COVID-19: Back to the Future Phase 2 (HA) 22July to 18Aug..

2 minutes ago, Odyssey2011 said:

Singapore preparing to deal with ‘5,000 new Covid-19 cases a day or maybe more’: Lawrence Wong
https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/singapore-preparing-deal-5000-new-covid-19-cases-day-or-maybe-more-lawrence-wong

🙄

It may not kill us or land us in hospital. But almost all of us can look forward to intermittent holiday at home on QO or SHN. Not sure who will be at the office to do actual work though

Just now, Odyssey2011 said:

Singapore preparing to deal with ‘5,000 new Covid-19 cases a day or maybe more’: Lawrence Wong
https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/singapore-preparing-deal-5000-new-covid-19-cases-day-or-maybe-more-lawrence-wong

🙄

If the worry is overloading medical facilities, i suggest they set up one specific covid hospital supported by the army and all manners of nsmen. It could be an isolated army camp, dormitory or cruise ship equipped with a few hundred rooms and ventilators. 

• Sad 1

11 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

It may not kill us or land us in hospital. But almost all of us can look forward to intermittent holiday at home on QO or SHN. Not sure who will be at the office to do actual work though

WfH..... Surely. Gov said so already.

1 hour ago, Sosaria said:

SG business model addicted to cheap labour and never change much. In the past, malaysians took these service and operator jobs, then got too expensive for SG companies, replaced with PRC.

Then now PRC also getting expensive and demanding so have to look for yet another source of cheap labour?? Maybe bangla will get "upgraded" to these jobs in the near future, and instead the construction industry have to look elsewhere to find FWs?

No choice la because in sg employers need pay levies to govt for $800. Also need pay high rentals and yet must be priced competitively. If u are employer sure also headache with the overhead cost in sg. Especially those in f&b and manufacturing industry. 

cant compare with japan or aussie as they offer higher pay and results passed to customers. A meal there cost $10 meanwhile in sg still can have my mixed vege rice for $3

13 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Warehousing, manufacturing, F&B, retail, transport just to name a few…how to WFH?

3 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

cant compare with japan or aussie as they offer higher pay and results passed to customers. A meal there cost $10 meanwhile in sg still can have my mixed vege rice for $3

That is, actually, not a good thing...... We need salary to be higher to pay more, and realistically, for what it should cost.

We need to pay fairly for those throughout the supply chain.

4 minutes ago, bsswan said:

That is, actually, not a good thing...... We need salary to be higher to pay more, and realistically, for what it should cost.

We need to pay fairly for those throughout the supply chain.

How to give higher pay. For those malaysian and prc they are paid 1k plus for long hours. Even if pay $2k, total 2.8k

hire local for $3k also hard to get for the same job. Still need pay for contribution too. Businesses in sg really under pressure

2 hours ago, happy_man said:

Errr...you forget - I don't need to  understand newsprint biz since I am a paying customer for news service of my choosing.

What ST does and how their service are valued is not up to the SPH, but rather the whether the market finds it relevant and reliable. Perhaps you forget in SG's tightly controlled media world in the age of the Internet,  the bigger cost is a less competitive media players - which can be fatal in our very connected world.

But then hor, that's not my problem.😜

Again you get your information all wrong. I feel like giving you a complementary subscription.

If you are a working person and contributing taxes then how ST (SPH) be not your problem. Remember ST is moving to what? We are going to be funded by tax-payers in part or in whole.

Again you forget, in Singapore we are unique. You mentioned our service value is not up to SPH but by the market. You are so wrong? How do you think the incumbent get the majority of votes for the past 50 plus years? They are happy we are happy. I really don't like to be crude but here goes. Your balls are part of the service provided by the goreng pisang and the rest of the body generally has nothing to do with them. If a moderator squeezed your balls with a vice-clamp, see whether your brain (pain signal) and mouth (screaming) thought at the other end react. The point is who is your master and who is your target?

since you are going to pay directly or indirectly, friend friend, subscribe to ST can?

5 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

The infectious doctor say one thing the minister say the other....who is right? This is causing confusion. How to have unity siah?

I apologize to correct you, we are not confused (not yet) but they are confused.

4 minutes ago, RadX said:

you affected meh

forget to bring ATM / Credit card does not mean cannot cope financially when paying the bill at Morton's.

1 hour ago, Fcw75 said:

Warehousing, manufacturing, F&B, retail, transport just to name a few…how to WFH?

It is so disruptive that might as well close shop. What economic recovery? Only civil or public service can work from comfort of home, so of course to these out of touch people high up there, sure lah everybody can WFH.

We'll be like the UK where society has been paralyzed by shortage of workers in many sectors.

Edited by Sosaria

Nearly half of the people polled in an online survey of 1,000 respondents have cut back on physical activities, and 73 per cent dine out less often.

Compared with a similar survey conducted in August 2020, the proportion of residents who are concerned about the number of new cases here has doubled to 70 per cent.

The proportion of those who fear catching the virus has also grown, from 37 per cent to 72 per cent.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/sporeans-socialising-and-dining-out-less-mental-well-being-has-declined-covid-19

If 5,000 new Covid-19 cases a day or maybe more really happen, we will see a ghost town soon, without CB or lock down.