COE Bidding – April 2022

Carbon82

2 hours ago, mikk123 said:

saw in today's newspaper. It the PHV company that placed most of the bids. Call for them to be removed from the Cat A just like taxi. The next new months the premium will be higher as they are replacing the old cars. 

They only bid cat A right?

2 hours ago, mikk123 said:

saw in today's newspaper. It the PHV company that placed most of the bids. Call for them to be removed from the Cat A just like taxi. The next new months the premium will be higher as they are replacing the old cars. 

Its damn stupid lor. Not only does Cat A private user have to compete with commercial user but those commercial users will have their cars on the road at least 8-12hrs of the day vs private user at most to office and home plus maybe lunch and errands... 2-3 trips/day max

One generate all the traffic jam while pushing up COE price for those who dont generate most of the traffic. If theyre truly serious about "carlite" society taxi and PHV fare should cost way more. Our taxi fares are v cheap compare to other develop countries yet ironically our car cost is so much higher. Their own COE cat will be a good way to force these fares up so we get more car lite

Edited by yishunite

9 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Its damn stupid lor. Not only does Cat A private user have to compete with commercial user but those commercial users will have their cars on the road at least 8-12hrs of the day vs private user at most to office and home plus maybe lunch and errands... 2-3 trips/day max

One generate all the traffic jam while pushing up COE price for those who dont generate most of the traffic. If theyre truly serious about "carlite" society taxi and PHV fare should cost way more

the commercial car serve 30 trips that day, assume each of those passenger also take 2-3 trips/day, that commercial user has eliminated 10-15 persons' need for cars. what nonsense you talking? you take away that 1 commercial car, you expect another 10-15 cars on the road, that is carlite in your definition?

6 minutes ago, iamwey said:

the commercial car serve 30 trips that day, assume each of those passenger also take 2-3 trips/day, that commercial user has eliminated 10-15 persons' need for cars. what nonsense you talking? you take away that 1 commercial car, you expect another 10-15 cars on the road, that is carlite in your definition?

No car lite is about switching ppl away from cars to public transport (permanently) altogether, getting less cars on the road. Right now we have way more cars on the road at all hours of day (= more emissions/fuel usage) thanks to PHV and low hire fares

Plus COE quota is fixed supply. There wont be more cars on the road at all.

Edited by yishunite

3 minutes ago, yishunite said:

No car lite is about switching ppl away from cars to public transport (permanently) altogether, getting less cars on the road. Right now we have way more cars on the road at all hours of day (= more emissions/fuel usage) thanks to PHV and low hire fares

Guess car lite to them is to take away cars from the road and left only those ministers cars?! 😅

• Sad 2

If they are serious about car lite basic point is PHV/taxi fares should be more in line with Europe to switch ppl to public transport. Pte car owner who dont use for commercial purposes are not the problem and havent been for past 5 yrs

PHV sticker could come with additional COE maybe... after all by getting this sticker u are committing to use the car 10x more than regular user

Edited by yishunite

everyone just take bus/mrt la, the road for you to drive only ok? you only want things that benefit yourself, not the overall public lol.

2 minutes ago, iamwey said:

everyone just take bus/mrt la, the road for you to drive only ok? you only want things that benefit yourself, not the overall public lol.

Thats what 60% vote for. I just tell you the logical implications

11 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

I agree to go green. Let's have an example first, just like covid19 job. Who dare come out and say I give up driving and take public transport only? 

😂🖕 Here is car forum so we dun talk car lite here. Talk car lite here like u is jiao lang gong jiao wae. Ppl here questioned abt the real objective of coe vs the real sentiment of it's objectives.

Some 马后炮 kee chiu 1st abt going green. 😂

27 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Thats what 60% vote for. I just tell you the logical implications

U are replying to some idiot newbie who doesn't know what u are talking about yet goes around yakking away based on some book worm analysis.

Dun u think someone gotta take over when taxi is "forced" to take up open cat? 😉

I think Govt should only restrict priv car bidding to those priv hire company and limit a quota of fleet they can own like what the taxi company are doing. Those drivers can only rent phv and not converting own car to phv.

this way can limit the number of cars on road and also have those cars in service line to have lesser modified car for passenger safety.

33 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Basic point: ownership isnt the problem. Usage is. 

COE is built on ownership tax. Should recalibrate for usage tax.

too complicated. Our gahmen just prefer to tax direct if you want to buy. 

4 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

Thats why simplest way is just to put markup on PHV sticker as I suggested

3 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

its not too complicated, its already in the works with the new ERP system, but that guy just wanna kpkb coe price too high because of PHVs.

30 minutes ago, iamwey said:

its not too complicated, its already in the works with the new ERP system, but that guy just wanna kpkb coe price too high because of PHVs.

satellite erp is not going to replace COE, it may replace road tax but then, there are concerns on privacy and other road regulation issues. If based on ERP only, it is not really based on usage as it only tracks distance travelled when you are entering an ERP zone.

32 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Thats why simplest way is just to put markup on PHV sticker as I suggested

PHV is categorized as private vehicle so that's is a bit tricky. i can buy my own car and stick on a PHV label later so it doesn't make sense to do that. But maybe the PHV license can be controlled. It will not be sustainable if every car on the road is a PHV. Also, taxi's should not bid for COE as well. It should be a separate system from the general public. 

That's right

PHV is PHV and own COE.

Private car is private car and Cat A

Cannot mix.

1 hour ago, darviathan said:

I think Govt should only restrict priv car bidding to those priv hire company and limit a quota of fleet they can own like what the taxi company are doing. Those drivers can only rent phv and not converting own car to phv.

this way can limit the number of cars on road and also have those cars in service line to have lesser modified car for passenger safety.

2 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

That's right

PHV is PHV and own COE.

Private car is private car and Cat A

Cannot mix.

Yeah many are converting their car so can get fuel discount and also fetch people when they are free. 

by right if wanna control vehicle growth, should only let people rent car if they wanna do business.

Wanna own a car for leisure and personnel usage, jolly well pay like the rest of the people.