Toyota GR Corolla Debuting March 31 New Teaser Reveals

kobayashiGT

toyota-gr-corolla-teaser-images-fender-b

Surce: https://www.motor1.com/news/576279/toyota-gr-corolla-teaser-video/

The Toyota GR Corolla will finally debut on March 31. The automaker will stream the unveiling at 9:30 PM EDT (1:30 AM GMT on April 1). Toyota released a brief teaser video and two pictures along with this announcement to build even more excitement for the hot hatch.

One of the teaser shots appears to show the GR Corolla's front fender. There's a tall outlet with black, horizontal strakes that seems to be right behind the wheel well. Directing the air from the nose through this piece might help cool the brakes. The GR badge is easily visible next to this aero aid.

toyota-gr-corolla-teaser-images-fender-b

toyota-gr-corolla-teaser-images-gr-four-

toyota-gr-corolla-teaser-images-fender-f

toyota-gr-corolla-teaser-images-gr-four-

The other photo seems to be the side sill below the doors. It has "GR-FOUR" embossed into the panel. This is a reference to the sophisticated all-wheel-drive system that Toyota also uses on the GR Yaris.

One of the earliest teasers for the GR Corolla revealed several specs about the model. It uses the G16E-GTS 1.6-liter turbocharged three-cylinder engine that also powers the GR Yaris. This powerplant makes 268 horsepower (200 kilowatts), which is what the GR Yaris produces in Japan, versus 257 hp (192 kW) in Europe.

Another teaser shows the GR Corolla with a manual gearbox. Toyota also has a prototype of the GR Yaris using an eight-speed automatic. A rumor suggests this transmission might eventually be available in the Corolla hot hatch. There's no indication whether this gearbox would be available at launch.

Toyota recently hid a teaser for the GR Corolla in a video promoting the GR86. The plot of the ad is that stuffy execs are reacting to a pitch from the GR team. There's a shot of the Supra and GR86 driving together, and one of the bosses comments there should be a third vehicle in the frame. It cuts to the rear of the hot hatch sitting in a dark store.

All of the available info so far indicates that the GR Corolla is coming exclusively as a hatchback. There are no images or even rumors suggesting that a sedan variant is on the way.

I am a family man. If got sedan, then woah! I would really love to own one. :grin:

The legendary 3 cyl turbocharged engine that produce 268bhp.

How cool is that!

15 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I am a family man. If got sedan, then woah! I would really love to own one. :grin:

How cool is that!

Keep it as hatch.

Don’t learn from BMW.

2 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Keep it as hatch.

Don’t learn from BMW.

Aye!!! hahaha. I like BMW M2 also leh. haha

01_4.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

Mazda 3 has 2.5 turbo, Lancer has evo, Civic has type r, sylphy has nismo (america) or sss (sg), forte has 1.6 turbo. The highest spec for corolla/altis i am know was a 1.8na in sg 15 years ago.

15 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

01_4.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

I look at this M2 Competition and the crap designs they have nowadays....is really shake head.

21 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

01_4.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

2 Series is very confusing.  Got FWD & RWD.

M3 started out as coupe.  Now, got saloon.  Going forward, there will be estate.

Sibei jialat.

These tiny engines pushing big outputs are now caught in our "very wise" gahmen's tax nets already. Gone are the days when you could enjoy a bit of high performance motoring on the cheap with a Cat A COE. 😂

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

How cool is that!

Expect to cost $250,000.

7 minutes ago, ER-3682 said:

Expect to cost $250,000.

Lol....yups

Yaris GR 200k ppl say cheeep cheeep sold out

Maybe BM SE tell rich unker auntie say this Corolla vely good one, latest model made in jeepun, not thailand. They oso may buy

16 minutes ago, ER-3682 said:

Expect to cost $250,000.

I am a real family man. I save money for my family one. hahaha. No 250,000 to spurge. 😂

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

2 Series is very confusing.  Got FWD & RWD.

M3 started out as coupe.  Now, got saloon.  Going forward, there will be estate.

Sibei jialat.

RWD lah. real man drive rear wheel drive one mah.

See my boss. @RadX A real man.  :grin:

14 minutes ago, Soya said:

Lol....yups

Yaris GR 200k ppl say cheeep cheeep sold out

Maybe BM SE tell rich unker auntie say this Corolla vely good one, latest model made in jeepun, not thailand. They oso may buy

CVT Yes.

MT No way it will sell like hotcake.

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

RWD lah. real man drive rear wheel drive one mah.

See my boss. @RadX A real man.  :grin:

if both FWD and RWD at the same time then is fake real man? or real fake man?

😂

18 hours ago, Genes said:

if both FWD and RWD at the same time then is fake real man? or real fake man?

😂

That's all-wheel drive right? That's a tough man. hahaha.

want control over everything.

I prefer to have some slack. Sometime infront sometime at the back. 😂