Toyota Halts Operations at All Japan Plants Due to Cyberattack

Carbon82

Another war going on in the cyber world and this is no joking matters, especially if it hit those critical service providers in health care, energy, transport, telecommunications sector for example. :pissed-off:

Auto giant's supplier hit by ransomware; factories due to restart Wednesday

https%253A%252F%252Fs3-ap-northeast-1.am

NAGOYA -- Toyota Motor on Tuesday halted operations at all of its plants in Japan after a major supplier was hit by a cyberattack, disrupting the automaker's parts supply management system.

The company is suspending 28 lines at 14 plants. Subsidiaries Hino Motors and Daihatsu Motor will also halt operations at some plants in Japan on Tuesday.

The announcement that operations would be halted came on Monday, confirming an earlier Nikkei report.

Toyota later announced that operations across Japan will resume on Wednesday.

"We apologize to our relevant suppliers and customers for any inconvenience this may cause," Toyota said.

The cyberattack hit Kojima Industries, which supplies plastic parts to Toyota. Kojima announced on Tuesday morning that it has received a message demanding ransom and that it has confirmed the existence of a virus.

On Monday, an official close to Kojima Industries told Nikkei: "It is true that we have been hit by some kind of cyberattack. We are still confirming the damage and we are hurrying to respond, with the top priority of resuming Toyota's production system as soon as possible."

The company said on Monday it was still investigating the origin of the cyberattack, the specific malware involved and the damage caused. "Toyota representatives and cybersecurity experts are at Kojima Industries to determine the cause and how to restore" the system, a source familiar with the situation said.

Many of the roughly 400 tier 1 suppliers that Toyota deals with directly are connected to the automaker's kanban just-in-time production control system, which allowed the problems at Kojima Industries to spill over to Toyota. The automaker halted production to prevent longer-term damage, and prioritized inspection and recovery of the system.

Hino will suspend all operations at its Koga facility, which manufactures large and midsize trucks for export and domestic sale, and its Hamura plant, which makes small trucks and handles production for Toyota. The automaker has yet to determine whether work will resume Wednesday.

The Toyota shutdown includes a Daihatsu plant in Kyoto Prefecture. The halt is expected to reduce output by a few hundred vehicles.

"We are aware of media reports" on the incident, Prime Minister Fumio Kishida told reporters Monday night. "The government is working to confirm the situation." Law enforcement is also looking into the matter.

• Praise 10
  • Shocked 3

14 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Mr Cyber attacker can you please hack Putin?

He got billions of dollars to pay you.

Thank you

Hack His Army's Computer..until all the Rockets fly back to Russia..& Bomb themselves.

Russia Is Suspect In Cyberattack That Will Force Toyota To Shut Down Plants In Japan

https://www.forbes.com/sites/peterlyon/2022/02/28/russia-is-suspect-in-cyberattack-that-will-force-toyota-to-shut-down-plants-in-japan/?sh=669667b8563a

image.png.586dcef91e94f85a91a9f71c7706e46c.png

At 7pm Japan time Monday, Toyota announced that it will shut down all of its plant operations on Tuesday in response to a suspected cyberattack that disrupted the manufacturer’s supply management system and its subsidiaries.

As of Monday night, no information was available regarding the origin of the possible attack or the motive. The attack comes just after Japan joined Western allies in imposing economic and financial sanctions on Russia after it invaded Ukraine. The Japanese government had only just warned domestic corporations to be wary of potential cyberattacks after it imposed sanctions including freezing assets and restricting superconductor exports. 

When the Russian ambassador to Japan Mikhail Yurlevich Galuzin was interviewed last week on Japanese television, he took an ominous tone by stating that, “Should Japan impose sanctions on Russia, there would be consequences.” Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida said his government would investigate the incident and whether Russia was involved but comments like those made by the ambassador only help to make Russia look suspect.

Japan’s biggest carmaker will suspend production on 28 lines at 14 plants across the country. Toyota subsidiary companies in Daihatsu and Hino Motors also said they will halt operations at some of their plants. The shutdown will reportedly affect production of around 13,000 vehicles or around 4% of the. Brand’s monthly domestic output.

Kishida went on record Sunday by announcing that Japan would join the U.S. and other nations in stopping some Russian banks from accessing the SWIFT international payment system. He also said Japan would assist Ukraine with a $100 million injection of emergency aid.

Toyota is still determining whether it will be able to resume operations this week. According to a report, the cyberattack hit Kojima Industries, a plastic parts maker that supplies components to Toyota. The supplier said it was still looking into the source of the attack including the malware used and level of damage suffered.

Having suffered cyber attacks before, Toyota is a pioneer of Just-In-Time manufacturing with parts that arrive from suppliers just before they are required on the production line, rather than being stored for later use. 

As Toyota works out how to deal with this attack, other local carmakers are holding their breath, hoping they won’t be next.

Edited by DOBIEMKZ

28 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Mr Cyber attacker can you please hack Putin?

He got billions of dollars to pay you.

Thank you

Uh. Where do you think most of these are originating? Would you sabo your employer? 😁

Now Sinkie ambastador open dua kang oreddi. 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ukraine-invasion-singapore-permanent-representative-united-nations-burhan-gafoor-speech-2528971

And next thing Putin's cyber thugs will attack us.

And, being hopelessly incapable of defending ourselves as usual, we will be caught totally off-guard. As usual. 

And, as usual, we commoners will pay the price by having our own IT capabilities crippled and our traffic more intrusively monitored. Like in the aftermath of the healthcare IT hack. IT is the only industry where they screw up, but everyone else pays. 😁

5 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ukraine-invasion-singapore-permanent-representative-united-nations-burhan-gafoor-speech-2528971

And, being hopelessly incapable of defending ourselves as usual, we will be caught totally off-guard. As usual. 

And, as usual, we commoners will pay the price by having our own IT capabilities crippled and our traffic more intrusively monitored. Like in the aftermath of the healthcare IT hack. IT is the only industry where they screw up, but everyone else pays. 😁

VB announced sanction on Monday le.

That's worse le.

4 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

VB announced sanction on Monday le.

That's worse le.

Oh yes. Brace for impact. 😁

4 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

https://mustsharenews.com/russian-embassy-singapore/

Russian Embassy Responds To S’pore’s Sanctions, Says It Runs Against Friendly Relations

The Embassy said they're counter-productive to speedy and peaceful settlement of the conflict

Or as Messala put it to Ben-Hur, "If you're not with me, you're against me."

When we could just have mouthed some platitude about "hoping for a peaceful resolution soon". And then shut the f**k up. No one would've thought the less of us for it. This is a nuclear superpower that even the US is afraid of directly confronting. 

As I said, brace for impact. It's gonna be a bad one. Or many. 

19 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Oh yes. Brace for impact. 😁

Piangz......MCF gonna kena hack n hv ruskies impersonating hantu 

Or maybe they see hantu quickly withdraw from Ukraine.....

34 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

SG has to appear to be in sync with big brother USA and other small brothers like Japan & Korea.

40 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Maybe they dont know there is a bigger cash cow done every second Wednesdays of the month  ........ healthcare they hack all will come out those CHAS card and what not ..... or are they keen on Pinky's meteoric recovery ?? 

11 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

SG has to appear to be in sync with big brother USA and other small brothers like Japan & Korea.

A lot of commodity trade run through here le.

That's why BOC Singapore Branch was mentioned in 1 of Reuter report on Monday.

Biden is going to meet ASEAN leaders end of March via zoom. Most likely suggest ASEAN apply pressure on Putin. Hoseh liao. It is The world vs Putin.