❤️ Living with covid - What Did You Makan Today? ❤️

Jman888

my favorite lunch place recently, korean set for $10.90 at bras basah, run by Korean couples. Comfort food, they dun serve drinks but they have soft drink vending machine inside. They sell soju and makgeoli

they serve Korean tour groups and many japanese n korean workers around this area like to eat here.

20221103_121107_compress67.jpg

• Praise 20

24 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

my favorite lunch place recently, korean set for $10.90 at bras basah, run by Korean couples. Comfort food, they dun serve drinks but they have soft drink vending machine inside. They sell soju and makgeoli

they serve Korean tour groups and many japanese n korean workers around this area like to eat here.

20221103_121107_compress67.jpg

Since they serve Korea tour group, will it be crowded if there is a group inside?

Edited by Tohto

42 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Since they serve Korea tour group, will it be crowded if there is a group inside?

the place is quite big, the inner area cater for tour groups that can take about maybe 50 people, the front area usually for daily lunch crowd that has about 50 seats also.

This is at 书城 bras basah complex, the unit used to be 食客 korean bbq many years ago.

Dun expect high quality korean food, this one more toward the simple 平民 that you see in kdrama [laugh]  for the soup set, i usually pour the rice into the soup and eat like porridge :D

Lunch at Chinatown Complex HC. Duck porridge with Pig's Skin. First time trying. This is very nice and the braised duck drum and Pig's skin are flavoursome. 😋😋😋😋👍

20221103_131822_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.852b628e9179d22745b4e4ce07c32cbf.jpg

20221103_131840_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.685dd92b43df4c067b637606abf75f5a.jpg

20221103_131846_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.dcf3aabbda215e3021b76e4b69802cdb.jpg

20221103_131907_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.c49ea28e98dec9c071ad05077aa46ee8.jpg

Add on :

Dessert - Big Wheat 

20221103_133319_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.80a5cf7550ea9c6e4da6aef424c738aa.jpg

The HC will be closed on 14-15th November for cleaning. 

Screenshot_20221103-140027_Gallery_copy_540x1140.thumb.jpg.bed77ee8f743905a8c8986495ad26c54.jpg

Dinner - Bak Chang with fat meat, salted egg yolk, mushroom and chestnut 😋😋😋😋

($3 each) 

20221103_194612_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.f903501e0efd99f6d7cc006d5e333b28.jpg

20221103_194707_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.e4d58c25dc1187cb5293c5e2c11525a0.jpg

20221103_194815_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.f83f35c9c3cb08f5d5da2ea5c72a03a5.jpg

20221103_195445_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.6b0faec5b7c77bf6b2c0357626f5b080.jpg

With Hot Chinese Tea 

20221103_195157_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.e80a305373d586a690fbad0bf63ef562.jpg

Bought some home 😅😁 :

20221104_004849_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.f16b8a28bb260e1d59c38ceee2e51692.jpg

Having my last box of Chilled Durians later 🤤

Stay safe all 

Edited by PSP415
  • Praise 19

Redeemed $15 HPB voucher from Healthy 365 to get these very expensive but nice apple. Anyone know is there any cheaper alternative? TIA 😊

117570008_IMG_20221104_0830171.thumb.jpg.332e6b6ab7c70ad9d242454f3883b10b.jpg

• Praise 14

1 hour ago, SGMCF328 said:

Redeemed $15 HPB voucher from Healthy 365 to get these very expensive but nice apple. Anyone know is there any cheaper alternative? TIA 😊

Nowadays even fruits price also went up a lot. Now even normal NZ apples also not cheap, 5 pieces need $4. If for nicer apples, like envy even more ex.

2 hours ago, SGMCF328 said:

apples are yi fen qian yi fen huo. The cheap ones are really cheap. But usually they taste grainy and not crisp.
Just eat for the nutrition i guess. 

I don't buy rockit cos its too small.

Recently there has been quite a number of apple types coming in from NZ. I find this pdf very useful.
I recently bought a bag of kikus but honestly its not much much better than a bostock which is 1 dollar cheaper per bag. They didnt label what the Bostock apple (just found out it's a brand rather than a varietal) is but i suspect its something akin to fuji.

https://www.cmiapples.com/uploads/pdf/sales-sheets/sweet-o-meter.pdf

I usually buy envy, if not then it's pacific rose. Ambrosia is nice also but its an european or USA apple.

Yesterday lor mee was so disappointing that I went to old airport road today for my favourite Lor mee. The Lor mee is $5 for a huge portion. Yesterday one was $6 for small…
the western port chop is burnt on one side… bad .

A53282D4-FFA8-4467-9629-0E8DC314A868.jpeg

B5E01317-EC72-4784-9E6E-66D8B59576D4.jpeg

Edited by Wind30
  • Praise 11
  • Sad 2

5 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Rasa sayang western. Good. The Michelin Lor mee is horrible and overpriced m.

FE53A60B-218E-4E2E-B59F-BCD3CD0C255A.jpeg

B02593C3-9BF3-4019-A109-D7CE81F6C0BA.jpeg

Sekali Michelin only bestow the award to the lor mee not the beehoon...😅

3 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Yesterday lor mee was so disappointing that I went to old airport road today for my favourite Lor mee. The Lor mee is $5 for a huge portion. Yesterday one was $6 for small…
the western port chop is burnt on one side… bad .

A53282D4-FFA8-4467-9629-0E8DC314A868.jpeg

B5E01317-EC72-4784-9E6E-66D8B59576D4.jpeg

Western was from which stall?