Increasing Price after COE release

Fitnessbuff

2nd hand car dealer always increases their price after COE released.

Example Sienta standard increase from $8k plus yearly to $9200 then best, after COE release become $9800 up. 

Now at this type of situation, some of us need vehicle for work purpose to earn a living and they do such things. 

Dont you think it is despicable and inhumane of them. 

That's the problem of our world class coe system. Used car depre is the same as new ones. If used car depre don't follow, nobody will buy new car when coe is high and vise versa.

Tell us something new. If you need  a car to earn a living, you should have bought it when car was cheaper, now is not the time to buy  car.  If sienta is  too expensive, buy something cheaper. Next question is do you really need a car to make a living ? If so, then no choice but to tighten your belt and  suck it up . I have been looking at buying a used car too but since now the used car price has increased, I scrap my plan. 

Edited by Ct3833

I don't see anything wrong with that. Maximizing profit is normal for any business, if they want to survive.

If want to blame, I can only say blame the buyers lor. When $8K plus you don't buy but choose to wait, now $9.8K LL have want to buy?

The converse is true.  If COE drops, used car sellers will also have to lower their car prices to make them attractive.  It is just market forces at work.

Another option is to look for cars that have + or - one  year COE left. The depreciation could be lower, but, you have to change car frequently.

the last time i wanted to buy a used car it was $9000 pa dep.

I waited,  Coe dropped, and the dealer lowered the price to $8000 Pa dep. I went there and f**k the dealer, how can he lower the price when COE drop, and no no no, I insisted I pay him base on $9000 pa dep. 

He called the police and IMH.

From then on , I only buy new....[:p][laugh][laugh]

• Haha! 21

20 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

the last time i wanted to buy a used car it was $9000 pa dep.

I waited,  Coe dropped, and the dealer lowered the price to $8000 Pa dep. I went there and f**k the dealer, how can he lower the price when COE drop, and no no no, I insisted I pay him base on $9000 pa dep. 

He called the police and IMH.

From then on , I only buy new....[:p][laugh][laugh]

Knn. Power leh. Lol. Best analogy

Whack them jialat jialat

Don't buy from them.

Teach the a lesson they will never forget.

1 hour ago, Fitnessbuff said:

Example Sienta standard increase from $8k plus yearly to $9200 then best, after COE release become $9800 up. 

Now at this type of situation, some of us need vehicle for work purpose to earn a living and they do such things. 

1 hour ago, Fitnessbuff said:

Unfortunately it is not rocket science.

22 minutes ago, Wildfaye29 said:

@Jamescas our resident MCF in-hse secondhand car dealer, please comment on TS' comment please

Some used car dealers never increase their price after COE released.

They always do it before!

Edited by Jamesc
  • Haha! 9

What job TS want to do need car?

PHV driver?

Anyway I support TS 100%

Oil price goes up and the power company increase their electricity prices.

Car is a want, electricity is a necessity.

So this cartoon and not human one.

image.png.bb0a4e3685ce2b3d7ad3e706ea8f85a9.png

2 hours ago, Fitnessbuff said:

conversely, if COE keeps dropping month after month, would you still be willing to pay dep 8k plus?

if not, don't you think it is despicable and inhumane of you to want to pay less?

Petrol price go up, electricity go up, food prices go up, etc etc etc

and only used car dealers get whacked!