❤️ Living with covid - What Did You Makan Today? ❤️

Jman888

2 hours ago, Etnt said:

just a new fanciful name. Not hip to call it muay

else not much biggie from going to a fish soup store and order muay. Albeit now is dunking in prawn soup also. So prawn mee with rice instead lor.

The really good one that I had was pomfret pao fan at zui yu xuan. 1 pot can serve a family, using a whole promfret, boneless fileting. The soup stock uses conpoy, mushroom, bian yu; with fried rice bits and shrimp bits used as toppings. The rest of the bones from the promfret are fried to a crisp to serve as accompaniment.

Not really a fancy. 糜that we know here is more of a Teo Chew cuisine.

For Teo Chew, There is 白粥 or 糜 and 泡飯糜。

Accordingly, 泡飯is not some new fanciful name.

My meals over the last few days.  For the days I am in the office and buy the Stuff'd daily bowl,  I add a small can of tuna for extra protein.  

20220825_190933.jpg

20220825_120113.jpg

20220824_190856.jpg

20220823_190532.jpg

20220823_135145.jpg

20220822_190805.jpg

20220816_160828.jpg

• Praise 16

On 8/24/2022 at 1:45 PM, mersaylee said:

First and last visit...boh ho jiak one

Fries were too salty...salah dressing lacking...fish too small a piece for a main dish...simi tomato soup?...I think they were the tomato base for their pizza...super sour...not gonna mention the bland orling juice...😅

IMG_20220822_130634.jpg

Bro, my friend say the neighbour 5A not bad. He went there and came out very Happy 😊

But a bit expensive..

Edited by Twister

9 hours ago, inlinesix said:

@Carbon82 No root beer float?

Nope, too late for so much sweet stuff (it was about 8:30pm when I had my dinner with my daughter) 

Wife texted me that she bought this fried Oyster cake for me just when I have completed placing my order, so a heavy stomach by the time I went to bed. [sweatdrop]

3dBnpkI.jpg

kdFPCbO.jpg

Fw6K7A1.jpg

The oyster cake is good btw, full aroma of fresh oyster and very juicy as well. [thumbsup]

• Praise 16

Lunch at DTE Eighteen Chefs. 

Fish n Chips👍😋😋😋😋😋. Very nice, crispy thin batter and tender fish fillet. The sour plum mayo is a good match. 

20220826_134522_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.5633953269e05ae0fa4294fc2de525fc.jpg

20220826_134527_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.c349378a490b6b6c1bfd03b647040f41.jpg

20220826_135442_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.a3c4d794ce5fc4dbc52900602c971a5e.jpg

20220826_135509_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.af9d87a6cf766defdc064185af588ee5.jpg

20220826_133113_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.0044d35fbaf63912bbf8c2927c7cf70c.jpg

Walked a few steps away to have a teh di lou siew dai from the Killiney outlet 😋😋😋😋

20220826_140514_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.e4319b063053e407db1d30ad5cc93fff.jpg

TGIF. Enjoy your weekend as it sped forever out of sight. 😂

Stay safe all 

• Praise 18

7 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

Nope, too late for so much sweet stuff (it was about 8:30pm when I had my dinner with my daughter) 

Wife texted me that she bought this fried Oyster cake for me just when I have completed placing my order, so a heavy stomach by the time I went to bed. [sweatdrop]

3dBnpkI.jpg

kdFPCbO.jpg

Fw6K7A1.jpg

The oyster cake is good btw, full aroma of fresh oyster and very juicy as well. [thumbsup]

This oyster cake look good, from where?

29 minutes ago, 13177 said:

@PSP415 

Signature root beer fish and chips? So got root beer 

I did not taste the root beer and for that matter, any beer.

These are actually used for the batter to be crispier which is very true here.

Jin crispy and ho jiak 👍

HarriAnns Nonya Table

Not bad albeit a bit pricey...

The laksa taste wise very close to the 328 katong...their prawns are big sized and fresh...the tao pok had a very unique bite and taste that I couldn't quite identify...

The kueh was a bit disappointed with only 5 coloured layers...it was a layer of white in between colours...but less sweet than the usual ones out there

That normal sweetness level YuanYang was very good...thick and rich in taste...shall try the siew dai next time...

IMG_20220820_162726.jpg

IMG_20220820_163758.jpg

• Praise 16

On 8/25/2022 at 9:10 AM, Etnt said:

Haha, same same but different. I also very enjoy promfret steamboat at xin heng fang. But the promfret paofan at zui Yu xuan more exquisite.

both are great in their own way.

This one? 

Xin Heng Feng Guo Tiao Tan (Fish Steamboat)
91 Whampoa Dr, #01-1415, Singapore 320091
https://maps.app.goo.gl/JT1wsDejZwjSmqyi7

I think fish steamboat need aircon man... Feel cool and soup don't make you sweat lol. 

13 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

This one? 

I think fish steamboat need aircon man... Feel cool and soup don't make you sweat lol. 

This stall 鱼头炉 business quite good esp before the covid. Dont know about now. This stall morning sell fishball noodles, business also quite good.

17 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

This one? 

yah, whampoa wet market side at night. Their trotter jelly, duck wings and fish roe as starters are shiok also.