How bad can army rations be? haha

StreetFight3r

1 minute ago, Albeniz said:

Just curious, how is the quality of cookhouse food nowadays as compared to 20 years ago?

Heard since cookhouse outsource, the food quality is better than last time when foods were cooked by NSF cooks. 

Edited by 13177

2 hours ago, Kb27 said:

My worst experience in 70s army cookhouse food as a recruit.

You know, you are not allowed to have unconsumed food left in your tray, bcuz it "waste" food.

The COS stands at the washing point and inspect everyone's tray.

But the amount of food you get is not for you to choose, it's dumped on it by the cooks.

So one morning, something went wrong with the food allocation/distribution at the cookhouse. The cooks decide to get rid of butter. I got maybe like 3 packs. Now I have to finish all the butter before I get punished.

After that, I never touch butter for a long long time.

hahaha...... my worst experience was kena given COMBAT RATION in cookhouse!!! still cannot imagine the shock when i saw hard tact biscuit in green wrapper, sardine, baked bean dumped onto the steel tray! must be some cockanathan indent wrongly or over-indent!

lucky the time old bird liao, the COS stared at us, we just stared back while dumping the things, that was in the 80s...

NS related thread here always very active and move very fast 😂😂

Everyone complained when serving it, but after that a lot to talk cock...

36 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Heard since cookhouse outsource, the food quality is better than last time when foods were cooked by NSF cooks. 

my ns time at unit still cooked by nsf cook, every monday must eat cookhouse cause sibeh tok-kong cooked by the cook sergeant, but every thursday we go canteen...:grin:

reservist time already outsource, that time no bad cai png standard lah..

few years back got opportunity go inside naval base for work, seem many prefer canteen food which i find so so only, guess maybe the outsource standard drop liao....

Edited by Ahwhye

5 minutes ago, Tohto said:

NS related thread here always very active and move very fast 😂😂

Everyone complained when serving it, but after that a lot to talk cock...

last time 2.5 year ns feel like jail.

then another 10 cycle ict feel like never ending

now suddenly   i dun even remember some of the stuff i did during ict. 😅

40 minutes ago, Playtime said:

Memories
Light the corners of my mind
Misty watercolor memories
Of the way we were

aGd9nW0_700b.jpg

last time we jialat still makan everything finished

Nowadays yummy MRE still cry pa cry ma

Don't know how to appreciate

生在福中不知福 😬😬😬

1 minute ago, Beregond said:

ict is saf100 ticket to hc hfj tn cum ktv lor 🤫🤫🤫

5 hours ago, Mustank said:

That time I reservist Kay Kiang eat chili tuna can

lao sai 3 day 3 night :XD:

wah so smart... geng to get MC and siam training....😋

3 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

生在福中不知福 😬😬😬

its like that . those old bird look at me say my ns relax liao, last time they kenna teckan by those israel  commander etc etc.

now i join tekong bmt tour. i cannot believe recruit go out field got water truck let them bath out field. really eye opener  super wtf.😅

29 minutes ago, Beregond said:

That means I am older than you.  My ICT was a 13-year cycle

25 minutes ago, Beregond said:

its like that . those old bird look at me say my ns relax liao, last time they kenna teckan by those israel  commander etc etc.

now i join tekong bmt tour. i cannot believe recruit go out field got water truck let them bath out field. really eye opener  super wtf.😅

Salute to those Seniors during the Temasek Green Era with Hell Training instructors 👍

nowadays Strawberry can’t even take Chix Feet 

😂😂😂

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

all ah beng cook. ciggy ash inside food no surprise.. after meal help clean cook house.. the amount of food waste into the dumpster when we push it out.. you would think food is free..

after that choo choo cook to spare us a ciggy for smoke break.

i understand why the cook very unhappy to cook... see so much wasted food.. so dont need put effort cook. so people eat even less but amount of food indented is same qty.. so throw more food waste.. virtuous circle

5 minutes ago, happy_man said:

WTF! Where is the mandatory powder bath ?!!

saf_powder_container_1614418906_e367f834

wa feb 2019.. still got ah? 

i find it pointless bringing powder... always wet in jungle and powder also wet cannot use.. make do with hk feet until rod

1 hour ago, Inlinefour said:

生在福中不知福 😬😬😬

I still remember much later in reservist when ration truck sent cai png in styrofoam box... we'd break a corner of tbe box and use as spoon. 🤣

That day,  me and a old regular had our field lunch delivered,  and we start eating old fashioned way, actually won't lose to coffee shop cai png. We both been through the old days of eating field lunch packed in packages of meal bags... a mixed mess in plastic bag 🤪

The young driver complained that the lunch was inedible.. me and the old regular,  we just looked at each other, and smiled.. 肝胆相照,尽在不言中...🤣🤣🤣 

Edited by Playtime

1 hour ago, Strat said:

wah so smart... geng to get MC and siam training....😋

No ah I didn’t Keng mc

they let me free drive m113 wooohoooo!!!!

wish they let me free drive the leopard 

end up I drive the lorry :XD:

ns time is the time to free try many things 

but I not combat one so the stress to perform is not there. Just enjoy free stuff :XD:

4 hours ago, Inlinefour said:

Salute to those Seniors during the Temasek Green Era with Hell Training instructors 👍

nowadays Strawberry can’t even take Chix Feet 

😂😂😂

Times have changed.  Why need to put down the younger generations?