ICA Seizes Illegally Imported Bak Kwa From M’sia, Advises S’poreans To Buy From Approved Retailers

kobayashiGT

2 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Best is not to keep any food for long use, just buy what is needed to cook for few days and finish cooking them. If want to cook, buy again. Lol.

Yeah, we are fortunate. We dont have to travel far for groceries. Hawker centers and coffeeshops are abundant. Hence we dont have to stored a lot of food in the fridge.

3 hours ago, t0y0ta said:

Why is SG still banning Malaysia pork?

This does not seem to be based on logic but more on $$

No QC pork you still want to eat ?  :slow:

1 hour ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

No QC pork you still want to eat ?  :slow:

Same as crossing over there to eat. Same thing. What QC? After all, pork is imported from many other sources/countries which could be equally questionable and unreliable.

The difference? Malaysia is nearer and people could easily go over there to buy (pre-covid) - thus allowing free access to their bak kwa or whatever, will affect businesses here offering the same thing at higher prices.

But malaysia govt did not complain of unfair non-competitive practices, so what to do? The ban remains.

Edited by Sosaria

3 hours ago, Watwheels said:

The shelf life of grilled meat is typically 3-4 days stored in the fridge.

I have to say the handling of the M'sia bak kwa is questionable.

Look at how bak kwa shops store the raw meat in freezer before taking out to grill. Even that has shelf life of 4-6months freezer storage.

Luckily US FDA has a chart on storing all your food and meats. Print this out and put on your fridge.

https://www.fda.gov/media/74435/download

Actually what we see ppl do on TV is they put the food in containers / zip-lock and labelling them with dates, it is a good practice. If you are planning to keep some food for longer use it is good to label them.

This one is daily grill one. You buy one is just now he grill one 

https://pengguan.com.sg/

you go the Chinatown hawker center. The guy Peng kan the meat. Go during normal day is the bestest. Cny don’t buy

Edited by Mustank

4 hours ago, Somewhat1975 said:

Bak Kwa is processed pork. No virus can survive bak kwa's grilling process. 

even the fried chicken from KFC is not allowed to enter Sg. what kind of virus can survive under oil frying conditions?  either the AVA is a bunch of morons or the ban is politically motivated.

ya lor. Ask AVA to find one covid patient and deep fried the person.

See if the virus survive anot. 🤣

21 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

ya lor. Ask AVA to find one covid patient and deep fried the person.

See if the virus survive anot. 🤣

Unker, no more AVA.

It is SFA.

5 hours ago, Somewhat1975 said:

Bak Kwa is processed pork. No virus can survive bak kwa's grilling process. 

even the fried chicken from KFC is not allowed to enter Sg. what kind of virus can survive under oil frying conditions?  either the AVA is a bunch of morons or the ban is politically motivated.

cannot buy KFC and bring in? i bought a few time from the KFC last R&R before Tuas and bring in.

2 hours ago, Sosaria said:

Same as crossing over there to eat. Same thing. What QC? After all, pork is imported from many other sources/countries which could be equally questionable and unreliable.

The difference? Malaysia is nearer and people could easily go over there to buy (pre-covid) - thus allowing free access to their bak kwa or whatever, will affect businesses here offering the same thing at higher prices.

But malaysia govt did not complain of unfair non-competitive practices, so what to do? The ban remains.

go in and eat or buy is personal choice, smuggle/bring in to sell is affecting the unaware public if anything happen.

5 hours ago, Lala81 said:

But u can buy from authorised stall n use cdc voucher to offset the purchase.. so why go thru the hassle?

8 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

go in and eat or buy is personal choice, smuggle/bring in to sell is affecting the unaware public if anything happen.

A lot of times, there are ready buyer.

These buyers know upfront about it.

25 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

A lot of times, there are ready buyer.

These buyers know upfront about it.

there is a different between buyer n end consumer of the bak kwa.

I say X ray people's bellies when they cross back to SG.

Look for KFC, eggs, bak kwa and bak kut teh.

If a person took drugs in MY and when they cross the Causeway

with drugs still in their blood stream they are charged.

Let's check people's stomachs too!

Even car tank check for 3/4 full right? That's like the car's stomach.

1 minute ago, Jamesc said:

I say X ray people's bellies when they cross back to SG.

Look for KFC, eggs, bak kwa and bak kut teh.

If a person took drugs in MY and when they cross the Causeway

with drugs still in their blood stream they are charged.

Let's check people's stomachs too!

Even car tank check for 3/4 full right? That's like the car's stomach.

Check body for oil also ☹️

11 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Alamak, I bought this leh, ok or not?

xiang_wei_bak_kwa_1610942683_56381e83_pr

Ok la.

I open 2 pack of 林志源 already , i really cannot feel they are any special compare to other brand, 😅