❤️ Living with covid - What Did You Makan Today? ❤️

Jman888

1 hour ago, Tohto said:

New store. Prefer the char siew to be slightly more fatty.  Overall is good.

20221108_123829_copy_4032x3024.jpg

20221108_122129.jpg

Beside your place? 

Eng kee at punggol one. Was there for my kids vaccination. 

Chicken wing not bad. The beehoon part is bit substandard I feel. 

Queued about 20-25 mins. 

Chicken wing not as good as I remember the original but not bad. IMG20221108122517_d4O260Yr08.thumb.jpeg.4d30cea04a130a2fd532961920dc21ac.jpeg

• Praise 18

Just now, Lala81 said:

Beside your place? 

Yes. New owner, new name. I don't think is dangui duck. As I don't taste it but the duck is quite good.

2 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Cheng San market. The pig leg there is one of the best I have tried, from the bakuteh stall.  I still like Laosan kuey chap but the Kuey chap here is good too. Different style.

8EB29FF4-F349-44D3-90B5-F2DB585AEE96.jpeg

You can try the pig leg from Chong boon market. Seems very good and popular but I have not try it yet. 

1 hour ago, Tohto said:

New store. Prefer the char siew to be slightly more fatty.  Overall is good.

20221108_123829_copy_4032x3024.jpg

20221108_122129.jpg

Meng Meng roasted duck open at the reopened Hougang Mall food court. Had the danggui duck drumstick’ just now, vary happy the skin still crispy. But not much danggui taste. 

3 hours ago, Lala81 said:

43+ sgd per kg for char siew and shao rou. Not cheap siah. That's almost singapore price levels already. 

Yup. But still, its people mountain people sea. 

Just now, Hamburger said:

Yup. But still, its people mountain people sea. 

The photo of the char siew does not impress me leh..

6 hours ago, Arogab said:

Ok, this is as near as I can get. KNN, I think I damn old liao. 2:30am go home I wake up so early next day and I so tired😅

9e1faa19371316a1424335ecaaa7c22.jpg

1bd0bed01d7fae2ef04e12e74b36354.jpg

Sexciting time prelude tiring time...😁

8 hours ago, PSP415 said:

Very busy week. Photos of some meals when camera had chance to take a closer look :

Heavenly 😋😋😋😋😋

20221107_140455_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.58cd316f85aabb8d98592be02453a859.jpg

20221107_140444_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.aa6ce3b0a3718f54d6f4983e3d376407.jpg

20221107_140435_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.b55ffe196b81a24e758765c6d1fd1e13.jpg

20221107_140424_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.55d9b5a41ef5b6b9336b71dce749aea1.jpg

My favourite 🤪😋😋😋😋

20221107_153615_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.7dd0bb66f2577325f3c4a910724eee15.jpg

Mongkok Dim Sum 

20221105_173026_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.f78a8373938b98e68b02bf9c64525438.jpg

20221105_173022_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.5e3548befef1bc12d40abe1cf1777ce4.jpg

20221105_173017_copy_2001x1440.thumb.jpg.e043ec9b883bf00292d11329b444c8c7.jpg

20221105_173013_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.db80d81c39fc0b9d7761782a4adbfb83.jpg

Granny's Pancake 

20221106_111028_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.9a49fc30c90bca2d76c31c2a3338a521.jpg

20221106_111039_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.d50d2027e0de8a3707c8958f3aed0143.jpg

Sesame Chicken, Fish Maw and Pig's Stomach with Chicken soup. 👍😋😋😋😋

20221105_131225_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.f9a9ddba55d7aa2781924a5516c9073b.jpg

20221105_131222_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.378b5a6255acc8b8a63a398feb611650.jpg

YTF from Bt Merah Central. Standard dropped with price increase 😔😅🤪

20221104_182924_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.28ac6db0b07077a65fe5153661f7954b.jpg

Curry gravy

20221104_182926_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.41737f3b9c9cb17d8878e16409a0ce8d.jpg

20221104_182929_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.8f38ea1266a88239acc884d97ab31095.jpg

20221104_182921_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.5829f82b66df11e23287963783182726.jpg

Chicken Rice 😋😋😋😋

20221104_143528_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.485f60bc323207f61eabf5065afb6c13.jpg

20221104_143543_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.f889e8edbc5fc06e82902f2c65b63084.jpg

This Honey Soy fried chicken cmi. No definitive taste, better to stick with original. 

