyway, swimmers are not known to be good runners, his 2.4km I think can pass can liao lah....[laugh][laugh][laugh]

1 hour ago, Atonchia said:

Even at 1.84m built.

He looked small against other bigger built and taller swimmers. 

Physique really plays an important part of swimming. 

Need a lot more to make up the physique difference. 

Not only in swimming, in fact size and height matter in most sports.

一寸长一寸强, this one hard to disagree....[:p][laugh][laugh]

57 minutes ago, Beregond said:

actually 26 is still at a peak period for any   athlete.

just that maybe he lost his focus and passion  already. 

might as well come back and finish his ns

Yah, I think he lost his focus and the win. 

He likely only continue competing because of his endorsement obligations. Mayb he burned out already....[laugh][laugh][laugh]

57 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Finish NS, open JSSS.

Joseph Schooling Swimming School.

He already started "Swim schooling" swimming club in 2016 after he settled down back in SG...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

16 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Depends on where he is posted to bah.

If he become lifeguard then as good as giving time to train everyday, but if he kena send to NDU then is hong kan liao....[:p]

Yes, early 20s would have a better physical advantage, but if the program suits, and technique improves, late 20s still are very competitive.  

The problem I see in many sports here is actually the programs that are written, creating a lot of peak and crash instead of consistency. So if JS gets a program that suits him now, he could still do well. Not saying his current program is no good, but what suits him 5 years ago may not suit him now. 

Anyway, swimmers are not known to be good runners, his 2.4km I think can pass can liao lah....[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Their ankle flexibility makes them easy to injure themselves actually. Most pro swimmers don't run much cos it's quite likely they may injure themselves or tighten up their ankles making them not able to swim at the pro level.

6 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

He already started "Swim schooling" swimming club in 2016 after he settled down back in SG...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Oh is it? Hahaha. Didn’t know. Many students?