The real situation happening in Malaysia's Healthcare System?

BabyBlade

18 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

I also know .. but no insurance plan .. unless Medisave is an insurance plsn.

I just finished the second visit consultation and they say I already quite lucky to have an appointment that is one month later..

after wards I gor temple give offering and go church to pray for redemption 😂 

if waiting for one month is considered lucky, we are in serious trouble .

added to that, the doctor claims that prolonged usage fir one month may lead to liver damage/failure..

nice… because of the lack of appointments slots I have to risk my liver 

you got cancer, i think your appointment will be much faster.

But you just have rotator cuff tendinitis or something similar. 

Hard truth, every patient in the clinic has something similar or worse or is waiting same time as you.

47 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

If only you go to A&E on the day you go to polyclinic, everything will be done within the hospital. Although waiting time at A&E could stretch from 4 to 6 hours, at least they will call the on-call/duty specialist on muscle to view you. Surely the doctor will call for an x-ray or scan before releasing you. Imagine you could have bypass so many steps if you go to A&E. 

Polyclinic have to call hospital to arrange for an appointment which usually take weeks or months later. Then you go to the hospital with the referral letter at the appointed date & time.

Yes, hospital had said not to visit them unless serious cases but torn muscle are serious if not treated immediately. You could be limping if not treated.

Those having fever, cough or running nose should avoid A&E :meaw:

Siao. Muscular shoulder problem no fracture, u think the on-call so free to see you? They got other stuff to do...

43 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Hmmmm........... having heart problem.  [sly]

Better don't go to KTV for excitement hor ...  :=B:  Wait your heart can't take it when the Viet bu hugging you ... :a-shy:

Have you collected your free Oximeter from Termasek to check your daily oxygen level ? :serious-business:

:grin:

Well, regular maintenance better break down.

21 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Siao. Muscular shoulder problem no fracture, u think the on-call so free to see you? They got other stuff to do...

For your info, they do. If you know your own specialist, they will call him & consult him. If not, the MO will check for the next available specialist.  

You have to pay for 'A' charges fee.

If not serious, at least the MO on duty would call the specialist and consult him seeking his advise. X-ray will be taken and an appointment date be given within a week when the specialist in his own out patient clinic.

This really happen to me when I had serious hamstring injuries on my left leg (playing fotball) during the weekends. Went to SGH A&E and stayed at the observation ward almost 8 hrs from the time I arrived.  Can see the MO on duty calling the specialist and the MO was given instructions on the list of things to do. Completed the initial investigation with x-rays taken.

An appointment was given to come back to Specialist Clinic on Wed to see him. Mean time, given MC for a week.    

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

13 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

For your info, they do. If you know your own specialist, they will call him & consult him. If not, the MO will check for the next available specialist.  

You have to pay for 'A' charges fee.

If not serious, at least the MO on duty would call the specialist and consult him seeking his advise. X-ray will be taken and an appointment date be given within a week when the specialist in his own out patient clinic.

This really happen to me when I had serious hamstring injuries on my left leg (playing fotball) during the weekends. Went to SGH A&E and stayed at the observation ward almost 8 hrs from the time I arrived.  Can see the MO on duty calling the specialist and the MO was given instructions on the list of things to do. Completed the initial investigation with x-rays taken.

An appointment was given to come back to Specialist Clinic on Wed to see him.    

This is not the norm. Just to let you know.

That's cos this is the Orthopedic MO for the Orthopedic department. And SGH Ortho in A&E has a unique setup where they see their own Ortho cases and they have manpower, it is only ad-hoc basis in other hospitals.

If it's something like patient on chemotherapy coming in, and there's something that they need to clarify, yes they might call and ask. Unless u are are a post-operation patient that is coming and is reviewed by the junior doctor/registrar of that department and doesn't require admission. 

If in other hospital, they will just give u medicines and ask u go home. early appointment to specialist outpatient clinic...

The job of the A&E doctor is to decide ADMIT vs DON"T ADMIT
All other tasks are essentially sub-priorities of the above 2. And don't blame them if your expectations aren't met.

I realized that we need to frame the perspective when we read anything in the media. Too often subconsciously we based our assessment on our own experience or where we live.

