Is it illegal to fetch passengers at the back of a Suzuki Every?

Fitz4i

My company bought a brand new goods vehicle from a dealer, a Suzuki Every with back seats and seat belts. However I have been informed by a friend that it is illegal to have people in the backseat.. My question is.. is this true? The seats are stock from the dealer and has seat belts.. Where can I find more info on it? TIA

4 minutes ago, Fitz4i said:

My company bought a brand new goods vehicle from a dealer, a Suzuki Every with back seats and seat belts. However I have been informed by a friend that it is illegal to have people in the backseat.. My question is.. is this true? The seats are stock from the dealer and has seat belts.. Where can I find more info on it? TIA

depend on the registration, go check the log card online, It should state there.

2 minutes ago, Beregond said:

depend on the registration, go check the log card online, It should state there.

to check logcard need company information rite? I asked my hr and they say they dunno. If Kenna caught then pay the fine. Face palm

Just now, Fitz4i said:

to check logcard need company information rite? I asked my hr and they say they dunno. If Kenna caught then pay the fine. Face palm

yes, the last 4 numbers or letters . 

If its not allow to carry passangers, U cannot even have the seats there.

But if those seat are perm and with seat belts. i believe higher chance its registered.

If the van has seats and proper seat belts and use only to ferry workers I think LTA wont be so strict. Lorries ferry so many workers sitting on the cargo bed floor with canopy is allowed. Your coy van comes with roof, seats and seat belts somemore.

As long as ferry workers they likely wont disturb you but if you use it to do other activities like a part time phv then that is not allowed. 

It is not an official rule but to help companies and businesses transporting their workers w/o adding cost to their operations the authorities give and take on it.

1 hour ago, Fitz4i said:

This is interesting ...... last time I had vans (with removable seats - akin to sofa like ) and no seat belts 

Also I remember everytime send for inspection I had to remove the seats during that test

Dont know if the rules have changed now though 

2 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

This is interesting ...... last time I had vans (with removable seats - akin to sofa like ) and no seat belts 

Also I remember everytime send for inspection I had to remove the seats during that test

I dun think the rules change .

U need to remove the seats because your vans is not register to carry ppl . Its illegal even to have the seats behind.

Like those canopy, no matter how nicely and safely u build it, If not register, u wont pass the inspection. 

5 minutes ago, Beregond said:

I dun think the rules change .

U need to remove the seats because your vans is not register to carry ppl . Its illegal even to have the seats behind.

Like those canopy, no matter how nicely and safely u build it, If not register, u wont pass the inspection. 

maybe TS can clarify with the Agent whom imported it (as to how did he get approval from LTA)  and also Insurance Company too 

Don't if this vehicle can even caryy much loads with the puny 660cc kei engine, dunno also if its petrol or diesel version , auto or manual       

Edited by BanCoe

3 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

maybe TS can clarify with the Agent whom imported it (as to how did he get approval from LTA)  and also Insurance Company too 

Don't if this vehicle can even caryy much loads with the puny 660cc kei engine, dunno also if its petrol or diesel version , auto or manual       

check with lta is the best.

Remember some 1 brought a brand new Dyna from PI. requested to have a canopy, they make 1 for him, as good as any legal 1, But didnt get it register, he kpkb at the inspection centre, 

Lta dun care the design or spec etc etc. Like the fiat doblo, 99% of them in sg are register as commercial vehicle, but u can have the exact same vehicle register as a car, have a car number plate and drive like a car carrying passenger behind. 

Seats are for Company's Employees,during Office Hours,not for Family Members,anyway,many People also use for Family Members...drive Slowly & Carefully,TP & LTA could close 1 Eye,Speeding & drive Recklessly,they could book you.

image.png.db56d8c03a6b9f032ffb096ef2a30d5a.png

Does the Every come with this label?

A search found this:

Are passengers allowed in the cargo deck/compartment of light goods van?

3,701 Views 1 Answer

1 Answer

Cathline

Goods vehicles should be used primarily for the carriage of goods. To help manage business costs, the Road Traffic Act provides an exception for owners and hirers of goods vehicles, including goods vans, to use their vehicles to transport their workers to and from their places of work or business so long as they comply with various safety requirements.

Goods vans are generally not used for the mass transport of workers for commute trips and are observed to be used more by the specialist trade for the transport of goods or equipment as well as some attendants. We recognise that there could be some occasions where the owner or hirer of the goods van needs to use his van to transport his workers. As part of the safety requirement, the owner or hirer of the goods van must display a Maximum Passenger Capacity (MPC) label on the vehicle indicating the maximum number of workers that can be transported on the cargo deck of the vehicle. The MPC label serves as a reminder to the vehicle owner, hirer and driver of the maximum number of workers that the vehicle can carry on the cargo deck of the vehicle as well as facilitates enforcement against errant employers. When determining the maximum passenger capacity of a cargo deck, the usable deck area should not include the area occupied by any permanent fixtures on the cargo deck such as cranes, toolboxes, etc. If goods are also transported, the number of persons should be reduced accordingly. The MPC is calculated based on the total unoccupied deck area divided by the area of 0.372 square metres (4 square feet) per person, round down to the nearest whole number. The vehicle is not allowed to exceed its loading capacity or travel faster than the vehicle speed limit of 60 km/h or the stipulated road speed limit.

Owner or hirer of goods van should also ensure that the van is fitted with proper air-conditioning or mechanical ventilation system so as to provide adequate comfort for the workers transported. The onus would be on the owner/driver to ensure the safety and welfare of the workers transported.

Source:LTA

The best is still to clarify with the LTA. Write to them with the reg number and description.

Edited by Fitvip

1 hour ago, BanCoe said:

Why remove the sofa?

Just tell the inspector you are a sofa delivery man lah!

And faster do his checks lah as a customer is standing around

waiting for his sofa delivery to sit down.

Edited by Jamesc

It will also depend on the insurance. If the insurance is covered only for own workers and on work related function then if any accident that occurs outside of this scope, insurance company will not cover. The policy will ask if the vehicle used to carry passengers who are not employees of the company.  The insurance premiums will reflect the risks accordingly.

If its the flat bed van with no permanent seats with seat belts then not allowed

to carry passengers in the back.

If you and wife sitting in the front and need to carry your MIL in the back.

Don't get the portable sofa but buy a upmarket padded coffin

and ask your MIL lie inside when stopped by TP.

If TP checks the back tell him you are making delivery to casket company.

The coffin will never be wasted because only a matter of time

before she is so comfy she won't even want to come out of it.

Just tell your boss it is illegal. Tell him he will go to jail if you get caught , ask him to buy you a full size MPV😄😄

Edited by Ct3833

2 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Yup, as long as the seat is no perm affixed to the vehicle. U can basically do whatever U like.  Like trying out different position and so forth.

My friend tio fine $900 because he screwed fix the seat lor ........

3 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Doesn't make sense when you see FWs being ferried on the back of a lorry in makeshift seats that are not secured (cut-off plastic chairs) and not to mention no safety belts.

Just so that infrastructure and housing construction can continue unabated, FWs life can be gambled?

In Germany, the transport authority or police will *faint* ; don't know how many violations. I once saw, in Germany, the police even checked that cargo within an enclosed compartment goods lorry was properly tied down.