Singapore: Is it really the most expensive place to live?

SGMCF328

Do you agree with the reasoning put up by gov.sg?  

53 members have voted

1. 1. Do you agree with the reasoning put up by gov.sg?

• Yes
    • Partially
    • No
    • I don't care

24 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

The research funding isn't quite a small amount.😅

Making SG a liveable and sustainable city.....

I think all these not going to make SG more affordable 😂

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/s66m-set-aside-explore-ways-make-spore-more-liveable-including-using-space-underground-and-sea-1958031

No need lah. We just buy over sri lanka lah. Then we have bigger land.

The ex president is in SG right? hahaha. Ask him open a price lah. hahahahaha. 

2 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

He probably said "I'll take the $66m".

Then we can build a bridge there? 

Probably going to cost $6B just on research 😅

Think by boat and plane will be more economical....

31 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

What do we do with 22m ppl on the island now?

3 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Great question! 😁

Industrialised all major agriculture or aquaculture sectors. Take over 80% of small-scale independent business into co-operative. 

Expand tea plantation...Plant more tea.... Ceylon tea.

Expand seafood industry....Export more seafood.... especially crabs😂

Take over all major industries with GLCs. 

Invest in commercial, hospitality properties.... upgrade tourism sector. 

Make it a tax haven and allow financial sector to flourish, pulling funds from South Asia and Indochina. 

Develop public housing 

Develop private residential for those in middle income group from these different industries and sectors. 

Open the lower cost labour (but skilled labour) to SG. 😂😂

Edited by Atonchia

14 hours ago, inlinesix said:

good question. :grin:

We outsource lor. Who need to build skyscraper we will be there. 😎

4 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

we should buy a piece of Australia. They have too much empty land and We buy a piece use it as backup. What if one day someone wants to attack us, where do we run to? 

Aust will sell us their outback.

I wouldn’t solely use parking fees as a factor to judge that New York City is more expensive. Parking in most major cities are horrendously expensive be it New York, Sydney or Hong Kong, whereas there is plentiful free parking in the suburbs. Most people who work in the CBD would take the subway to get to work, even mid-management types.

One piece of Cat B COE can buy quite a lot of parking…

I think no country can compete against us for private car ownership cost.  😁 Ours really no horse run.

24 minutes ago, Didu said:

I think no country can compete against us for private car ownership cost.  😁 Ours really no horse run.

Including our ministers salaries. :D 

36 minutes ago, Didu said:

On 1 hand, we can remove COE and jam until kee siao.

On the other hand, we can have COE like lucky draw.  A lot of ppl may not even have the chance to own a car.

Don't try to be complicated.

12 minutes ago, jcmm said:

Including our ministers salaries. :D 

I believe some dead person said it is to deter corruption.

You don't want Sg to be like MY right?

😜

We just leave the COE out of the picture.

Compare food price, public transport including Uber, house rental.. everything here become so cheap.

Edited by Tohto

4 hours ago, Tohto said:

We just leave the COE out of the picture.

Compare food price, public transport including Uber, house rental.. everything here become so cheap.

I am now in Tokyo. If you compare their normal shop food against ours, I think here in Japan is slightly cheaper and better quality. ¥1,000+ set we won't be able to match. Of course they don't have our hawker centers. 

8 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

I am now in Tokyo. If you compare their normal shop food against ours, I think here in Japan is slightly cheaper and better quality. ¥1,000+ set we won't be able to match. Of course they don't have our hawker centers. 

i just return last week ... 1000 yen is like their "ceiling" for staple meal ... :grin:

yummy ramen at 700-850 yen ... big portion [thumbsup]  ... that's their daily hawker meal

500-550 yen meal also have ... but pretty much basic