Eg When we think of technological advances we associate with America but if you visit America you notice their infra-structure is very dated but that is not the same for many main cities in China. 

In the case of Malaysia, there lifestyle generally is slower than Singapore and they are very sociable as society. There are no similar massive HDB like living with neighbors hardly know each other despite living in the same place for decades. Tradition and culture is  difficult to change. Try telling your grandma that eating durian will not cause constipation due to heatiness. With this in mind, social distancing is more difficult to adhere.

In addition, steep in believes especially in rural areas, how to convince an unseen and untouchable virus can lead to any devastating harm. In hot and humid climate where many jobs are still labor intensive, how to enforce mask wearing. Sharing of food is a polite social endeavor. 

There are other reasons but these are the main reasons plausible for their government in controlling the infection.

Food for thought, you think switching nightclubs / KTV to F&B is going to change anything? Its like asking geylang to switch to be bible study group? 

I was told by my editors to reduce my number of posting as they have less to report and there would be more blank pages in the papers. Please subscribe ST. 

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

If in other hospital, they will just give u medicines and ask u go home. early appointment to specialist outpatient clinic...

The job of the A&E doctor is to decide ADMIT vs DON"T ADMIT
All other tasks are essentially sub-priorities of the above 2. And don't blame them if your expectations aren't met.

Back in Mar, when my back pain was so bad one day, and i was considering going to A&E, my HR told me must go our company panel doc to get a referral!!! at the clinic, the GP told me pretty much the same thing. Told me likely will just put on observation, then give strong painkillers, and wait for me to ownself cannot take it and ask to go home... 

so he gave me arcoxia and wrote the referral plus gave me 3 days' MC to rest, and i decided not worth going A&E... esp. cos the med actually works, and the pain was relieved somewhat maybe 1-2 hr after taking it...

That was before my op...

• Sad 1

1 hour ago, Atrecord said:

Back in Mar, when my back pain was so bad one day, and i was considering going to A&E, my HR told me must go our company panel doc to get a referral!!! at the clinic, the GP told me pretty much the same thing. Told me likely will just put on observation, then give strong painkillers, and wait for me to ownself cannot take it and ask to go home... 

so he gave me arcoxia and wrote the referral plus gave me 3 days' MC to rest, and i decided not worth going A&E... esp. cos the med actually works, and the pain was relieved somewhat maybe 1-2 hr after taking it...

That was before my op...

You go private hospital, want to be warded for back pain willing to pay to lie in hospital bed, pte specialist jin happy... 

You go govt hospital, want to be warded for back pain, unless u 七老八十 and really can't even sit in wheel chair, this won't happen.. 

5 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

You go private hospital, want to be warded for back pain willing to pay to lie in hospital bed, pte specialist jin happy... 

You go govt hospital, want to be warded for back pain, unless u 七老八十 and really can't even sit in wheel chair, this won't happen.. 

At that time, I had already seen the ortho at SGH (at private rates cos referred by company panel GP). But the MRI he ordered, needed to wait 3 wks, and it was 2 wk away.

I was thinking since sit also pain, stand also pain, walk also pain, should i go A&E, then if warded, can get MRI done earlier lor...

23 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

At that time, I had already seen the ortho at SGH (at private rates cos referred by company panel GP). But the MRI he ordered, needed to wait 3 wks, and it was 2 wk away.

I was thinking since sit also pain, stand also pain, walk also pain, should i go A&E, then if warded, can get MRI done earlier lor...

in govt hospital, u want to squeeze into the MRI daily queue, also need approval by the Radiologist in charge.

If got $$$, of course lots of things can be done. But generally speaking no.

50 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

in govt hospital, u want to squeeze into the MRI daily queue, also need approval by the Radiologist in charge.

If got $$$, of course lots of things can be done. But generally speaking no.

SGH MRI queue was months away, even for private patients. Had to outsource to NCC to do earlier.

If demand is so high, shouldn't they try to up the capacity? Like this, quite jialat leh...

13 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

SGH MRI queue was months away, even for private patients. Had to outsource to NCC to do earlier.

If demand is so high, shouldn't they try to up the capacity? Like this, quite jialat leh...

I dunno. This is more of a hospital budget type of discussion done by people with non-MBBS. Utilisation rates etc.

Private MRI machines probably under-utilised. Govt MRI machines close to maximally utilised during most periods.

