Colleague with possible mental health issues

Albeniz

If you see a colleague behaving strangely (e.g. having strange conspiracy theories, thinking all other people around him are trying to harm him and having uncontrollable fear), how would you convince him to seek help and talk to a psychiatrist?

On 4/25/2021 at 9:32 PM, Albeniz said:

If you see a colleague behaving strangely (e.g. having strange conspiracy theories, thinking all other people around him are trying to harm him and having uncontrollable fear), how would you convince him to seek help and talk to a psychiatrist?

Be Sensitive to Timing and Place. Talking to someone about mental health requires emotional sensitivity as well as physical sensitivity. If you are close to him it's okay to talk but If not, then maybe you can contact a family or a friend

OCD people I know quite a few...............it is ok la, quite normal, everyone also has some sort of OCD.

Look at car forum here, sometimes car kena one scratch already come here kpkb,  that's also OCD.

Edited by Starry

5 minutes ago, Owner-driver said:

A distance relative had puppy to help her with baby-sitting. Her son seems to enjoy fun playing with the puppy.

Certain random mental disorder only got noticed when he was a teenager. At random, he would hug girls in the neighborhood, thinking he was like a puppy at play.

Mental Institute could not detect any symptom when sent for observation. Only his father knew the source of the problem. There is no cure for such condition yet.

Do not be fooled that any animal can be good baby-sitter.

were you the son ? 🤣

On 5/25/2021 at 8:19 PM, Starry said:

OCD people I know quite a few...............it is ok la, quite normal, everyone also has some sort of OCD.

Look at car forum here, sometimes car kena one scratch already come here kpkb,  that's also OCD.

I also have severe ocd...everyday must come into mcf 😁😁

How come you are so acutely aware of your colleague's possible mental issues? Is he or she unable to continue to do his or her work well?

We have one here, totally deranged guy here, aka Radx, and still is a moderator.

So don't under-estimate those so call siao lan.

Bro if you are convinced that he / she has such an issue, then medical help may be needed.

But at this stage, they may not acknowledge they have an issue.

Usually someone needs to acknowledge they have an issue

Then they feel that they need help

Then they feel that the help such as medication / therapy etc benefits them 

Then they will accept and go for the treatment.

Generally they can be classified into

The BAD, The SAD, and the MAD...

There are POC (Psychiatric Outpatient Clinics) s to visit. IMH may be too scary or a label for them.... 

These are Government subsidised clinics nested within the polyclinics. Usually in a quiet corner and they get poly MCs so their bosses won't know otherwise.

IIRC, Bedok, Tampines and Geylang poly have it - we had names for them - BePOC, TamPOC and GeyPOC :D 

Private help is always available, but it's costly.. but very private.

So you can say, go for a health checkup, top to bottom.. the POC drs are very pro and know how to ease them in, then decide if they need further help.

If your friend is getting violent or has really florid psychosis, you can call the cops and they will help send to IMH where the MO on call can commit the patient, and the psych team can assess if he / she / you are fine 🙂