Singapore, Malaysia to reopen land borders to vaccinated travellers; all modes of transport allowed

zipping

2 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Summarised

70EE81D7-3499-4614-9F0F-BCF16E9254AB.jpeg

Though the insurance is only for airline travellers

23 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

why would u want to go malaysia now? Unless go Genting or what. 

Honestly visiting thailand/malaysia as a family, go in late 2022/2023 lah. Their domestic tourism industry was slaughtered by Covid. Not to mention safety issues. 

It's still safer for staycation or going australia for 2022.

i went to North Thailand in Feb 2022. Not my first time there although this was my first time flying there. In previous years, i drove up.

Very nice weather even though it was the tail end of winter so the daytime temps were higher (hit 38degC on some days)

the best thing is abt being there now is there are no hordes of PRC tourists and the number of backpackers has been decimated. It's most obvious in the big cities. As a result, it's much more peaceful and relaxing compared to the previous years when i was there. My friends who went to Phuket and/or Bangkok reported the same situation. Good for visitors, not so good for the locals who depend on tourist dollars. So i would say now is a good time to go there - it's less crowded and one can support the locals. 

i'm planning to drive to Msia in a few weeks time. But not planning to hang around JB area. Gonna go durian farms in Pahang and Penang. And catch up with local friends. Oh, and clear carbon too LOL 

9 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I think travel destinations this year is only places where domestic tourism managed to survive during the 2020-2021 period,
1) Australia
2) Europe
3) USA 

Otherwise staycations, cruise or possibly a more easier entry into Indonesian islands like batam or bintan resorts. 
Especially for south east asia, whereby there isn't much natural scenery or beauty but is more of the kampung feel.

Though of course some places like cameron highlands or places with natural beauty could feel less crowded. And maybe worth a go after the local businesses have sometime to recover.

i beg to differ regarding the lack of natural scenery/beauty in SEA. U want mountain got mountain, u want sea/beach got sea. Just a matter of whether u know where to go or not. 

The best thing is that Msia & Thai are so accessible by self-drive. No need to risk covid infection on a plane, especially now that many countries don't require a pre-departure test.

p.s. the Msia-thai border is also opening on 1st Apr at two main checkpoints. 

5 minutes ago, Kklim said:

Though the insurance is only for airline travellers

that's what i thought so too. I was surprised when CNA said it's necessary. Waiting for more clarity on it.

Anyway, always good to have travel insurance, not just covid insurance. 

10 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

i beg to differ regarding the lack of natural scenery/beauty in SEA. U want mountain got mountain, u want sea/beach got sea. Just a matter of whether u know where to go or not. 

The best thing is that Msia & Thai are so accessible by self-drive. No need to risk covid infection on a plane, especially now that many countries don't require a pre-departure test.

p.s. the Msia-thai border is also opening on 1st Apr at two main checkpoints. 

There is natural beauty in SEA definitely. But tropical weather is not a nice time to go traipsing outdoors. No matter how nice the beach/view is, when it's 33-34 degrees with 85% humidity. Screw it lah lol. Mountain ranges then maybe weather more acceptable.

Depends on what you want to do. It's a good time to travel to these spots like u mentioned, less commercialised. 
Adults can travel anytime. No issues.

With younger kids, I'd rather not go all these places. Cos simply they can't appreciate it most of the time. Maybe when they are a bit older. It's also for the sanity of the parents.

5 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

also did not specify the need for covid insurance. Typical lack of clarity from them.

The main page specifies what is required.

Singapore only page specifies the exclusion.

2 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

There is natural beauty in SEA definitely. But tropical weather is not a nice time to go traipsing outdoors. No matter how nice the beach/view is, when it's 33-34 degrees with 85% humidity. Screw it lah lol. Mountain ranges then maybe weather more acceptable.

Depends on what you want to do. It's a good time to travel to these spots like u mentioned, less commercialised. 
Adults can travel anytime. No issues.

With younger kids, I'd rather not go all these places. Cos simply they can't appreciate it most of the time. Maybe when they are a bit older. It's also for the sanity of the parents.

you are definitely right regarding the killer combi of humidity and tropical temperature. Thus my preference to go up to North Thai for winter. North Viet is also cool (pun intended). Indo also has some nice hill resort areas. Have to get away from the equator. I'm not a fan of beaches (tried in both tropical and non-tropical areas). 

understood and agreed with your perspective from a family with younger kids. Imagine my shock when this family on a scooter pulled up next to my lunch spot in Thailand. I thought only locals did this LOL. 

