Make sense to downgrade my car to Cat A now?

clickb8

Last bidding I told one buyer now is the time to buy.

He hesitated but still signed on the dotted line!

So I got his Cat A COE at the last bidding.

If he waited for yesterday he will be $5.5k poorer.

I know to people like you $5.5k is chump change but to the rest of us poor per people its an awful lot of money!

An awful lot!

36 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

You always give great advice 👍🏼

I've also heard of this thing called "The Wisdom of Crowds". 

A lot of people say, means must be true. Right? 

A lot of people are now saying "buy car, buy car, don't scared, buy car". 

Therefore it must be true. 

Even if all those people are car dealers. 

It must be true. 

Right? 

😁

11 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

No wonder I no business!

Like that how to put food on the table for my family?

How to buy milk powder for my kids?

People must support me and buy my good quality used cars at affordable price lah!

U are da boss!!.. massage business,…. Second hand car dealing…. Any other business u dabble in?…

oh could have been petrol kiosk chain boss!!.. but your MIL stopped u… 😒😒🙁🙁

Yeah I could have been rich if not for my MIL.

Everyday petrol station put up the price not 1 or 2 cents but 5 or 6 cents.

The pump attendant told me if only you came last night his boss put up the price by 6 cents today.

I heard that while pumping also feel sian already!

I pump my company diesel van diesel was 2.90 a litre!

I think 95 was 2.98! WTF diesel should be half the price of Ron 95.

Diesel should not be just 8 cents cheaper than Ron 95!

I think next time buy car parts I take the bus!

7 minutes ago, Mrmilktooth said:

U are da boss!!.. massage business,…. Second hand car dealing…. Any other business u dabble in?…

oh could have been petrol kiosk chain boss!!.. but your MIL stopped u… 😒😒🙁🙁

15 hours ago, clickb8 said:

I bought Cat E car at 33k COE in 2018 (Cat A was 25k at the time), does it make sense to downgrade from Cat B to Cat A car now?

Cat E is now 98k while Cat A is now 68k, so the price gap has grown from 7k in 2018 to 30k now.

Does this mean I make 23k profit (before adjusting for COE depreciation)?

Every time you change buy (sell one, buy one) , you are losing money to the commission and profit margin of 2 car dealers. The money both happily earn comes from YOU.

So do you think you will profit in any way?

21 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

Every time you change buy (sell one, buy one) , you are losing money to the commission and profit margin of 2 car dealers. The money both happily earn comes from YOU.

So do you think you will profit in any way?

Thats why i ownself sell so only 1 dealer earn lol

Yes not only me all us used car dealers will raise by 5.5k

Now if people want to whack us

when sugar price goes up by 10 cents 1 kilo

coffee shop owners raise the price of kopi and teh by 10 cents for each cup.

As if every cup uses 1 Kilo of sugar like that.

So don't flame car dealers stop drinking outside kopi and teh and ask your maid pack your hot drinks in a flask for you.

4 hours ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

Ok.... But when the Cat A COE increased by 5.5K, your would also raise that car price in tandem quantum for quantum? 😁

If people don't want us car dealers to earn

good just scrap your car lah!

But no you all won't scrap right

because the dealers pay you more.

Then complain for what?

1 hour ago, Jamesc said:

Yes not only me all us used car dealers will raise by 5.5k

Now if people want to whack us

when sugar price goes up by 10 cents 1 kilo

coffee shop owners raise the price of kopi and teh by 10 cents for each cup.

As if every cup uses 1 Kilo of sugar like that.

So don't flame car dealers stop drinking outside kopi and teh and ask your maid pack your hot drinks in a flask for you.

If like that, then go back to you to buy car is still the best! 👍😁

3 hours ago, Jamesc said:

If people don't want us car dealers to earn

good just scrap your car lah!

But no you all won't scrap right

because the dealers pay you more.

Then complain for what?

Should be thankful for those dealers

that u can sell ur car few k above paper

those car dealers should get noble award

On 3/9/2022 at 10:47 PM, clickb8 said:

I bought Cat E car at 33k COE in 2018 (Cat A was 25k at the time), does it make sense to downgrade from Cat B to Cat A car now?

Cat E is now 98k while Cat A is now 68k, so the price gap has grown from 7k in 2018 to 30k now.

Does this mean I make 23k profit (before adjusting for COE depreciation)?

dont look at cat e price, look at the corresponding cat b price, as the applicable value of the coe is cat b or cat e whichever is the lower.

doesnt matter what cat a was at the time you bought, that is already past.

tell us what cat b car you have so that there is a better gauge of how much that car can be sold for now, and how much "loss" in driving enjoyment/comfort you will be losing by switching to a cat a sienta or whatever now.

if there are more details like how much loan you owe etc then that would also be useful ..

cheers!

On 3/10/2022 at 12:08 AM, clickb8 said:

@yishunite yep I think I have to change for family reasons sometime down the road. There isn’t an urgent need to do so right now (still only 1 kid), but the large price gap between Cat A and Cat B/E got me tempted and I wonder if this is the best time. I’m a first time car owner and haven’t changed to a second car before, so wondering if downgrading from Cat B/E to A during large price gap is a good strategy generally speaking.

Off topic.  My friend got a Noah.  8 seater car?  Supposed to be hybrid so can save petrol 

In the car will have him, his wife, two kids, one maid and both parents.

So yes if you worry about family size, Noah might be useful.  If you are driving your parents and going out as a family regularly.

On 3/11/2022 at 9:21 AM, Mooose said:

dont look at cat e price, look at the corresponding cat b price, as the applicable value of the coe is cat b or cat e whichever is the lower.

doesnt matter what cat a was at the time you bought, that is already past.

tell us what cat b car you have so that there is a better gauge of how much that car can be sold for now, and how much "loss" in driving enjoyment/comfort you will be losing by switching to a cat a sienta or whatever now.

if there are more details like how much loan you owe etc then that would also be useful ..

cheers!

TS already run road long ago lah

1 hour ago, t0y0ta said:

TS already run road long ago lah

Many times like that but I think such topics with various inputs from bros are still useful information for other ppl who are reading them, whether now or later. 

In fact, I often learn a new thing or two myself from others here too. 

Hence, whether TS run out of petrol or road, its not important. Especially if he's gotten his answers and moved on. 

Stay safe