Increasing Price after COE release

Fitnessbuff

After TS buys a car and have to fill up

he will open a thread on

Some of us need vehicle for work purpose to earn a living

and oil companies keep increase the price of petrol. 

Dont you think it is despicable and inhumane of them. 

TS got married and bought a house already huh?

Then he will open a thread on

Some of us need to get married and buy a house

and they keep increasing the price of homes. 

I would also 100% percent agree with him.

2 hours ago, Fitnessbuff said:

2nd hand car dealer always increases their price after COE released.

Example Sienta standard increase from $8k plus yearly to $9200 then best, after COE release become $9800 up. 

Now at this type of situation, some of us need vehicle for work purpose to earn a living and they do such things. 

Dont you think it is despicable and inhumane of them. 

I don’t think it is despicable and inhumane of them as they run a business not a charity. When COE is trending up and they try to take their profit but when COE trends down, who pities them for the depreciating cars on their inventory and the road tax and everything else they have to pay for every month?

IMO not worth to buy second hand car at high coe price if the paper value isnt there. imagine 2-3yrs later COE drop, u want scrap also no value. at least buy new with high COE, scrap liao got more $ take back.

Young people these days

got good education, got access to internet and all the news channels in the world,

got expensive tuition, got opportunity to travel and see different countries

and still don't know how to think

and ask questions like this!

Is it the parents or the teachers that failed them?

10 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

TS got married and bought a house already huh?

Then he will open a thread on

Some of us need to get married and buy a house

and they keep increasing the price of homes. 

I would also 100% percent agree with him.

more more more!

get married, have kids, milk powder price up, diaper price up, childcare price up, sch fee up, up up up

If used car business is so profitable as TS imagines

there would be no doctors, lawyers and bankers.

Why work so hard for so little money?

Just be a used car dealer lah

and make so much more money!

Why doctors, lawyers and bankers all so stupid one?

They so smart and make so little money

unlike used car dealers.

Why that Warren Buffett so stupid one.

He makes so little money buy and sell shares.

He should buy and sell used cars and then

he can make some decent money

and not live a pauper.

There is reality

and there is what people imagine.

The gap between reality and their imagination

is so huge I worry for the younger generation.

1 minute ago, Jamesc said:

Some people say there is 

no such thing as a stupid question.

Oh yes there is! 

got got confirm got

i attended a course that asked peepur to not be afraid of asking stupid questions!

TS has to ask himself one question

If used car dealers bought a lot of cars

at very high prices because of high COE

and COE went down what would happen

to all the used car dealers that are making

a huge loss?

Its just 2 sides of the same coin.

TS need to see both sides of his argument.

Oh yes there is! 

2 minutes ago, Wildfaye29 said:

got got confirm got

i attended a course that asked peepur to not be afraid of asking stupid questions!

Just ask the instructor if no such thing as stupid question

got such thing as stupid answer or not?

I agree with TS.

These arabs keep putting up the cost of oil

and with the millions what did they do?

Buy vaccines and give to Africa?

Buy food for hungry people in Africa?

Buy medicines for the poor people kenna Covid?

No they wasted their money buying Newcastle.

What a waste of hundreds of millions of pounds

Now isn't that despicable and inhumane?

2 hours ago, Fitnessbuff said:

Example Sienta standard increase from $8k plus yearly to $9200 then best, after COE release become $9800 up. 

Now at this type of situation, some of us need vehicle for work purpose to earn a living and they do such things. 

that's the way business is done. COE up, consumer eye second hand car
demand for second hand car increase, business man sure capitalize and up the price.
10 yrs back when there wasn't all the "zero growth" and "car lite" nonsense, where COE was below 10k or 10-20k region,
many second hand car dealers complained how to survive and true enough many folded since consumers went towards buying new
i'm not speaking up for second hand car dealers, to them that's the way they thrive. if there's demand, why not capitalize and make more money.
ethics - can take and become rice to eat?

3 hours ago, Fitnessbuff said:

It's just business. They will raise price as long as people are buying

Everytime COE gets to this level, we get many such kpkb posts, another $10k more and we will be reading many "innovative" schemes and or proposed improvement to the no longer working for me system in ST's forum.  

Why people never learn, we are not 神, don't wait to catch the bottom or maybe car is like house, the more expensive and higher the taxes (COE is a bloody tax), the more people cheong to buy.

Edited by Voodooman