20221105_223425_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.7bab58947b40e699098f89d0266d3d2e.jpg

20221105_223429_copy_2000x1375.thumb.jpg.67e72d12caefcc3804d644715fa6d206.jpg

20221105_223455_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.5280964a26dd29b9ec16723ebfe7ce43.jpg

20221105_223440_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.ac3085af8849e7f48c237b289637e9b1.jpg

Standard choice of drink with most meals :

20221105_134124_copy_2016x1512_copy_1008x756.thumb.jpg.5deffe23a53b83865256bbfff4ddc468.jpg

20221104_144513_copy_1512x2016_copy_756x1008.thumb.jpg.f98a01e04db20ac1b77853b8b52efb07.jpg

Stay safe all 

Busy indeed...more makan than usual 😂

2 hours ago, Tohto said:

The photo of the char siew does not impress me leh..

They are famous for sho bak.

Char siew is all lean as my OC requested. Not bad got the char taste.

6 hours ago, Lala81 said:

43+ sgd per kg for char siew and shao rou. Not cheap siah. That's almost singapore price levels already. 

KL pork prices quite high.

i had this siew yoke fan in KL a few weeks ago at RM14. Serving is quite generous and they use "japanese pearl rice"

325851465_WhatsAppImage2022-11-08at20_26_03.thumb.jpeg.b2bc807499415c69514278466b8f0871.jpeg

next time i'll try this Berkshire Kurobuta roast pork

1536723133_WhatsAppImage2022-11-08at20_26.03(1).thumb.jpeg.8eab634f77d08e64e63d3ca11e8bae22.jpeg

but parking there is a PITA. i gave up and paid valet parking Rm10 niah. 

• Praise 17

1 hour ago, Hamburger said:

They are famous for sho bak.

Char siew is all lean as my OC requested. Not bad got the char taste.

My personal take on 烧肉 in general is that hawker or these type of mass market restaurant can only reach a certain level. 

If u eat in proper Chinese restaurant, it's just going to be juicier and have crisper skin.

Cos it's made in smaller volume, they can sacrifice more of the edges not giving you the over salted/brined parts and they use combi ovens which have much more precise temperature control compared to these type of mass furnace type of oven. 

But price of course also different. 

Char siew then I don't find any significant advantage. Cos it's mostly charring and the flavor comes mostly from the glaze. 

8 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

My personal take on 烧肉 in general is that hawker or these type of mass market restaurant can only reach a certain level. 

If u eat in proper Chinese restaurant, it's just going to be juicier and have crisper skin.

Cos it's made in smaller volume, they can sacrifice more of the edges not giving you the over salted/brined parts and they use combi ovens which have much more precise temperature control compared to these type of mass furnace type of oven. 

Char siew then I don't find any significant advantage. Cos it's mostly charring and the flavor comes mostly from the glaze. 

Char siew must be 50% meat and 50% meat.

Yummy

7 hours ago, Coltplussport said:

You can try the pig leg from Chong boon market. Seems very good and popular but I have not try it yet. 

Opps, it’s Choong boon market. Typo, not Cheng San….

50 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

A lot depends on timing for roast pork. I thought the Maxwell market roast pork is really good if you time it right, when the pork just came out. 
resturant portions is small, not as satisfying. 

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

I not a fan of Philippines food as mostly very sweet but when I travel there, I like their shio bak. Try different place all very good.