mersaylee Hypersonic June 16, 2021 Share June 16, 2021 Actually, I wonder why not cook the glutinous rice with the pandan leaves like nasi lemak then wrap with the ingredients them press it into a pyramid shape mould instead of fill, wrap, steam them unwrap again? I like to eat but dislike the oily yet sticky unwrap part of the process 😁 ↡ Advertisement 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 16, 2021 Author Share June 16, 2021 8 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Actually, I wonder why not cook the glutinous rice with the pandan leaves like nasi lemak then wrap with the ingredients them press it into a pyramid shape mould instead of fill, wrap, steam them unwrap again? I like to eat but dislike the oily yet sticky unwrap part of the process 😁 Tradition ba. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 16, 2021 Share June 16, 2021 30 minutes ago, Discoburg said: Tradition ba. I'm all for tradition...and innovation... for some dino age ones like...it's evolution 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckll Supercharged June 16, 2021 Share June 16, 2021 2 hours ago, Discoburg said: OMG the hae bee hiam one is nice. Oh .. now I have the craving for hae bee hiam one! 😋 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic June 16, 2021 Share June 16, 2021 Just finished another 2 zhangs for lunch and still got 2 left in the fridge.... 😅 Really phobia! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 16, 2021 Author Share June 16, 2021 27 minutes ago, Ckll said: Oh .. now I have the craving for hae bee hiam one! 😋 Hae bee hiam one is good. I also craved for another. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckll Supercharged June 16, 2021 Share June 16, 2021 1 minute ago, Discoburg said: Hae bee hiam one is good. I also craved for another. I saw your plastic bag and googled where's the nearest Eastern Rice Dumpling near my place. Found one and making plans to get it this weekend! I haven't eaten hae bee hiam one in a very very long time liao .. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 16, 2021 Share June 16, 2021 (edited) wah...still talking about ba zhangs ah? passe liao please start to look out for mooncakes already don't say i never give early notice ah 🤣 Edited June 16, 2021 by Enye 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 17, 2021 Author Share June 17, 2021 17 hours ago, Enye said: wah...still talking about ba zhangs ah? passe liao please start to look out for mooncakes already don't say i never give early notice ah 🤣 If that’s the case maybe @BabyBlade can lock this thread to prevent others from posting on passé topic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 21 hours ago, mersaylee said: Actually, I wonder why not cook the glutinous rice with the pandan leaves like nasi lemak then wrap with the ingredients them press it into a pyramid shape mould instead of fill, wrap, steam them unwrap again? I like to eat but dislike the oily yet sticky unwrap part of the process 😁 after you cook the glutenous rice they all stick together.. then if you want to wrap it in the bamboo leaf you need to separate out the rice which will be messy leh. before it is cooked at least it is still in the unsticky form. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 20 minutes ago, Discoburg said: If that’s the case maybe @BabyBlade can lock this thread to prevent others from posting on passé topic? no lah, bak zzhang day is over doesn't means cannot eat bak zhang mah. hahaha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 The last ones before say bye bye to QuYuan for 2021. 2 1 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 18 hours ago, Volvobrick said: Just finished another 2 zhangs for lunch and still got 2 left in the fridge.... 😅 Really phobia! Still no eat any bak zhang until now. No craving for bak zhang. Lol. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 28 minutes ago, Nolicense said: after you cook the glutenous rice they all stick together.. then if you want to wrap it in the bamboo leaf you need to separate out the rice which will be messy leh. before it is cooked at least it is still in the unsticky form. The idea is to totally omit the wrap and unwrap part with the pandan leaves 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckll Supercharged June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 3 hours ago, 13177 said: Still no eat any bak zhang until now. No craving for bak zhang. Lol. Think you subconsciously scared of indigestion .. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckll Supercharged June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 3 hours ago, mersaylee said: The idea is to totally omit the wrap and unwrap part with the pandan leaves 😁 Can wear food gloves to unwrap .. hands won't be oily and the sticky rice won't stick to your hands. But environmentally-unfriendly lah .. 🤣 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 56 minutes ago, Ckll said: Think you subconsciously scared of indigestion .. True that, since i have bad digestion problem esp if i eat the wrong foods. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 17, 2021 Share June 17, 2021 On 6/16/2021 at 11:41 AM, Discoburg said: Cravings settled. OMG the hae bee hiam one is nice. Other is Nonya zhang. The leaves, looks very much like the "pandan" leaf I was talking about. The color, thickness and grain line definitely does not look like those bamboo leaves use to wrap other bak chang. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...