1 dead, 4 injured Mercedes crashes through railing at Tampines junction

Jellandross

2 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Drink driving - at most jailed 1, 2 year again. No deterrent value.

Sometimes I do wonder, what is effective deterrent. 

Cos increase jail, still come out, can buy another car, even faster. 

Increase fine, usually rich parents can afford. They sometimes gift supercars, sports car or just loads of money to son, daughter. 

Can technology prevent a drunk from driving his/her car? Usually can bypass or mod? Forced to call for valet.

Probably rottan?  5 minimum. For each life severely handicapped or dead, add 5 more each. Parents who spoil their children from young will have the government to minister the rod.

No pain no wake up? 

Lifetime driving ban? You deprived another the rights to drive forever, its fair that you should never get to drive again. Heck, consider lucky that you dun get hanged. If kpkb about his/her human rights here, please pass him/her a long rope to end his/her inability to carry on with his/her life. 

I wish speedy recovery to all injured, hope the biker will have a strong will to live and loved ones willing to help him with life ahead.

And condolences to the family of the decreased. 

Stay safe. Drive safe. 

31 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/1-dead-4-injured-after-accident-at-junction-of-tampines-ave-1-and-tampines-ave-10

Haiz. 

Pls dun drink drive. Its a matter of time u hurt yourself and innocent ppl with you. 

Let all go home safe and well. Drive defensively and dun be distracted.

Accidents sometimes do drop hints, like dun speed, dun tailgate, dun look at phones etc and when it comes, no warning. Sometimes it's time to go too, that one is dun go oso cannot. 

Stay safe all 

For nothing the white car and the m/cyclist kena. Btw, who is the deceased? white car driver or m/cyclist?

13 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

In the video most drivers are well behaved. Then came the drunk driver crashing at top speed. RIP to the guy killed by this moron.

Sometimes I am thinking what is the point for us to drive safe and then this happen. There is no justice. 

Dun think like that lah. More wrongs, loss of lives is not going to right anything. 

We just do our part to drive defensively and tell our loved ones daily we love them before leaving house. 

Ppl can drop dead anytime, not necessarily in an accident.

That's life.

So, we live carelessly since dead in a  matter of short time? No lah. Precisely because its so short, time here is even more precious. 

Stay safe and always cherish loved ones. 

Edited by PSP415

2 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

For nothing the white car and the m/cyclist kena. Btw, who is the deceased? white car driver or m/cyclist?

White car uncle. 

16 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

Sometimes I do wonder, what is effective deterrent. 

Cos increase jail, still come out, can buy another car, even faster. 

Increase fine, usually rich parents can afford. They sometimes gift supercars, sports car or just loads of money to son, daughter. 

Can technology prevent a drunk from driving his/her car? Usually can bypass or mod? Forced to call for valet.

Probably rottan?  5 minimum. For each life severely handicapped or dead, add 5 more each. Parents who spoil their children from young will have the government to minister the rod.

No pain no wake up? 

Lifetime driving ban? You deprived another the rights to drive forever, its fair that you should never get to drive again. Heck, consider lucky that you dun get hanged. If kpkb about his/her human rights here, please pass him/her a long rope to end his/her inability to carry on with his/her life. 

I wish speedy recovery to all injured, hope the biker will have a strong will to live and loved ones willing to help him with life ahead.

And condolences to the family of the decreased. 

Stay safe. Drive safe. 

What is an effective deterrent? The death sentence. Simple. A life for a life. 

4 minutes ago, Comage said:

What is an effective deterrent? The death sentence. Simple. A life for a life. 

Sometimes accidents Do happen which is not planned, unlike murder and drugs trafficking. 

Eg. A heart attack whilst driving which ended up with a death of another or

To avoid hitting someone who dashed onto the road, ended up killing another. Who should die? The driver and the one who dashed out? 

It's not an eye for an eye world that we want, otherwise most of us probably be blind soon. 

Stay safe 

it's time to change the laws to deal with these reckless drunk speedster

charge them with manslaughter

really no justice if this cb red merc driver is slapped with only a fine, few weeks' jail and a few years' driving ban

3 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

Sometimes accidents Do happen which is not planned, unlike murder and drugs trafficking. 

To avoid hitting someone who dashed onto the road, ended up killing another. Who should die? The driver and the one who dashed out? 

It's not an eye for an eye world that we want, otherwise most of us probably be blind soon. 

Stay safe 

I know... And I didn't mean these real accidents where the driver passed out due to a sudden health issue or what, and collided into someone else who died. 

This guy was arrested for drink driving - these acts should be given death sentence especially if another innocent life is taken. 

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

Drink driving - at most jailed 1, 2 year again. No deterrent value.

should cane too. its no different to manslaughter, IMHO.

Edited by Mkl22

28 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

Stay safe 

your example is different. this is drink driving. i will equate it to manslaughter.

https://tnp.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/1-dead-4-injured-after-accident-junction-tampines-ave-1-and-tampines-ave-10

Footage circulating online showed that the accident involved four cars, a taxi and a motorcycle, and that it involved what appears to be a red Mercedes car crashing through a railing at a traffic light.

The police said that it was alerted to the incident at about 11.10pm. The 59-year-old male driver was unconscious and conveyed to the hospital, where he later died from his injuries.

Four other men, aged between 22 and 38, were conscious when sent to Changi General Hospital.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force, whichwas alerted to the incident at 11.10pm, said that a person was found trapped in the driver's seat of a car and rescued using hydraulic rescue equipment.

A 33-year-old male driver has been arrested for suspected drink-driving, said the police.

Police investigations are ongoing.

• Angry 1
  • Shocked 5
  • Sad 1