567880151_bikefamily.thumb.jpeg.8a04e3d71ffb90882a47df7aa30a26f6.jpeg

4 hours ago, inlinesix said:

https://www.mysafetravel.gov.my/travel-from-sg

did not exclude travel insurance requirements.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/singapore-malaysia-land-border-travel-insurance-causeway-second-link-apr-1-2596396 

SINGAPORE: Travel insurance will no longer be required for short-term visitors who enter Singapore or Malaysia via the land border from Apr 1, provided they are fully vaccinated.

Singapore's Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) clarified this on Wednesday evening (Mar 30), following an update by the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) on its website. 

Currently, travel insurance is needed for short-term visitors entering Singapore, with a minimum coverage of S$30,000 (US$22,000).

Similarly for Malaysia, travel insurance is not needed for fully vaccinated short-term visitors travelling via the land borders at the Causeway and Second Link from Apr 1.

Partially vaccinated or unvaccinated travellers are still required to buy COVID-19 travel insurance with a minimum coverage of US$20,000, said Malaysia's health ministry.

Singapore and Malaysia are easing border restrictions from Apr 1, allowing fully vaccinated people from both countries to cross the land border by private transport.

Ahead of the relaxed travel rules, Malaysia also announced on Wednesday that toll charges at the Causeway and Second Link immigration complexes will be waived between Apr 1 and Apr 7 to ease the movement of vehicles. 

The exemption applies to all types of vehicles for seven days, said Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

“This is in line with the approach to ease the cross border movement with Singapore. This exemption is for Malaysians and other users who top-up or renew their Touch ‘n Go and Smart Tag,” he added. 

5 hours ago, Lala81 said:

why would u want to go malaysia now? Unless go Genting or what. 

Honestly visiting thailand/malaysia as a family, go in late 2022/2023 lah. Their domestic tourism industry was slaughtered by Covid. Not to mention safety issues. 

It's still safer for staycation or going australia for 2022.

Not going in immediately now.  May be in a few months' time.  Waiting for covid situation to stabilize more and have better visibility on street safety first.

There is one small boy with us who is not vaccinated, just a bit more worried for him. 

So far,  how is the covid situation in Sgp for unvaccinated children less than 5 years old?  Don't seem to hear news in this aspect.  Just curious.

1 hour ago, Beanoyip said:

Go in pump petrol need 20k insurance coverage???

They are protecting your precious car so that you can claim both side insurance...... :XD:

In a flash, d-day 2morrow....

Will greatly appreciate any bros who is gg over to keep us in e loop on how e process is like, wat r e necessary stuff that we need to prepare etc.

• Valid passport,
  • driving license + all necessary doc if driving,
  • TnG card,
  • mysejahtera app (some bros mention gd to hav a hard copy of ur vaccination status),
  • sg arrival card app (or can do online) https://www.ica.gov.sg/enter-depart/entry_requirements/sg-arrival-card
  • Fully vaccinated,

Good to hav..

• Phone/sim card (my or sg w roaming),
  • Travel insurance,

Edited by zipping

1 hour ago, zipping said:

In a flash, d-day 2morrow....

Will greatly appreciate any bros who is gg over to keep us in e loop on how e process is like, wat r e necessary stuff that we need to prepare etc.

• Valid passport,
  • driving license + all necessary doc if driving,
  • TnG card,
  • mysejahtera app (some bros mention gd to hav a hard copy of ur vaccination status),
  • sg arrival card app (or can do online) https://www.ica.gov.sg/enter-depart/entry_requirements/sg-arrival-card
  • Fully vaccinated,

Good to hav..

• Phone/sim card (my or sg w roaming),
  • Travel insurance,

Fully vaccinated....mean all 3 doses right.... what if 2 doses and tio covid....didn't get the 3rd dose, considered as fully vaccinated?

Edited by Spidey10

4 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

Fully vaccinated....mean all 3 doses right.... what if 2 doses and tio covid....didn't get the 3rd dose, considered as fully vaccinated?

Is your TraceTogether with a Green Tick? That's the reference for now.