1 machine probably few million?

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

I dunno. This is more of a hospital budget type of discussion done by people with non-MBBS. Utilisation rates etc.

Private MRI machines probably under-utilised. Govt MRI machines close to maximally utilised during most periods.

1 machine probably few million?

Not sure about the cost, but tend to agree with highlighted bits. Surely with so many scholars, someone can come out with a way to outsource some of the Govt-hosp outpatient MRI load to the private ones... if they leave those empty, will be a waste anyway. Just charge the RHs a slightly lower rate then surely it will benefit them too...

My GP told me if go private MRI, next day can go, about $1000+. I got a referral to see SGH ortho (2.5 wk), then MRI needed 3 wk (and it was outsourced to NCC on a 6.30 pm slot); was told if wait SGH queue, will be 6-8 wk away...). I also paid $1,016 for it, but had to wait like 1.5 mth longer (though i saw the ortho in the process).

I am guessing maybe private MRI will be about $1200-1400? If they have excess capacity, just sub the job and charge the RH maybe $900-950, should still more than cover cost and make a bit bah... then is also a form of national service to help easy RH load...

as for the RH, do nothing still can mark-up $50-100, but importantly can cut down wait time for patients...

1 hour ago, Atrecord said:

Not sure about the cost, but tend to agree with highlighted bits. Surely with so many scholars, someone can come out with a way to outsource some of the Govt-hosp outpatient MRI load to the private ones... if they leave those empty, will be a waste anyway. Just charge the RHs a slightly lower rate then surely it will benefit them too...

My GP told me if go private MRI, next day can go, about $1000+. I got a referral to see SGH ortho (2.5 wk), then MRI needed 3 wk (and it was outsourced to NCC on a 6.30 pm slot); was told if wait SGH queue, will be 6-8 wk away...). I also paid $1,016 for it, but had to wait like 1.5 mth longer (though i saw the ortho in the process).

I am guessing maybe private MRI will be about $1200-1400? If they have excess capacity, just sub the job and charge the RH maybe $900-950, should still more than cover cost and make a bit bah... then is also a form of national service to help easy RH load...

as for the RH, do nothing still can mark-up $50-100, but importantly can cut down wait time for patients...

They already do outsourcing since years ago, My mums knee mri was done at Camden medical center. 

14 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

They already do outsourcing since years ago, My mums knee mri was done at Camden medical center. 

camden i went before too. but that one is SGH's own 'outlet' leh. I clearly remembered seeing SGH's sign there when i went there to do for my knee, which was later diagnosed as minor meniscus tear. and that's the one that will stretch till May, when i asked whether can change to another slot (instead of the 6.30 pm one at NCC)...

4 hours ago, Atrecord said:

Its a dilemma in many countries with their health service. NHS in UK and so is HA in HK both have long waiting times for services. Then again, in these countries the public pay almost nothing out of their own pocket, that is, cash. However, elective cases (non emergency) have long waiting times but not for emergency. On the other hand, SG, the public has to pay despite subsidy.

Getting investigations done in private is not an issue if you are willing to pay but sometimes for insurance claim, the patient need to be in hospital and investigations done while hospitalized. In private the quality of report can also varies and occasionally your doctor may ask you to repeat the investigation in the hospital again.

Cost of investigation is not difficult to unravel. In some private hospitals they often update or change their machine to the best available. There is a difference between a 1T, 1.5T or 3T MRI machine. Its frightening, eg if you go for examination to look for cancer cells under a microscope, the first laboratory uses a 1x magnification microscope, cannot see those tiny cancers cells and say specimen clear of cancer and the second laboratory uses a 1000x magnification microscope, able to see those tiny cancer cells without difficulty. This may be an exaggeration but you get the point.

Other times when the service is overwhelm, pricing services higher may help to manage the waiting list. Then there is an issue for profit. If you think you had it bad, wait till you collect your medication for SNEC. Their pricing is even more expensive than private clinics in Novena.

Basically, it boils down to two  issues  that will get you a quicker appointment : willing to pay and / or know somebody. 

If you want to have your grievances published in ST Forum, you send in like that you think your letter would be published?

I think COVID is created by mother nature to revenge against the human race.

Look at how nature is dying?