Do you know Mazda have a Luxury division called Amati???

kobayashiGT

amati_logo.jpg

Mazda Amati logo.

eunos-cosmo-brochure-1.jpg?resize=600,29

The initial Amati products would have been the Amati 500 (which became the Mazda Millenia), and the Amati 1000 (a new rear wheel drive V12 successor to the Mazda 929). This never happened, leaving the near-luxury Millenia to the Mazda brand.

29 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

amati_logo.jpg

Mazda Amati logo.

The initial Amati products would have been the Amati 500 (which became the Mazda Millenia), and the Amati 1000 (a new rear wheel drive V12 successor to the Mazda 929). This never happened, leaving the near-luxury Millenia to the Mazda brand.

I think they are good cars, but let down by poor marketing efforts.

Wasn't aware of this, but I know of the Eunos (Cosmo, Roadster AKA Miata AKA MX-5), Autozam (AZ-1) and Efini (RX-7) sub-brands all thanks to Gran Turismo 2 way back in 1999!

image.png.1e2b9c603af934675cb38d6e3abf3df8.png

image.png.05f61aaf43498526101e82155df8d84e.png

image.png.82df6d0c7ceef1ccb6a4e701855db84c.png

image.png.09adbb708fc56959169281bb9a870c6e.png

I've probably wasted spent a good half of my childhood on this game. Hands down, it's still the best Gran Turismo title to date.

3 minutes ago, enzoalec92 said:

Wasn't aware of this, but I know of the Eunos (Cosmo, Roadster AKA Miata AKA MX-5), Autozam (AZ-1) and Efini (RX-7) sub-brands all thanks to Gran Turismo 2 way back in 1999!

image.png.1e2b9c603af934675cb38d6e3abf3df8.png

image.png.05f61aaf43498526101e82155df8d84e.png

image.png.82df6d0c7ceef1ccb6a4e701855db84c.png

image.png.09adbb708fc56959169281bb9a870c6e.png

I've probably wasted spent a good half of my childhood on this game. Hands down, it's still the best Gran Turismo title to date.

woah the graphic! hahaha. So nostalgia sia. hahahah

20 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

not Mazdaspeed meh ... oops ... that's to fight with Type-R, TRD and Nismo .... LOL

I'd say it's more like Mugen rather than Type R, since the latter is a specific model trim rather than an in-house - although not really because Mugen has never been owned by Honda despite it being started by the founder's son - tuner.

If you wanna get more obscure, I'd say Spoon, Tom's and Autech are also applicable as factory-supported tuners to the marques you brought up, once again all thanks to the car encyclopedia that was Gran Turismo 2! 🧐

image.png.545be9d52e6f26b0b06a1c0b2fcb92bc.png

image.png.7fec651b17af5827312810617eed74c1.png

image.png.6db0838e54cd53830697ad84970ded3e.png

Oh man, I'm way too obsessed with this game! 😂

Edited by enzoalec92
Grammar

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

amati_logo.jpg

Mazda Amati logo.

I think Acura, infinity and this what Amati? All fail in marketing a distinguish brand equity for their luxury arm.

Lexus, they can’t be bother fighting the German on performance, but market Lexus as quality build and finish, comfort and Japanese Takumi for consumer to associate Lexus with.

Edited by D3badge

12 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

amati_logo.jpg

Mazda Amati logo.

Marketing disaster. They already have many sub brands targeting at different segment, so why the need to create another one (especially against ɛ̃fini)? 

ɛ̃fini (1991 - 1997)

Luxury vehicle division (MS-6, MS-8, MS-9, RX-7, MPV)

Eunos (1989 - 1996)

Upscale fun to drive line (100, 300, 500, 800, Cosmo, Lantis, Presso, Roadster)

Autozam (1989 - 1998)

Kei / compact cars (AZ-1, AZ-3, AZ Wagon, Carol, Clef, Revue, Scrum)

M2 / Mazda Two (1991 - 1995)

Customised part and tuning divison (1001, 1002, 1003, etc.)

2 hours ago, D3badge said:

I think Acura, infinity and this what Amati? All fail in marketing a distinguish brand equity for their luxury arm.

Lexus, they can’t be bother fighting the German on performance, but market Lexus as quality build and finish, comfort and Japanese Takumi for consumer to associate Lexus with.

Did you forget

LFA

LC

😂

7 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Did you forget

LFA

LC

😂

Hahah yeah but the real performance crazy consumers will goes for AMG, BMW M etc as LEXUS won’t be their shopping lists

In the 80s & early 90s, the japs were on a roll

Toyota = Lexus (still feels like it sometimes)

Honda = Acura (badge engineering for the yanks)

Datsun = Infiniti (had to do big triple jump, trip & fell along the way)

Mitsubishi = tried to jump into bed w Volvo (produced mutant lovechild)

Mazda = Amati (ahh....mati liao)

Just now, D3badge said:

Hahah yeah but the real performance crazy consumers will goes for AMG, BMW M etc as LEXUS won’t be their shopping lists

That's true.

LC500 is one of the last surviving NA V8 in the market now.

The next LC500 will be a V6 twin-turbo.

Lastly, there are too many ///M & AMG on the road.

14 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

That's true.

LC500 is one of the last surviving NA V8 in the market now.

The next LC500 will be a V6 twin-turbo.

Lastly, there are too many ///M & AMG on the road.

Cars sales of Acura, Infiniti and Lexus in USA from 2006 to 2015….Amati extinction 😅

https://www.goodcarbadcar.net/acura-vs-lexus-vs-infiniti-usa-sales-2006-2015/

8 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

Marketing disaster. They already have many sub brands targeting at different segment, so why the need to create another one (especially against ɛ̃fini)? 

ɛ̃fini (1991 - 1997)

Luxury vehicle division (MS-6, MS-8, MS-9, RX-7, MPV) 

Eunos (1989 - 1996)

Upscale fun to drive line (100, 300, 500, 800, Cosmo, Lantis, Presso, Roadster)

Autozam (1989 - 1998)

Kei / compact cars (AZ-1, AZ-3, AZ Wagon, Carol, Clef, Revue, Scrum) 

M2 / Mazda Two (1991 - 1995)

Customised part and tuning divison (1001, 1002, 1003, etc.)

I am quite proud that I stay in Eunos area. :D