MOH Will Start Grading All Drinks in S’pore from A to D by End-2022

kobayashiGT

These days, it’s not only your assignments that will be graded: even your drinks will also be graded as well.

With the Ministry of Health (MOH) latest “drink grading system”, you’ll be able to easily tell which drinks are the healthiest with just a glance.

From 30 December 2022, when we’ve all probably taken 20 booster jabs, all drinks will be graded with either an A, B, C or D, with A being the healthiest and D being the unhealthiest.

All drinks, including soft drinks, fruit juices and juice drinks, milk and yogurt drinks, and even instant powdered beverages, will receive a grade, specifically, “Nutri-Grade”

The drinks will also have a nutrition label specifying:

• Energy value
  • Amounts of protein
  • Carbohydrate
  • Fat
  • Total Sugar
  • Saturated Fat

D-Grade Cannot be Advertised 

Just like your failing grades, the drinks with D-grade cannot be advertised on media platforms.

However, if you were to go into a store with such drinks, they can still be advertised with posters.

Drinks graded with C or D will also be required to carry the Nutri-Grade mark on the front of the packaging. If the drinks are sold in a vending machine, in a dispenser or online, the grades will have to be displayed in a prominent manner.

In short, the grades have to be visible and not hidden at a corner, under the can or worse, in the can.

Why the Graded Drinks?

The new changes are implemented to help consumers identify beverages lower in sugar and saturated fats. This help consumers make more informed decisions in hopes of them making healthier choices.

Additionally, they do not want the media to advertise consumer preferences on unhealthy drinks anymore. This will spur industry reformulation aka no more clickbaity drinks advertisements.

The Government Gazette has published the regulations and it will come into force a year later.

This period of time was given to help companies adapt to the new requirements and reformulate their products to a healthier version.

If these companies still refuse to put the grades on their drinks by the end of next year, they will be fined a maximum of S$1,000 if they are first-time offenders.

If they still did not learn their lesson after the first offence, they will be fined up to S$2,000.

Source: https://goodyfeed.com/drink-graded/

now all the drinks need to take exam also liao. 😂

giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e47g3jo3ico0e7eyqmowu

They should grade the bubble tea.. 

I very very seldom drink. Even 25% is too sweet for me. Need to be kosong.

Not sure how those drink with 100%.

Should have done this long ago.  I avoid soft drinks (carbonated) drinks as much as I can ......regardless whether it is diet version or not.

But don't stop at can drinks. How about rating bubble tea too?

Edited by Starry

21 minutes ago, Tohto said:

BUBBLE TEA . all graded 'F'

I  see they dare to grade or not. Or wayang only😆

1 minute ago, Beregond said:

BUBBLE TEA . all graded 'F'

I  see they dare to grade or not. Or wayang only😆

How about kopitiam? 🤣

Kopi - D
Kopi siew dai - C
Kopi c siew dai -B
Kopi 0 kosong -A

1 minute ago, kobayashiGT said:

How about kopitiam? 🤣

Kopi - D
Kopi siew dai - C
Kopi c siew dai -B
Kopi 0 kosong -A

Kopi C kosong is what ...

bubble tea got around 8-11 teaspoon of sugar inside, dun give me story the bubble tea u drink is healthy version, no sugar

Go and imagine how much 8 or 11 teaspoon of sugar is how much , say  week a teenagers drink 3 times. 

If he is not those super active in sports type. All the problems coming up when he reach 40.

54 minutes ago, Tohto said:

whenever i want to drink bbt, i will have the oolong tea zero sweetness with coffee jelly, the coffee jelly come with slight sweet and bitter taste, i dun think the sugar level will be high.

Unlike the Taiwanese, sg people dun really drink bbt like water, they can drink bbt 5 time or more a day [sweatdrop]

• Shocked 3

35 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

I always got D in skool so I will only drink drinks like me.

To remind myself, next time I will not engage "D" when driving!:XD:

Btw, for many years, we do not have sugar in our house. We don't buy it. 

But  there are still sugar intakes. Mine mostly come from, sweet fruits, titbits, biscuits, rice, 3 in 1 coffee etc...

Next time must try kosong ones.

Edited by Fitvip

I love banana and papaya.

Should grade them according to sweetness level or maybe origin. 😁

Edited by Kopites

32 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

To remind myself, next time I will not engage "D" when driving!:XD:

Btw, for many years, we do not have sugar in our house. We don't buy it. 

But  there are still sugar intakes. Mine mostly come from, sweet fruits, titbits, biscuits, rice, 3 in 1 coffee etc...

Next time must try kosong ones.

Wow that is very discipline. 

We switch to brown sugar 

1 hour ago, Jman888 said:

whenever i want to drink bbt, i will have the oolong tea zero sweetness with coffee jelly, the coffee jelly come with slight sweet and bitter taste, i dun think the sugar level will be high.

Unlike the Taiwanese, sg people dun really drink bbt like water, they can drink bbt 5 time or more a day [sweatdrop]

One cup is about $5. If drink 5 cup a day is like $25 leh.

Exceeded my daily food money liao. 🤣

12 minutes ago, Playtime said:

hmm.... think start grading our mayors, ministers, MPs etc will have a bigger national impact 😆

ya. i would love to give them performance grading. 😁