Opinion talk: Should we have RV in Singapore?

kobayashiGT

Home Office Concept RV With Multi-Purpose Desk Redefines Remote Work

https://www.motor1.com/news/529154/sunlight-rv-remote-workstation-concept/

mobile-office-desk-concept-by-sunlight.j

With many people working from home, this idea seems like a no-brainer.

It's a fact that vanlife is extremely popular right now. It's also a fact that more people than ever are working from home. It doesn't take a genius to see the potential benefits of combining these lifestyles, which makes us wonder why we haven't seen something like this nifty work-focused table sooner.

To be clear, this isn't something you can buy just yet. German-based motorhome company Sunlight came up with the idea of offering a dedicated multi-use table that could also function as a dedicated workstation. It's just a concept at this point, but if there's interest in such a thing we wouldn't be surprised to see it as an option for Sunlight's lineup of campers.

Spoiler

sunlight-t66-camper-van.jpg

sunlight-motorhome.jpg

sunlight-cliff-camper-van.jpg

Can't people just set up a laptop at a normal table and work? Absolutely, and we've seen plenty of homebuilt vans with modest setups for getting computer work done. However, Sunlight's table takes a deeper stab at productivity by offering things like extra power outlets, wireless recharging for mobile devices, added lighting, and perhaps the greatest tool for productive home-office workers, space for a second monitor to complement your laptop.

Additionally, the workstation isn't as haphazard as a small, flat table. With small sides and a large front, it creates a small cubicle feel that keeps items like pens or other office gear from literally falling by the wayside. There are surfaces for post-it notes, and when the projects are done, the workstation easily converts back to a normal table for casual dining and relaxation.

Sunlight doesn't mention anything regarding price for this table, as it's just a clever idea at the moment. The company offers a range of vehicles from modest camper vans to large motorhomes, and from our vantage point, it wouldn't be difficult to include this trick table as an optional item for any of them.

With the rising cost of housing these days, and even if you wanna get a BTO, you are fighting with like another dozen of ppl for BTO based on the recent BTO launch. . .

image.thumb.png.48a541af03811237c88ce1882d47cbed.png

Walau eh. The most competitive is 8.2 times. sia. That is more difficult than . . .

getting pregnant and getting into an accident (kenna cut by knife lah, fall down, kick onto something...)

And in the coming future, there will be a lot of EV charging station in Singapore, to fully maximise it, we should have RV imported in. So the car can be multi-purposed to become a home too. Since Minister Josephine Teo have said this before. .  .

Screen-Shot-2017-04-09-at-2.24.56-PM.png

What do you all think? Staying in a RV in the coming future. 😂

No no bad idea. They will leave the engine running and even now f@rkers who eat and drink on road side/CP just throw their rubbish out the window, especially when eating places were not allowed dine-in. 

Sinkies lack discipline, commonsense, hygiene..... With this RV they will squat beside the TV to take a dump then drive to another spot. 

• Haha! 7

so camper vans are not allowed to enter, thus i would assume that locally also not allowed. but if it is a pure mini office setup. maybe ok.

image.png.405f63c2bdae3108c1632701c2696b25.png

Edited by Mkl22

27 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Everything is great until u need to change the toilet pan 🤣

That's why I said they will dump next to the RV. Or open a hatch on the floor like the KTM train toilet.

Just buy yourself a tour bus and convert the inside into a luxury home. Think need a company to register the bus. After that you are good to go.

The luggage compartment convert into sportscar storage.

performance_s.jpg

• Dislike 1

Unfortunately, parking 4 units on the same hdb multi storey carpark would buckle the floor .. will breech the floor loading limit.. not forgetting, a lot of 30 year lease hold units will be left vacant.. so won’t work.. 

I believe even carlite has shown some form of success during COVID-19. But took a toll on the economy.

A better idea is for stacking of containers .. that has good take up rate in many countries.. 

Edited by Sdf4786k

1 hour ago, Mkl22 said:

so camper vans are not allowed to enter, thus i would assume that locally also not allowed. but if it is a pure mini office setup. maybe ok.

image.png.405f63c2bdae3108c1632701c2696b25.png

First point -- You need to settle all outstanding fines for your vehicle .......Hmmm.......

Koba should get one of these for his extra curricular activities.

image.png.2743909b87f9dd81e69657b9305a7822.png

image.png.2d0ea24fd2b62a04c029524a81fedbca.png

image.png.1bdadffb16f0513674d796396f3e8a58.png

3 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Home Office Concept RV With Multi-Purpose Desk Redefines Remote Work

https://www.motor1.com/news/529154/sunlight-rv-remote-workstation-concept/

With many people working from home, this idea seems like a no-brainer.

It's a fact that vanlife is extremely popular right now. It's also a fact that more people than ever are working from home. It doesn't take a genius to see the potential benefits of combining these lifestyles, which makes us wonder why we haven't seen something like this nifty work-focused table sooner.

To be clear, this isn't something you can buy just yet. German-based motorhome company Sunlight came up with the idea of offering a dedicated multi-use table that could also function as a dedicated workstation. It's just a concept at this point, but if there's interest in such a thing we wouldn't be surprised to see it as an option for Sunlight's lineup of campers.

Reveal hidden contents

sunlight-t66-camper-van.jpg

sunlight-motorhome.jpg

sunlight-cliff-camper-van.jpg

Can't people just set up a laptop at a normal table and work? Absolutely, and we've seen plenty of homebuilt vans with modest setups for getting computer work done. However, Sunlight's table takes a deeper stab at productivity by offering things like extra power outlets, wireless recharging for mobile devices, added lighting, and perhaps the greatest tool for productive home-office workers, space for a second monitor to complement your laptop.

Additionally, the workstation isn't as haphazard as a small, flat table. With small sides and a large front, it creates a small cubicle feel that keeps items like pens or other office gear from literally falling by the wayside. There are surfaces for post-it notes, and when the projects are done, the workstation easily converts back to a normal table for casual dining and relaxation.

Sunlight doesn't mention anything regarding price for this table, as it's just a clever idea at the moment. The company offers a range of vehicles from modest camper vans to large motorhomes, and from our vantage point, it wouldn't be difficult to include this trick table as an optional item for any of them.

Edited by Jamesc

4 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

The weather is too hot

most RV aircon will not last 6hrs 

unless they park in RV lot which has charging facility and toilet

Just deck out the roof with solar panels but I agree, RV living is not suitable for our hot and humid climate. How many equator countries have a RV culture?