COVID-19: Living with COVID (Endemic & Opening Up)

Carbon82

oh well

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/world/billionaires-share-global-wealth-soars-during-covid-19-pandemic-2363616?cid=FBcna&fbclid=IwAR107l1ri6XwtQ96Lc11R6ELoVgQ4ffhw6kRBQWLxBWlpXyYffAe25fUg5M

The share of global wealth of the world's richest people soared at a record pace during the COVID-19 pandemic, a report on inequality showed on Tuesday (Dec 7).

Since 1995, the slice held by billionaires has risen from 1 per cent to 3 per cent, according to the World Inequality Report.

This increase was exacerbated during the COVID pandemic. In fact, 2020 marked the steepest increase in global billionaires' share of wealth on record," the document said.

The club of the richest 1 per cent has taken more than a third of all additional wealth accumulated since 1995, while the bottom 50 per cent captured just two percent.

"After more than 18 months of COVID-19, the world is even more polarised," Lucas Chancel, co-director of the World Inequality Lab at the Paris School of Economics, told AFP.

"While the wealth of billionaires rose by more than €3.6 trillion (US$4 trillion), 100 million more people joined the ranks of extreme poverty," said Chancel, noting that extreme poverty had been previously falling for 25 years.

A real-time ranking by Forbes magazine shows that the top 10 richest people each have a net worth exceeding US$100 billion, with Tesla boss Elon Musk on top with around US$265 billion.

Only one of the men is not American - LVMH luxury group chief Bernard Arnault - and all but two are tech industry leaders whose fortunes have been turbocharged by soaring company share prices.

"EXACERBATED INEQUALITIES"

According to the report, the world's 52 richest individuals have seen the value of their wealth grow by 9.2 per cent per year for the past 25 years, well above less wealthy social groups.

35 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

Why our country leadership never demonstrate how to live with covid?

Got such a PM, I won’t be complaining. She can do whatever she want! 

I will listen and see whatever speech she’s giving. 😁

1 hour ago, Jellandross said:

imagine u are in a pub getting drunk and dancing away.

and that babe opposite is your country PM 😂

• Haha! 7

3 minutes ago, Beregond said:

I can officially say I rub shoulder with my PM before. 🤣

4 minutes ago, Didu said:

But auntie forgets G has to listen to the people every 4 years hor...

wonder next GE how....a lot of golden gen impacted that really support the G....or these could have been replaced with new C....🤣 

3 hours ago, Jellandross said:

Look chio leh...

Edited by Tohto

Seeing saliva coming out of mouth maybe a little erotic for some.   😁

Saliva testing available in Singapore for Covid-19 pre-departure tests of travellers

ak_slv_071221.jpg?itok=kClsCqS2&timestam

Saliva testing has recently been made available for use here as an option for Covid-19 pre-departure tests for travellers to certain countries which allow it. Local biomedical start-up Lucence has started working with clinics and telemedicine providers to offer saliva testing for those travelling overseas, The Straits Times has learnt. ST has contacted the Ministry of Health for more information.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/saliva-testing-approved-in-singapore-for-covid-19-pre-departure-tests-of-travellers

7 hours ago, Jellandross said:

'Finished' PM... :D

6 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Got such a PM, I won’t be complaining. She can do whatever she want! 

I will listen and see whatever speech she’s giving. 😁

Yah yah, you Lao TK. How you wish she will do this right? 

woman-holding-legs-apart-doing-exercises

I mean adopt an open door policy and have VTL with S'pore OK! What are you thinking? [grin] :D

5 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

I can officially say I rub shoulder with my PM before. 🤣

Chey rub shoulder only, got something more juicy or not, such as eating grapes, cheese pie, etc. I mean real fruit/food hor. Pubs have these right? :D

• Haha! 8

Please implement saliva testing at airport.

I don't like my nose being poked!

3 hours ago, Didu said:

Seeing saliva coming out of mouth maybe a little erotic for some.   😁

Saliva testing available in Singapore for Covid-19 pre-departure tests of travellers

ak_slv_071221.jpg?itok=kClsCqS2&timestam

Saliva testing has recently been made available for use here as an option for Covid-19 pre-departure tests for travellers to certain countries which allow it. Local biomedical start-up Lucence has started working with clinics and telemedicine providers to offer saliva testing for those travelling overseas, The Straits Times has learnt. ST has contacted the Ministry of Health for more information.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/saliva-testing-approved-in-singapore-for-covid-19-pre-departure-tests-of-travellers

1 hour ago, Jamesc said:

Please implement saliva testing at airport.

I don't like my nose being poked!

They should also quickly come out with a vaccine that don't have to be jabbed.

Maybe all the remaining unvax don't like to be poked !

Edited by Starry

7 hours ago, Beregond said:

mari kita together 😁

18 minutes ago, Starry said:

They should also quickly come out with a vaccine that don't have to be jabbed.

Maybe all the remaining unvax don't like to be poked !

Actually me too I hate injections

but had 3 shots.

Maybe they can invent a pill.