Zhng: Inside the world of modified cars | CloseUp

kobayashiGT

In the world’s most expensive city to own a car, some car lovers vie to stand out - by zhng-ing (modifying) their ride. This, even when it means skidding dangerously close to illegal activities, or flirting with safety. https://str.sg/3UDD

CloseUp dives deep into the world of modified cars in Singapore and finds out why some enthusiasts are willing to risk it all for loud revving engines, flashy body kits and the never-ending race for more horsepower.

CloseUp is an investigative video series by The Straits Times that gives a deeper look at issues that hit close to home.

I like to mod my car too. But just with a bit of personal touch to call it my own. Not to the extreme like these ppl. they 2 fast 2 furious. hahaha

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

I like to mod my car too. But just with a bit of personal touch to call it my own. Not to the extreme like these ppl. they 2 fast 2 furious. hahaha

err.. changing petrol from 95 to 98 not consider mod..

Ground wire not consider mod as well..

😁

I think most of us are very tame in mod, such as darker tints which is illegal..

15 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

😁

I think most of us are very tame in mod, such as darker tints which is illegal..

Hahahahaha, You pour 95 to your tank one meh.

I am pretty sure your car not tame at all leh. hahahaha

9 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Why can't anyone in the Mazda 3 2019 thread be active with posts like this?

6 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

😁

True that. To me change wheels also not a mod. Add bodykit also not a mod. 

1 hour ago, Discoburg said:

Why can't anyone in the Mazda 3 2019 thread be active with posts like this?

i don't drive a mazda. So I cannot answer your question! hahaha.

12 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

In the world’s most expensive city to own a car, some car lovers vie to stand out - by zhng-ing (modifying) their ride. This, even when it means skidding dangerously close to illegal activities, or flirting with safety. https://str.sg/3UDD

CloseUp dives deep into the world of modified cars in Singapore and finds out why some enthusiasts are willing to risk it all for loud revving engines, flashy body kits and the never-ending race for more horsepower.

CloseUp is an investigative video series by The Straits Times that gives a deeper look at issues that hit close to home.

But seriously speaking they should loosen some of the restrictions for exhaust mods especially ( not every car model has legal exhaust muffler at the bare minimum).

Even one exhaust muffler legal for one model doesn't mean its legal for its sibling variants like mine, legal for Honda FD1 and FD2R does'nt mean legal for FD2A  ( HKS cert put  model as FD2, engine code K20A also not allowed now from what I saw online, must be engine code K20Z, what I read is Garage R dont want to recertify anymore for new owner who take over the old cert.)

So unless can find old cert with this specific engine code, no way can get legal exhaust muffler certified from LTA/Vicom.

Same for Mugen exhaust muffler legal for FD1 and FD2R also same thing engine code is K20A

Im sure  there are other car models who face this problem as well.

Is tuning the engine illegal? The type where the ecu parameters are tweaked and the peak power/torque are increased (as shown in dyno graphs). Not talking about hardware change.

10 hours ago, Columbian78 said:

Is tuning the engine illegal? The type where the ecu parameters are tweaked and the peak power/torque are increased (as shown in dyno graphs). Not talking about hardware change.

think its a grey area... 

Dont think its  outright illegal as inspection doesn't check for engine horsepower produced but more for emissions and noise levels produced by the exhaust

21 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Hahahahaha, You pour 95 to your tank one meh.

I am pretty sure your car not tame at all leh. hahahaha

shy lah.. 

u and me tame and closet beng .. 

for me is alternative OEM for parts from a newer generation to current prefacelift.

like DV relocation or improve part number for water pump or front sway bar from a more hardcore model.

How to consider this "mod" when its all LTA friendly ? 

My idea of a "mod" is when LTA pull up beside u and he start starring at u.. u peel your glass down and stare back. Thats not mod.

When TP pull beside u and u become a born again virgin, ahh.. thats mod....

Edited by Sdf4786k

1 hour ago, Sdf4786k said:

shy lah.. 

u and me tame and closet beng .. 

for me is alternative OEM for parts from a newer generation to current prefacelift.

like DV relocation or improve part number for water pump or front sway bar from a more hardcore model.

How to consider this "mod" when its all LTA friendly ? 

My idea of a "mod" is when LTA pull up beside u and he start starring at u.. u peel your glass down and stare back. Thats not mod.

When TP pull beside u and u become a born again virgin, ahh.. thats mod....

hahahha. No LTA pull beside me yet. *touch wood *touch wood.

2 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

hahahha. No LTA pull beside me yet. *touch wood *touch wood.

only time where I got a rude shock is when the police escort pull me over so that the VVIP can pass thru...