20 year old died after PMD catches fire in Woodlands lift

Fitvip

I think that elevator should be sealed off.

Its would be akin to travelling in an incinerator.

Or resettle the entire block.

What a glorious mess. Thank you very much.

12 hours ago, Heartlander said:

MRT carriage is quite big space lah, unless it happen during peak hour commute where everyone is squeezing against each other pre-covid. That would be worrying.

Better don’t take the risk 

12 hours ago, mikk123 said:

oh...just hope those PMD owner will learn from it...but from past experience, they will never learn. it will happen again. 

PMD owners will say this will not happened to me. I not so sway one lah...

11 hours ago, Tohto said:

A lot not meeting the spec. 

Earlier just saw another electric bike ride by Grab delivery guy speeding on the most right lane. He ride like a motorcycle.

Have all the rule, banned without any enforcement is useless.

Any elite affected from this? :XD:

life move on 

it's final destination.

you go into a sealed container, like a lift, and the battery decide to explode there, nowhere to run.

pity the poor young man.

but we should perhaps avoid getting into a lift when a PMD is there. if it comes in after you, get out !

The most stupid thing is the way there do enforcement.  3 to 4 LTA officer at mulitple street, road junction wearing uniform. 

The PMD riders from far far already can see and can make a U turn. Who would so stupid to ride into a entrapment.

Can't they use plain cloth.

Very sad and tragic case. A young man passed away so suddenly after a hard day of work in his delivery job. RIP.😭

• Sad 2

8 minutes ago, Tohto said:

The most stupid thing is the way there do enforcement.  3 to 4 LTA officer at mulitple street, road junction wearing uniform. 

The PMD riders from far far already can see and can make a U turn. Who would so stupid to ride into a entrapment.

No. That would open another can of worms. Anyone can impersonate.  Identification cards are easy to print. 

It is like speed camera warning or the harsh penalty for drug trafficking, you can't stop it 100%. 

I thought the PMD problem is fixed, not 100% but sufficient to keep most pavement safe to use again?

16 minutes ago, Tohto said:

To me the efforts is only for deterrent only lah. Same as putting speed trap warning at accident prone spots. If can slow everyone down good already, catching people speeding is  not the priority.

12 hours ago, Datsun366 said:

PMDs /ebicycles should be banned in HDB altogether, no elevators no storage in flats or by lift landings.

If the Government of Singapore cannot make safe these electric vehicles, they have no place in public housing. Period.

Why dont you bring in electric motorbikes?

All that mayhem and death galore.

Its on you.

It should be regulated for safety but you can't totally eliminate fire risk. 

Are PMD subjected to periodic inspection? Like our cars which can kill too if sub standard parts are used and or are not well maintained. But that will drive up cost and who is going to pay?

For their own safety, e-scooter riders should take the stairs instead. But humans are lazy.  [:p]

28 minutes ago, Didu said:

For their own safety, e-scooter riders should take the stairs instead. But humans are lazy.  [:p]

Take the stairs? Cannot la esp nowadays many hdb flats all at least 30 storey high de!? 😅

1 hour ago, Voodooman said:

It should be regulated for safety but you can't totally eliminate fire risk. 

Are PMD subjected to periodic inspection? Like our cars which can kill too if sub standard parts are used and or are not well maintained. But that will drive up cost and who is going to pay?

Exactly its all talk, regulated for safety.

Minimizing the matter. For goodness sake, somebody just got incinerated. 

All talk no show. 

Drive up cost, who is going to pay?

Some dumb guy and his family crying their eyes out. 

Wtf is everybody?

Wonder what MoD doing? Not defending the people but aiding the idiot business. Its only one business like selling chewing gum. Bfd.

Get rid of them.

2 hours ago, Datsun366 said:

I think that elevator should be sealed off.

Its would be akin to travelling in an incinerator.

Or resettle the entire block.

What a glorious mess. Thank you very much.

Think they would have to replace the entire lift after such a mess. Or they just replace the interior of the lift only?

• Sad 1

To catch fire is one thing. 

To not be able to extinguish it and let it burnt till ashes and dust, that's another level of danger. 

33 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Take the stairs? Cannot la esp nowadays many hdb flats all at least 30 storey high de!? 😅

They may end up looking like Hemsworth. May be incentive for some?  😁

thor-love-and-thunder-936x527.jpg

2 hours ago, Tohto said:

i saw a couple of times these enforcers catching people at wlds ave 12. Many like kena. BUT, more will easily kena if they go park outside any Mcd's outlet or shopping mall. I din even see it once. Are there some kind of politics going on?