Putin starts “military operation” on Ukraine

happy_man

Putin gave a UK reporter a lesson about Russian history and views today after the breakup of USSR.

The usually calm nature is totally gone in this press conference - He is clearly drawing a deep red line over Ukraine crisis with NATO/US. [thumbsup]

I did some fact checking what Putin had said during the conference in last Dec.  😜

Jan 2010 - Poland to Deploy U.S. Missiles Near Russia

....an undisclosed number of missiles would be deployed in the vicinity of Morag, in northern Poland, just 35 miles from the Russian enclave of Kaliningrad...

https://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/22/world/europe/22poland.html

Putin is fearing he will become irrelevant.

Why does Ukraine matters to him?

Ukraine is to put it simply the democratic and free part of Russia. It is Russia2.0 vs Putin's Russia which is authoritarian rule.

Ukraine succeeded in becoming a democracy and its ppl enjoying the freedom of the democratic govt. Russians as a whole will see that Putin's Russia as a failure state with its rigid one person rule. That threatens his position. He is fast becoming irrelevant. Ukraine has the backing of the NATO, EU and the US. It makes it even more political. And it is right at Putin's Russian Western doorstep. It is kinda similar to China-Taiwan issue. If you see it that way you will understand why Ukraine matters so much to Putin.

12 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Putin is fearing he will become irrelevant.

Why does Ukraine matters to him?

Ukraine is to put it simply the democratic and free part of Russia. It is Russia2.0 vs Putin's Russia which is authoritarian rule.

Ukraine succeeded in becoming a democracy and its ppl enjoying the freedom of the democratic govt. Russians as a whole will see that Putin's Russia as a failure state with its rigid one person rule. That threatens his position. He is fast becoming irrelevant. Ukraine has the backing of the NATO, EU and the US. It makes it even more political. And it is right at Putin's Russian Western doorstep. It is kinda similar to China-Taiwan issue. If you see it that way you will understand why Ukraine matters so much to Putin.

Have to address russian insecurity over NATO facilities coming right up to their doorstep. If Ukraine can commit to neutrality, it would greatly defuse the situation.

This is similar to how Finland and Sweden maintain their freedom and coexist peacefully with Russia. Finland even bought Soviet weaponry in the cold war days to avoid the slightest association with the West.

Problem now is that Ukraine seeks NATO membership and openly gravitates to western Europe.

Edited by Sosaria

it's like a repeat of what happened 60 years ago....

u put missiles on my doorstep, i'm going do the same (ok, maybe this time not exactly the same)

1 hour ago, happy_man said:

Putin gave a UK reporter a lesson about Russian history and views today after the breakup of USSR.

The usually calm nature is totally gone in this press conference - He is clearly drawing a deep red line over Ukraine crisis with NATO/US. [thumbsup]

The US has too much interest in the well-being of its military industrial complex. Too many jobs, too much profits, too much donations, too deep-rooted liao. So got to keep re-generating hysteria and conflicts go keep the ball rolling. ://

Putin wants to restore the former USSR, and Crimea was the first step, soon will be Ukraine, the Belarus, Turkistan ... USA won't be able to do anything, while the rest of Europe have to be very afraid. The future is looking very bleak. 

1 hour ago, Scion said:

it's like a repeat of what happened 60 years ago....u put missiles on my doorstep, i'm going do the same (ok, maybe this time not exactly the same)

Wow...I am impressed ! Finally a MCFer who knows some History! Yes that  Cuban missile crisis of 1962 - That one almost triggered WW3.  Thank goodness cool head prevailed between Khrushchev and JFK. 😜

distances-of-major-cites-from-cuba.jpg

2 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Putin is fearing he will become irrelevant. Why does Ukraine matters to him?

Ukraine is to put it simply the democratic and free part of Russia. It is Russia2.0 vs Putin's Russia which is authoritarian rule. Ukraine succeeded in becoming a democracy and its ppl enjoying the freedom of the democratic govt. Russians as a whole will see that Putin's Russia as a failure state with its rigid one person rule. That threatens his position. He is fast becoming irrelevant. Ukraine has the backing of the NATO, EU and the US. It makes it even more political. And it is right at Putin's Russian Western doorstep. It is kinda similar to China-Taiwan issue. If you see it that way you will understand why Ukraine matters so much to Putin.

Hmmm....I doubt this is about "demoracy" since Russians can vote too.

In fact, I discover the Russians overwhelming support Putin - Not just with his policy towards the NATO/US, but also over the "return" of Crimea after the Kiev revolution in 2013 that triggered civil war in eastern Ukraine, where Crimea is.  So your suggestion that Putin becoming "irreverent" is itself irreverent. 😜

Pew Survey on shows Putin approval surged to 85% after his checkmate move on Crimea in 2014.

Russia-Ukraine-Report-20.png

26 minutes ago, Scion said:

if China shifts its aggressive stand against Taiwan now, can US cope on both fronts?

If Taiwan tio kope, tsm Dua Dua thng Kor 

my used gtx 1050 sell $5000, iPhone 6 sell $3000, intel arm chio until kua bark jiew

11 minutes ago, happy_man said:

LOL!   红毛人脑袋老实把别国当敌人...中国人反把敌人当机会... 😜

谁是大笨蛋 ?  这位聪明印度同胞说的够爽 ! 😆

You waiting for sor Lian Cheong Ukraine then  short angmo Kor peoh issit? :XD:

17 minutes ago, Scion said:

if China shifts its aggressive stand against Taiwan now, can US cope on both fronts?

a more correct comparison will be a ... future imaginary... resurgent Malaysia taking over pulau tekong ubin already etc etc... then threatening to invade Singapore.

insisting that singapore deciding to seek closer military and political ties with other countries as unacceptable as malaysia should have "traditional" veto rights over what singapore can be allowed to do. 

you can bet your money that in the early days of singapores independence, this happened behind the scene. and we should thank those countries that came to our help openly or covertly.