Let's talk about Vaccine Booster Shots

therock

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/covid-booster-shots-every-year-ong-ye-kung-061704960.html

COVID booster shots may be needed every year: Ong Ye Kung

Nicholas Yong

Mon, 10 January 2022, 2:17 pm·2-min read

In this article:

Health Minister Ong Ye Kung addresses Parliament on 10 January 2022 (SCREENGRAB: Gov.sg YouTube channel)

SINGAPORE — Just as individuals take a yearly flu shot, Singaporeans may also need to take a yearly booster shot as Singapore continues to transit into the endemic phase of the pandemic, said Health Minister Ong Ye Kung in Parliament on Monday (10 January).

Responding to a query from Tampines Member of Parliament Cheng Li Hui on whether more vaccination doses are needed after the booster jab, Ong said that it was "too early to tell". He noted that Israel is currently the only country that has authorised a fourth dose for non-immunocompromised individuals.

Ong pointed to an "endemic, infectious disease" like influenza, which mutates frequently. "So people receive vaccinations every year to protect themselves against it without many problems, or the need for disruptive border closures and social restrictions each time there’s an influenza infection wave.

"It is a possible future scenario when we live with COVID-19 as an endemic disease."

The minister added that the Ministry of Health and the Expert Committee on COVID-19 Vaccination (EC19V) will continue to monitor local and international data on the durability of protection from vaccine boosters and the evolution of the virus to assess the need for further vaccinations.

Separately, Senior Minister of State Janil Puthucheary told the House that 15,540 children aged below 12 were infected with COVID last year. A total of 3,145 were sent to hospital or a COVID-19 facility but have all been discharged. 

Since mid-October last year, Singapore has seen several serious cases in children, with some requiring intensive care. "Although fewer children have been seriously ill with COVID-19 compared with adults, there is still a risk of them becoming seriously ill or developing severe COVID-19 complications such as multi-system inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)," said Dr Puthucheary.

Health authorities are also reviewing if the Sinovac-Coronavac vaccine can be extended to children aged five to 11, who are medically ineligible to take the Pfizer-BioNTech Comirnaty COVID-19 vaccine.

The review will be based on further studies on the safety and effectiveness of the Sinovac vaccine.

At present, only the Pfizer vaccine is authorised for use in children below 18 years. Special exemptions are made for those aged 12 to 17 who are not medically eligible for it to receive a Sinovac-Coronavac vaccine under a dedicated public health program.

44 minutes ago, Ender said:

If exceed 270 days how? Do we have to take the two dose regime to be consider vaccinated? Or just one shot booster?

Means you are under the outcasted 😆. I believe anytime you take the booster, you pass again lah. Just that between the expiry and the time you take the booster, you failed. Silent on 14 days after booster or immediately. Another confusion? 😆

Edited by Victor68

14 hours ago, Philipkee said:

In the army, if you got a specialist to look hard enough, most likely one can downgrade.  This is because everyone has some kind of health issue. It's just a matter of how easy it is to detect it.

So for underlying conditions?  Look hard enough and even the healthiest person will have one.

Pretty true but no need to make people jobless right? :pissed-off:

• Sad 1

2 hours ago, Victor68 said:

Overheard something funny while waiting. A ah soh walks in. Lady checks and tells her that her 2nd jab less than 3 months ago, too early. She says, government says must take job before 14th Feb, otherwise cannot go shopping malls. Hahaha. 

So, it is confusing to some. All the while it is about 3 weeks or 4 months but now become 270 days. Why not 9 months leh? 

51435904381_d74315b730_o.jpg

Vaccinated people accounted for 30% of COVID-19 deaths last year: Ong Ye Kung

Of the 802 COVID-19 deaths in Singapore last year, 247 were fully vaccinated. 

Most of the vaccinated individuals who died from COVID-19 had received non-mRNA vaccines, according to crude incidence rates of deaths provided by Mr Ong.

Speaking in Parliament, Mr Ong provided the crude incidence rates based on type of vaccination: 11 deaths per 100,000 for those vaccinated with Sinovac, 7.8 per 100,000 for Sinopharm, 6.2 per 100,000 for Pfizer-BioNTech, and 1 per 100,000 for Moderna.

"Be mindful we are calculating this based on quite a small sample of 247 deaths ... These rates are only indicative since they do not account for other factors which can affect mortality such as the age and timing of vaccination," said Mr Ong.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/vaccinated-people-accounted-30-covid-19-deaths-last-year-ong-ye-kung-2424926

Fox news copy me.

Can they pay me copyright or not?

On 1/6/2022 at 5:48 PM, Windwaver said:

So the good news with Omicron is very low disease, highly infectious, it looks an awful lot - to the experienced vaccinologists - like a live attenuated virus vaccine that you might design for purpose. It’s going to elicit a strong mucosal immune response, this is about as good as we could possible want right now in terms of outcomes. I think they (media and political establishment) are disappointed with these good news.”

On 1/3/2022 at 9:59 PM, Jamesc said:

So Omicron will act like an attenuated vaccine that infect people and in a way "vaccinate" them without people needing to do anything.

So any antivaxxers getting Omicron will be in a way be "vaccinated".

