Recruitment of nurses

Wind30

If fixed budget based on resident population for the clusters, would it encourage the clusters to get the seriously ill/chronic patients to seek treatments elsewhere? Hmmm... 

Next time maybe the hospitals will tell me this no need that no need... 

15 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/family-doctor-gp-healthcare-healthier-sg-2551331

wow. This is something I hav been asking for years. Changing from a treatment based reward system for healthcare to an outcome based system 

If you look at my multiple illnesses, I do not think the family GP will be able to handle my care effectively compared to a hospital environment. 

7 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Got the option of ownself treat ownself or not?

This one, need HSA to open up the pharmacy rules. But have to careful of drug abuses and misuse of drugs like the ivermectin case.

47 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

If fixed budget based on resident population for the clusters, would it encourage the clusters to get the seriously ill/chronic patients to seek treatments elsewhere? Hmmm... 

Next time maybe the hospitals will tell me this no need that no need... 

I think they measure outcomes. So they try to keep people healthy or become healthy. 

this is the right step. Vs now, doctors get paid when people fall sick.. doctors actually want you to be sick… 

8 minutes ago, Tkseah said:

Don't quite understand.. I register a particular GP as my primary physician then what happens?

Then all your future medical needs will go thru your GP. Like after discharge from hospital, your follow-up in the current route is the hospital's physiotherapist, occupational therapist or specialist, will go through your GP.

However, when come to arrange for the relevant PT, OT or Imaging, will be a big question mark. Thru GP booking faster or thru Hospital doctors booking faster.

I think is a good move especially with family doctor. Honestly private care now is really at unaffordable level feel like it just reserve it for medical tourist. I can't believe that some common medication marked up 50% or more sometime at private clinic. I think the next step is to regulate dispensary, clinic should not dispense medicine. Patient should use presecription to buy medicine at pharmacist so price could be transparent. 

Edited by Knighthunter

It looks like they are trying to move the burden and Q to the GPs. Don't think many GPs can handle. 

My GP is already in her 70s. As it is now she opens late, stops for lunch and closes early. How can she handle so many patients?

17 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

me never DocHop one :yuush:

always faithful to my SYT lowkun and sweetie pie dentist :inlove:

knn share leh

i pm u

hiak hiak hiak hiak

51 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Then all your future medical needs will go thru your GP. Like after discharge from hospital, your follow-up in the current route is the hospital's physiotherapist, occupational therapist or specialist, will go through your GP.

However, when come to arrange for the relevant PT, OT or Imaging, will be a big question mark. Thru GP booking faster or thru Hospital doctors booking faster.

Then I am siao lioa. The GP I go to is one lousy one and I go to him only because he is the nearest one to my home and he is on my co's panel of doctors. Given a choice, I will not go there. And I think he will see RadX way before me if i follow singapore life expectancy.

1 hour ago, Fitvip said:

It looks like they are trying to move the burden and Q to the GPs. Don't think many GPs can handle. 

My GP is already in her 70s. As it is now she opens late, stops for lunch and closes early. How can she handle so many patients?

I don’t think the workload will go up. I think what the government is trying to do is track everyone’s health and outcome. 
current health system I feel is if u see a heart doctor, he sure say your symptoms is heart related… he is incentivised to come up with a treatment. He gets paid when he delivers the treatment and not when the patient gets better. The perverse outcome is doctors get paid when people are sick not when they are healthy.

to get away from this, first step is rewarding health and healthy choices. To do that u need to measure a persons health over long period of time so need one gp per person to keep track. 

I also feel the pay for gps and specialist needs to be adjusted. I rather the money being spent on gps keeping people healthy or treating the illness when it is slight, than giving loads of cash to specialist docs.

Edited by Wind30

20 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

I don’t think the workload will go up. I think what the government is trying to do is track everyone’s health and outcome. 
current health system I feel is if u see a heart doctor, he sure say your symptoms is heart related… he is incentivised to come up with a treatment. He gets paid when he delivers the treatment and not when the patient gets better. The perverse outcome is doctors get paid when people are sick not when they are healthy.

to get away from this, first step is rewarding health and healthy choices. To do that u need to measure a persons health over long period of time so need one gp per person to keep track. 

This reasoning (health based metric) for implementing the idea of one tracking GP is too convoluted.

Shouldn't the metric be based on averages instead of individual's health? 

Edited by Falc

5 minutes ago, Falc said:

This reasoning (health based metric) for implementing the idea of one tracking GP is too convoluted.

Shouldn't the metric be based on averages instead of individual's health? 

Don’t u need each individual health data to calculate averages? 
the implementation is tough but the first step is always getting the right data… so u need to track a person health long term. Is he getting better or worse. 

2 hours ago, Tkseah said:

Don't quite understand.. I register a particular GP as my primary physician then what happens?

I havent go read the details yet, but i also dont quite understand. So what will happen to those people with pre existing condition now? And those who is seeing their specialist doctor?

More importantly..how will this affect my hospitalisation plan premium......nbzz....miayhahaha...😬