US-China First Ever Virtual Meeting

minion

Interesting read.

US continue to do "Let me tell what is your issue and what you shou do"

China has changed the communication style from "don't mess up with me or you will only regret" to "Don't be hypocritical. I know what's actually in your mind". More matured reply than the past.

https://www.straitstimes.com/world/united-states/us-china-talks-biden-raised-concerns-over-xinjiang-tibet-hong-kong-xi-warns-of

Besides Taiwan, the two leaders also touched on a host of other issues, with Mr Biden raising concerns over China’s governance of Xinjiang, Tibet and Hong Kong, as well as its trade practices that Washington has charged were unfair.

In turn, Mr Xi asked Mr Biden not to suppress Chinese enterprises in the name of national security, and said he was willing to discuss human rights issues but stressed that these should not be used to interfere in the domestic affairs of other countries.

https://www.straitstimes.com/world/united-states/biden-in-virtual-summit-with-xi-seeks-to-prevent-conflict

Mr Biden started first by saying it was the responsibility of both sides to ensure that the competition between the two countries “does not veer into conflict, whether intended or unintended”, according to a readout provided by the White House.

“Just simple, straightforward competition,” he said.

He called for some “commonsense guardrails”, and for the two countries to be “clear and honest where we disagree, and work together where our interests intersect”, citing issues like climate change.

The two countries issued a joint declaration at the recent COP26 climate summit in Glasgow, pledging to step up cooperation in cutting emissions.

In his opening remarks, Mr Xi described the two countries as being “at critical stages of development” and need to increase communication and cooperation as the world’s two largest economies and permanent members of the United Nations Security Council.

Saying he was happy to see “an old friend”, Mr Xi called for mutual respect and said he welcomed working with Mr Biden.

“We should each run our domestic affairs well and, at the same time, shoulder our share of international responsibilities and work together to advance the noble cause of world peace and development,” he said, based on a readout issued by the Chinese foreign ministry.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/biden-and-xi-agree-to-look-at-possible-arms-control-talks

US concerned about China is nuclear and missile build-up

Mr Biden and President Xi agreed to "look to begin to carry forward discussion on strategic stability", Mr Sullivan said in a reference to US concerns about China's nuclear and missile build-up.

Edited by minion

If USA don't poke, there is nothing to talk. Notice they are focusing on other people biz instead of their own. Blacks in american no human rights? Hot pot calling the kettle black is best used here

read the latest report, nothing is achieve la. no wonder xi dun want do a face to face meeting with those ppl. look at cop26

china is only going to deal with usa on equal terms. if usa believe they have the upper hand and want more from the bargain , its not going to work.

the nuclear missile issue is a very good example. usa complain china build up nuke. china say fine, we talk about it, to be fair , both of usa and china keep the same amount of nuke, usa stop talking.

the political instability also make it almost impossible to have a proper deal. can biden promise the next usa president that take over him will not tear up any treaty sign by him?? 

16 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Why USA poking its nose on Taiwan issue .... :ouch-it-hurts:

Dosen't learned their lessons when engaged with Afghan, Iraq, Seria, Africian countries, ... etc.    :lll._.: 

Since 1979 le

https://www.straitstimes.com/world/united-states/biden-sparks-fresh-confusion-over-us-policy-towards-taiwan?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&fbclid=IwAR12FoPaPdAWoLFatXhqyLM3MuCHWh51RdQ88Mf0ikbIitYnLexbc5DsT8U

Mr Biden said the self-governing island is "independent" before backtracking hours later saying: "We are not encouraging independence."

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

11 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

He had similar blunder during Townhall meeting.

State Dept has to put out the fire.

19 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

told you all not to arrange important meeting in the evening liao, long pass his sleeping time.

• Haha! 8

24 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

those share holder will go crazy  by his talk. 1 min say TW is independent , every1 thought siao liao, going to war with china, stock crash .

next hours, no no , we dun encourage tw independent. stock rise again 😂

5 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

told you all not to arrange important meeting in the evening liao, long pass his sleeping time.

he never wake up from his dream... sleeping all day liao

they should organise majong session la..... informal. drink eat pong!

anything also can say feel feel each other no offence. later then formal talk...😆