Mercedes, BMW and Audi are no longer top-10 car brands

Soya

Grass is greener syndrome... conti is their local car there, plus they own cars for much longer. So Asian reliability is regarded highly. Here in Singapore most conti owners wont stick to their car for more than a few years

I can't bieve it, I save up my entire life just to buy a COE Mercedes and now the paradigm have shifted? I have to save up again to buy a COE Kia? 😪😪

Anyway, I believe it is the audience and the way the survey is conducted. It is like I ask a YP what he think is a cheap and affordable sport car, next I say Ferrari and Lambo are no longer the dream  sport cars.

Edited by Ct3833
  • Haha! 7

@Ct3833 You made a right decision on getting a Merc ,For me i don't believe car journalist much,  what thy wrote can be dubious information to sway motorists faith and confidence, buy what U believe in and set for a life enjoyment, My point is: How many of us MCF ever owned a old COE or Vintage merc, taking tender loving care of their only love beside their wifey. You earned it now enjoy the ride. [drivingcar]

14 minutes ago, Meanmachine said:

@Ct3833 You made a right decision on getting a Merc ,For me i don't believe car journalist much,  what thy wrote can be dubious information to sway motorists faith and confidence, buy what U believe in and set for a life enjoyment, My point is: How many of us MCF ever owned a old COE or Vintage merc, taking tender loving care of their only love beside their wifey. You earned it now enjoy the ride. [drivingcar]

haha. just joking. two years before COE renewal and 2 years after COE renewal, so far happy with it.  Before that I drove two other PARF models before renewing the current one. 

Edited by Ct3833

46 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

I can't bieve it, I save up my entire life just to buy a COE Mercedes and now the paradigm have shifted? I have to save up again to buy a COE Kia? 😪😪

Anyway, I believe it is the audience and the way the survey is conducted. It is like I ask a YP what he think is a cheap and affordable sport car, next I say Ferrari and Lambo are no longer the dream  sport cars.

Don't worry bro. Lao pok merc forever evergreen one....keke 

I think it is true. During the pandemic ppl cannot go tour, cannot do much shopping. With all that money limpeh is going to spend more and get a Porsche. 

https://www.asiaone.com/money/its-clear-rich-singapore-are-buying-cars-never

Brand               2015    2016    2017    2018    2019    2020    H1 2021

Aston Martin      5         14         29        26         21         28          17
Bentley               66        53        70         61         67        234         63
Ferrari                 41        37        39         37         43         44          24
Lamborghini      20        15        18         38         61         42          23
McLaren              4          5         10         23         21          16         16
Porsche             589     563       677      575      628       582        434
Rolls-Royce         20       19        25         31        41         54           49

Brand    2015    2016    2017      2018     2019     2020    H1 2021
Audi      2,093    2,360    2,604    2,941    2,487    2,228     1,158
BMW    3,598    4,582    5,591    5,405    5,346    4,349      3,100
Merc     5,408    6,444    7,976    7,122    7,840    6,561      4,191

Brand       2015      2016       2017       2018       2019      2020     H1 2021
Honda     7,916    19,349     16,013    15,040    15,205    6,338       2,613
Hyundai   1,805     2,587      3,804       6,540      5,618     2,224      1,490
Mazda     5,287      7,091      8,509      5,414      3,095      2,411      1,582
Mitsubishi 1,379     3,632     3,555      3,284      3,020      1,300       601
Nissan      5,574     7,028       5,241      4,019      2,405     1,578      1,164
Toyota     12,171   18,491    19,133    13,817    12,923    7,704       5,171
VW            3,056      2,779      2,450      2,420     1,726      1,334         526

Quite sian when you see so many ppl including ah beng drive one of the 3 German brand cars, speeding beng, burning beng.... Nothing special anymore. Porsche on the other hand stands out more obviously. Even Maserati is seen as too beng when the Maserati driver and his imaginary friend Kelvin are in ppl's mind. Go and wack TP officer somemore, sure very eye catchy for the TP.

1 hour ago, Ct3833 said:

What?! Just went I am saving hard for my 1st BMW, they are now not the top 3? Nevermind, let hope they will price their car even cheaper so that I can shorten my waiting (saving) time to get one. This is positive thinking right? :D:D

Yah, I concur with your view about audiences and the way the survey was conducted, as well as the context. For reliability, some survey even include battery and other wear and tear items, OMG... 

BTW, it is weird to breakdown the categories into premium and non-premium, yet stating that the top 3 German have lost their popularity... 

jQjTA1C.jpg

One simply cannot take an oversea survey result and apply into local market. 

Dey!!  Best city car has to be Maruti Suzuki lah.....all my family and neighbours know that.  😁

2 hours ago, Watwheels said:

I think it is true. During the pandemic ppl cannot go tour, cannot do much shopping. With all that money limpeh is going to spend more and get a Porsche. 

Aston Martin      5         14         29        26         21         28          17
Bentley               66        53        70         61         67        234         63
Ferrari                 41        37        39         37         43         44          24
Lamborghini      20        15        18         38         61         42          23
McLaren              4          5         10         23         21          16         16
Porsche             589     563       677      575      628       582        434
Rolls-Royce         20       19        25         31        41         54           49

Brand       2015      2016       2017       2018       2019      2020     H1 2021
Hyundai   1,805     2,587      3,804       6,540      5,618     2,224      1,490
Mazda     5,287      7,091      8,509      5,414      3,095      2,411      1,582
Nissan      5,574     7,028       5,241      4,019      2,405     1,578      1,164
VW            3,056      2,779      2,450      2,420     1,726      1,334         526

Quite sian when you see so many ppl including ah beng drive one of the 3 German brand cars, speeding beng, burning beng.... Nothing special anymore. Porsche on the other hand stands out more obviously. Even Maserati is seen as too beng when the Maserati driver and his imaginary friend Kelvin are in ppl's mind. Go and wack TP officer somemore, sure very eye catchy for the TP.

A few of you limpeh here, rain or shine, you can continue to buy Porsche anytime without reading lunar calendar(通书) lah, don't hou siao.😅😅😅😅

2 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

What?! Just went I am saving hard for my 1st BMW, they are now not the top 3? Nevermind, let hope they will price their car even cheaper so that I can shorten my waiting (saving) time to get one. This is positive thinking right? :D:D

Yah, I concur with your view about audiences and the way the survey was conducted, as well as the context. For reliability, some survey even include battery and other wear and tear items, OMG... 

BTW, it is weird to breakdown the categories into premium and non-premium, yet stating that the top 3 German have lost their popularity... 

jQjTA1C.jpg

Brand loyalty won't change over night unless something too screw up.  If any, the shift will change progressively over time. And to say  that three brands all gone in one survey suddenly, the only constant is the survey itself, that means the survey is screw up. I am not protecting any brands but the results is too skewed to be trusted. 

2 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Masak roti seems to be a trouble magnet. Affects not onli loansharks w imaginary frens but NUS professor oso. Why ah? Too frustrated cannot afford Ferrari izit? Lol

Yeah come to jamesc good quality used cars at affordable prices.

I have lots of Kias, Hyundais and Hondas.

More reliable, less thirsty and you will have enough to pay for road tax and parking!

It won't matter where these german cars are ranked, they will still be more desirable than many of the "top 10" brands. I remember years ago when the local papers did a car of the year award once a year, there was a year where a japanese car (not lexus or GTR, NSX that kind just  <100k type) "beat" a 911 to be the car of the year, does this make any sense? After that article came out, guess how many people threw away their 911's and bought the japanese car....zero would be a good guess

Edited by Fxfx
wrong word