Singapore: Is it really the most expensive place to live?

SGMCF328

Do you agree with the reasoning put up by gov.sg?  

53 members have voted

1. 1. Do you agree with the reasoning put up by gov.sg?

• Yes
    • Partially
    • No
    • I don't care

Just a gentle reminder to buy health/medical insurance when everyone  is still young.

As age catches up, health issues start to surface and our lovely little red dot will become more expensive to live in, if one is not too well-covered by insurance.

13 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

What I do not like is that we are at the mercy of oil prices. So many things are linked to it.

the thing is oil price up, everything up.

oil price down, still everything go up

my liqui moly engine oil svcing also up.

( but frankly speaking tyres price have been dropping )

12 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

Yeah lor, nowadays our scholars so smart to make people wait for 4 years lor, so that the resale market is active. Old days, so stupid build ready for us. 

No one will repeat MBT "mistake"

5 minutes ago, Kopites said:

BTO merely an acronym. I noticed hardly any BTO under subscribed.

It should remane as BTS...build to sell. 😁

It is build whenever there is demand.  

It is surprising to see oversubscription despite an aging population.

4 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Just a gentle reminder to buy health/medical insurance when everyone  is still young.

As age catches up, health issues start to surface and our lovely little red dot will become more expensive to live in, if one is not too well-covered by insurance.

Health insurance should be bought once graduated from Uni.

Nowadays, no more ZERO co-payment.

34 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

This afternoon I just had my Cai Png lunch at Changcheng coffeeshop downstairs -> Really.

Rice + 1 meat + 2 vegetables  = S$2.40.

Used a small thermoflask to Tabao kopi home to drink for 1 whole afternoon at S$1.20.

Total price for a meal  (Cai png + kopi) = S$3.60.  Quite Filling.

I stay directly next to an MRT station, so transport is accessible.  There are easily 5 clinics near my place, within 5 minutes' of walking.

If I can't afford private clinic, I just go to the nearest polyclinic.  I go there in the morning and book a time to see the doctor in the afternoon.  No need to wait for too long as I just need to turn up again at the stipulated time-slot.  Cough and running nose medicine at Polyclinic is very much cheaper.

Child's primary school misc fee is S$6.50 per month.

I stay in an HDB, so when the toilet ceiling leaks, I just call the HDB/Town Council for repair at subsidized rate.

Quite affordable, if we don't ask for much.

Can't say the same for anyone who stay in private property at atas location though. 

You not scare IRAS coming after you ?.😃

Just now, inlinesix said:

I wish I am a scholar.

My little interactions with you shows you are. Just need to be a bit 'street smart' and be more open. Listen to the good and bad before closing off.

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

It is build whenever there is demand.  

It is surprising to see oversubscription despite an aging population.

Devil is in the details. 👏👏

It is surprising to see oversubscription despite  "falling birth rate" for decades. 😁

I

3 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

You not scare IRAS coming after you ?.😃

No scared, no scared.  All taxes that need to be paid, have been paid dutifully.

Just like all mcf bros here, we are all very responsible citizens.  We don't claim for anything unnecessary.

4 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

My little interactions with you shows you are. Just need to be a bit 'street smart' and be more open. Listen to the good and bad before closing off.

Listen your on the ground view will not change anything.

Tell me how to beat the system will be better.

Just now, inlinesix said:

Listen your on the ground view will not change anything.

Tell me how to beat the system will be better.

Through votes. Otherwise suck thumb and complain here 😅

2 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

Through votes. Otherwise suck thumb and complain here 😅

Currently, can't even block constitution change.

Really can suck thumb especially after COP

A bit of digression here, our public housing and  social welfare system are quite comprehensive , look at those developed countries and cities,  there are many beggars  and homeless on the street, in this aspect our government have done a good job.  Not that i am so pro PAP but i have to give them the due  credits for doing the good job .

17 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Devil is in the details. 👏👏

It is surprising to see oversubscription despite  "falling birth rate" for decades. 😁

I

new citizens lah. 30k a year. 

7 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Currently, can't even block constitution change.

Really can suck thumb especially after COP

Well if majority of Singporeans prefer to suck, we have to follow. Meanwhile we enjoy our complaining lah

11 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

A bit of digression here, our public housing and  social welfare system are quite comprehensive , look at those developed countries and cities,  there are many beggars  and homeless on the street, in this aspect our government have done a good job.  Not that i am so pro PAP but i have to give them the due  credits for doing the good job .

thats because sgp is playing the same game as china cities.. or rather the other way round.

make sure there is a way for people to get loans to buy house. thats the only way to minimise homelessness. once almost everyone is in the game, housing price will be well supported. cannot drop.. only way is if population drop. supply demand unbalance.

also use cpf. 25% salary locked up, only way to use it is buy hdb.

Edited by Nolicense