2023 Honda Civic Type R Spied In All Its Winged, Piped Glory

kobayashiGT

The next-gen hot hatch will still stand out in a crowd.

2023-honda-civic-type-r-front-view-spy-p

The last couple of days have been busy in the Civic Type R world. Honda shared some "spy" photos, and then we caught video of the car in action sporting a single janky exhaust pipe. Not to fear, hot Honda fans – that pipe was just for testing purposes. A new round of decidedly unofficial Type R spy shots feature another red-wrapped prototype with all its production components, including the triple exhaust finishers out the back.

Whereas Honda offered up just a pair of photos, our spy photographer grabbed 14 as the prototype went by. We already know the next Type R won't be as flamboyant as the outgoing model, but these shots offer a bit more context as to just what that entails. The front fascia features a large lower intake flanked by a pair of side intakes that look clean and aggressive without being shouty. The theme continues along the sides where we see rocker trim with a winglet in front of the rear wheel, similar to the current model.

Spoiler

2023-honda-civic-type-r-side-view-spy-ph

2023-honda-civic-type-r-rear-view-spy-ph

The biggest difference comes at the rear. Yes, that spoiler is large and in-charge, but barring clever panels hiding vents under the camo wrap (which actually is a menagerie of Rs when you look close), we'll have a modest pair of side vents flanking the center-exit exhaust. It's a far cry from the current Type R with its large corner vents and a plethora of contrasting angles.

As for what's under the skin, expect to see a tweaked version of the current 2.0-liter turbocharged four-cylinder, turning just the front wheels with a six-speed manual. A slight bump in power is virtually guaranteed, but with front-wheel drive enduring as the order of the day, don't expect much more than the current Type R's 306 hp (228 kilowatts).

The wrap should come off sometime next year as a 2023 model.

More photos for your imagination.

Spoiler

this-2023-honda-civic-type-r-rendering-i

1 hour ago, PSP415 said:

Er... Photos very well hidden hor. Shy isit? Click click still cannot see. 😁😅

Stay safe 

no prob for me leh. What browser are you using? let me check check.

1 minute ago, kobayashiGT said:

no prob for me leh. What browser are you using? let me check check.

Okie now can see the photos of car liao. Probably they were planning to hide longer but got found out. 

Thanks for sharing. 👍

Stay safe 

21 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Is this pure ICE?

Or hybrid? 

Should be the same K20C1 Turbocharged engine that the FK8 is using currently.

3 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Should be the same K20C1 Turbocharged engine that the FK8 is using currently.

More importantly does it come in dct 

1 hour ago, Sdf4786k said:

More importantly does it come in dct 

I am pretty it is manual lah. hahaha.

Soichiro honda will come out from his grave if he know a type r is fitted with a DCT. 😂

But dct is use as a business case nowadays to advance the sales .. he probably get out from the grave and slap the product manager if it’s CVT on a type R

15 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

But dct is use as a business case nowadays to advance the sales .. he probably get out from the grave and slap the product manager if it’s CVT on a type R

I am sure if is a CVT, he will get the pioneer team that made the NSX type R all get out from their grave and hoot 9 the guy who put a CVT on a type R. I will fly to japan and add one more kick also. hahaha.

giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e47sc3qnwnbwvr7gdm217

7 hours ago, Koster said:

The current one looks fiercer than this. Well, I could be wrong until seeing the actual car.

actually I dun really like the FK8. it looks too "fierce" le. don't have the sleeper look in it.

Last time FD2R don't look so mean but still pack a punch. I like that kind of experience. hahaha.

12 minutes ago, D3badge said:

@kobayashiGT 

1st look remind me of the Honda Accord Euro R 😆

hahahaha. the headlight does have some resemblance. 😂

Woah! I am driving a car that have not been launch yet! hahahaahahahahahha

36 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

hahahaha. the headlight does have some resemblance. 😂

Woah! I am driving a car that have not been launch yet! hahahaahahahahahha

Nice 👍🏻 the Vtec legend saloon car 

15 hours ago, DylanChen said:

vtec turbo already so turn off

still wan dct.

还我9000转速 !!!!!

Take the vtec or ivtec equation out n you have one of the best turbo engine second to AMG45..

base on tech innovation, you have a cost effective n high output engine..

of course there are drawback to this engine like overheating on the track . But in order for a good business case n volume seller , a auto box is still the easiest to gain market share.

and if you follow some of the off shoot developments of the Honda engine.. it’s the equivalent of a 2jz from Toyota 

——

The Ariel Atom 3.5R is the upgraded version of the Ariel Atom producing 261 kW from a 1,998cc supercharged Honda engine which propels the 550 kg car to 100 km/h in 2.6 seconds and to a top speed of 249.45 km/h.

Engine: 1.8 L 190 hp Rover K-Series engine 2.0 L 245-bhp naturally aspirated or 31...

Curb weight: 612 kg (1,349 lb)

Transmission: 6-speed manual; 6-speed sequential manual

Edited by Sdf4786k