The icing on the cake if its turns out to be true is if a person gets Omicron that person will produce antibodies that also neutralize the more deadly Delta.

Its very possible that once you get Omicron and exposed to the Delta virus you will not catch Delta and that will be the end of Delta.

2 hours ago, Windwaver said:

Pretty true but no need to make people jobless right? :pissed-off:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milgram_experiment

I am reminded of this experiment.  Last time people used to say how can Nazi soldiers participate in the Holocaust and use "only following orders" as an excuse?

This experiment show that people are willing to go against their conscience to follow orders from authority.

And now, we are seeing it live again.

40 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milgram_experiment

I am reminded of this experiment.  Last time people used to say how can Nazi soldiers participate in the Holocaust and use "only following orders" as an excuse?

This experiment show that people are willing to go against their conscience to follow orders from authority.

And now, we are seeing it live again.

What do you suggest to do (other than taking booster)?

Edited by inlinesix

26 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

What do you suggest to do (other than taking booster)?

End unnecessary Vaccinated Differentiated measures.

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/forum/forum-vaccinated-son-cant-visit-unvaccinated-dad-in-hospital

This is particularly upsetting because healthcare workers are supposed to be advocates for the patients.  Some work around like relative wearing full PPE, pre visit ART etc can be tried out but an outright ban would be counter productive.  This might mean elderly who are sick and happen to be unvaccinated may now refuse hospital admissions.

Allow unvaccinated to work if not in customer facing roles.  Maybe reduce medical benefits (not the sick leave but the subsidies for COVID infections costs) but not outright ban from them working.

Focus on improving immunity as well. You can boost.   But you can also distribute supplements and vitamins to people.  Like for students in schools, get vaccinated but maybe every week, every student gets a dose of vitamin C, zinc tablets etc (last time we had packets of milk for primary school kids).

7 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/forum/forum-vaccinated-son-cant-visit-unvaccinated-dad-in-hospital

This is particularly upsetting because healthcare workers are supposed to be advocates for the patients.  Some work around like relative wearing full PPE, pre visit ART etc can be tried out but an outright ban would be counter productive.  This might mean elderly who are sick and happen to be unvaccinated may now refuse hospital admissions.

Allow unvaccinated to work if not in customer facing roles.  Maybe reduce medical benefits (not the sick leave but the subsidies for COVID infections costs) but not outright ban from them working.

Focus on improving immunity as well. You can boost.   But you can also distribute supplements and vitamins to people.  Like for students in schools, get vaccinated but maybe every week, every student gets a dose of vitamin C, zinc tablets etc (last time we had packets of milk for primary school kids).

When I discuss this with my boss, he always ask, the million dollar question is where to find the money?

My take is that if you want to increase GST and then you put funding for health supplements for children in schools, it might be more palatable.  In fact, not only children. A small bottle of supplements for every elderly collecting medicine in a govt polyclinic would also look good and might influence care givers to buy more of these supplements.

I was thinking of zinc, magnesium and vitamin C tablets.

9 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

Vaccinated Differentiated Measures is a tekan exercise. Therefore it doesn’t matter whether it is necessary or not.
For unvax, there is no outright ban from working. Rather, they can’t work in the office. If the job allows, the person can work from home.

With regards to supplement, I believe milk was given in the good ole days due to malnutrition. Nowadays, it is difficult to find kids who are malnutrition. Giving supplement may not be necessary.

8 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

With regards to supplement, I believe milk was given in the good ole days due to malnutrition. Nowadays, it is difficult to find kids who are malnutrition. Giving supplement may not be necessary.

Disagree but I am not sure the correct term. 

I think many of us are malnourished.. not malnourished in the sense of deficiency in calories as evidence by obesity rates or even in most vitamins. But we tend to eat a lot of junk food and less of the healthy food.  So we are deficient in certain minerals and vitamins.  It's just that it does not show up in our body but shows up when we fall sick more often, more prone to chronic illnesses.  Some will say it's lack of anti toxidents and not lack of supplements per se.

An example would be we have no lack of water here.  We are well hydrated.  But for some reason, our health is better in the army (urine healthier colour also) because of the water parades.  And we drink much more water than other drinks. But no one can say we are dehydrated in and out of army.  Just that maybe we don't drink enough of water which is not the same as we don't drink enough fluids.

13 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

Disagree but I am not sure the correct term. 

I think many of us are malnourished.. not malnourished in the sense of deficiency in calories as evidence by obesity rates or even in most vitamins. But we tend to eat a lot of junk food and less of the healthy food.  So we are deficient in certain minerals and vitamins.  It's just that it does not show up in our body but shows up when we fall sick more often, more prone to chronic illnesses.  Some will say it's lack of anti toxidents and not lack of supplements per se.

An example would be we have no lack of water here.  We are well hydrated.  But for some reason, our health is better in the army (urine healthier colour also) because of the water parades.  And we drink much more water than other drinks. But no one can say we are dehydrated in and out of army.  Just that maybe we don't drink enough of water which is not the same as we don't drink enough fluids.

many old folk given free milk powder or other stuff but choose to sell them in the street? or store them at home till expire?

it is not that they dun have the these nutrition but many dun want or resist of taking them, even they already have illness caused by lack of such nutrition.