Prawn Noodle Hawker Serves Free Meals To The Needy and Cleaners

Fitvip

Read about him in the Zhao Bao. I thought it is good to share this kind hearted hawker's good deed. Despite his business being badly hit by all the restrictions, he is still willing to help those needy and cleaners, giving them free meals!👍 I salute this Mr. Tan. His stall is at 01-287.

午市只卖五碗虾面 61岁小贩仍暖心助人

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/story20211028-1207935

20211028_news_prawnnoodles.jpg?VersionId

新加坡

剪辑 / 涂汶声/摄像 / 唐家鸿/编导 / 黎康

发布 / 2021年10月28日 7:39 PM

今年是61岁的陈国世在竹脚中心当小贩的第20个年头。2019年妻子去世后,膝下无子的陈国世独自撑起档口,起早贪黑辛苦经营。

然而疫情袭来,人流锐减,陈国世的生意也随之减半。往日忙碌的午餐时间,陈国世经常只能卖出五碗虾面。最糟糕的时候,甚至一碗都卖不出。

尽管如此,陈国世仍然关心他人,免费煮面给无依无靠的老人和小贩中心打扫的安娣吃。“这样可以减轻她们的负担,让她们有一碗温饱的面吃.

Below is Google translated:

Only five bowls of prawn noodles for lunch

Editing / Tu Wensheng/Camera / Tang Jiahong/Director / Li Kang

Release / October 28, 2021 7:39 PM

This year is 61-year-old Chen Guoshi's 20th year as a hawker in Zhujiao Center. After the death of his wife in 2019, Chen Guoshi, who had no children under his knees, set up the stall alone and started working hard in the morning.

However, when the epidemic hit, the flow of people dropped sharply, and Chen Guoshi's business also halved. During the busy lunch hours in the past, Chen Guoshi often only sells five bowls of prawn noodles. At the worst, even a bowl can't be sold.

Despite this, Chen Guoshi still cares about others and cooks noodles for free for helpless elderly people and Andi cleaned by the hawker center. "This can alleviate their burden and let them have a bowl of noodles to eat."

image.png

• Praise 16

Why sound so familiar?

Ok found it. Another prawn noodle hawker doing the same. Not very original marketing. Haha...

https://mothership.sg/2021/09/deannas-kitchen-free-prawn-mee/

deannas-kitchen.png

How come prawn mee hawkers ownself in need still want to give out free food? I have to say it grabs attention but if all the needy ppl  go all at once...have to borrow money from ah loong.

The prawns no cheap. Unless fish from longkang. That is FOC.

5 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Why sound so familiar?

Ok found it. Another prawn noodle hawker doing the same. Not very original marketing. Haha...

How come prawn mee hawkers ownself in need still want to give out free food? I have to say it grabs attention but if all the needy ppl  go all at once...have to borrow money from ah loong.

Noodles can keep, fish cake can keep, but prawns and vegetables have a shelf life. Rather than let it rot or sell substandard food to paying customers you need to turn over some of this food when business is really slow, might as well do a good deed and generate some publicity.

Singaporeans are either supportive and pay for their food or prideful and wouldn’t easily wish to be seen to be needy and begging, so it’s unlikely the stall will go bankrupt. 

11 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Why sound so familiar?

abit  different.

the 1 u posted, give to first 5 only till they close down. more like promotion plus charity to me.

the 1 ts posted give foc to needly and cleaner, ( i dun know if any limit)

18 minutes ago, Beregond said:

abit  different.

the 1 u posted, give to first 5 only till they close down. more like promotion plus charity to me.

the 1 ts posted give foc to needly and cleaner, ( i dun know if any limit)

I think if he run out of prawns for the day will be the limit.

21 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

Noodles can keep, fish cake can keep, but prawns and vegetables have a shelf life. Rather than let it rot or sell substandard food to paying customers you need to turn over some of this food when business is really slow, might as well do a good deed and generate some publicity.

Singaporeans are either supportive and pay for their food or prideful and wouldn’t easily wish to be seen to be needy and begging, so it’s unlikely the stall will go bankrupt. 

Prawns can store longer if kept in iced sugar and water mixture.

I learned from my mom. Seafood like fish if you add a few pieces rock cane sugar when you teochew steam the fish. Dont use salt.

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

Paid or free? 🤣🤣🤣

Some of us belong to the elderly category.. Free for them..

He has no children and his lost his wife to cancer. He is alone. 

Last time he could sell 300 to 400 bowls a day. Now, he was able to sell about 5 bowls only. Sometimes, none! His daily expenses was about $130. 

That means if he is unable to make more than $130 a day, he loses money.

How long can he hang on if his business does not pick up?

Edited by Fitvip

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Paid or free? 🤣🤣🤣

"免费煮面给无依无靠的老人和小贩中心打扫的安娣吃".......

Touch your heart and ask again.... <_<[laugh][laugh]

1 hour ago, Ender said:

Some of us belong to the elderly category.. Free for them..

16 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I belong to the needy category thou. hahaha.

Free for the elderly who are needy and lonely  hor.... 

I rather pay to eat, take it as half buy half free, to help out a little. 

I is elderly, but heng i is not elderly at heart and not lonely, and lagi heng not needy.... [:p][laugh][laugh]

13 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

"免费煮面给无依无靠的老人和小贩中心打扫的安娣吃".......

Touch your heart and ask again.... <_<[laugh][laugh]

Hmmm. But i am really 无依无靠 leh. 😂

I will pay first, maybe 20 years later go try again. 😂

20 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Free for the elderly who are needy and lonely  hor.... 

I rather pay to eat, take it as half buy half free, to help out a little. 

I is elderly, but heng i is not elderly at heart and not lonely, and lagi heng not needy.... [:p][laugh][laugh]

You elderly meh? You younger than me leh, and i still cannot touch my cpf.