❤️ Living with covid - What Did You Makan Today? ❤️

Jman888

50 minutes ago, Mason016 said:

Lol! I hear you man. Every time the dish got onion, cucumber, bell peppers etc. I end up finishing the veggies. The meat my wife and daughter whack with gusto.  [laugh] 

same, I will volunteer to finish that plate of onion [laugh]

12 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

Cook onion so nice, you all wife and family all don't like.

My family all clear up. 

The last time I ate here was when they were located in Science Park in Jurong.  Must have been more than 10 years ago.  Glad to say that the food is still good.  Nothing disappointed me at all.  The Penang CKT was particularly good and has wok hei

20220415_184241.jpg

20220415_185358.jpg

20220415_185416.jpg

20220415_192223.jpg

20220415_192415.jpg

• Praise 14

9 hours ago, Adrianli said:

The one at AMK central food centre white beehoon got wok hei. So comparing it with them.

This one : https://www.burpple.com/joyous-seafood-white-bee-hoon-at-amk-central-market-food-centre

But it closed down liao. Wifey say the soup for AMK one is full of seafood and lala taste but the restaurant one is only egg taste in the soup.

I don't proclaim to know the history of white bee hoon (who came up with it first, how's the OG suppose to taste like, etc.) but Sembawang white's version is not fried. The highlight is the stock, which the beehoon suppose to soak and suck it up. More of the subtle flavour that grow on you thing.

Most other tze char stall will fry the beehoon first, similar to how when you order sup gum beehoon (aka mixed beehoon). If you want something with wok hei and strong stock, can try woon woon at changi V. The freshness of the seafood have space for improvement, but it's got lotsa wok hei and a flavourful stock.

56 minutes ago, Loki said:

The last time I ate here was when they were located in Science Park in Jurong.  Must have been more than 10 years ago.  Glad to say that the food is still good.  Nothing disappointed me at all.  The Penang CKT was particularly good and has wok hei

20220415_184241.jpg

20220415_185358.jpg

20220415_185416.jpg

20220415_192223.jpg

20220415_192415.jpg

Their kueh pie tie is good too, and the chili-crab-like sauce of the mussels, good to dip the fried man tou in.

paradigm mall, stone pot noodles. Tonkotsu (classic set) & tomato (seafood & porky set) soup base. Deep fried enoki mushroom missing fr all e set.

Screenshot_2022-04-16-07-48-24.thumb.jpeg.2e60c7c48d7d3beef3a562733660fc46.jpegScreenshot_2022-04-16-07-48-41.thumb.jpeg.e7696db500271f78358773b804b7479d.jpegScreenshot_2022-04-16-07-49-01.thumb.jpeg.9f94385e5d8af32982c289790adbb95f.jpegScreenshot_2022-04-16-07-49-38.thumb.jpeg.ef073bc6b6526c0441426403ab856e38.jpegScreenshot_2022-04-16-07-49-18.thumb.jpeg.a9b83680ed74f37d23a063ec26982d65.jpeg

• Praise 12

Good morning. 

This is soooooo good. Just find a street store. 

68k don = $4.25

A heavy breakfast for me. 

20220416_081821.jpg

20220416_081516.jpg

Edited by Tohto
  • Praise 15

10 hours ago, Mason016 said:

The watermelon chicken is smaller these days. Think they’ve made the Mac and cheese taste less heavy. 

issit really the best fried chicken in SG?

2 hours ago, Etnt said:

I don't proclaim to know the history of white bee hoon (who came up with it first, how's the OG suppose to taste like, etc.) but Sembawang white's version is not fried. The highlight is the stock, which the beehoon suppose to soak and suck it up. More of the subtle flavour that grow on you thing.

Most other tze char stall will fry the beehoon first, similar to how when you order sup gum beehoon (aka mixed beehoon). If you want something with wok hei and strong stock, can try woon woon at changi V. The freshness of the seafood have space for improvement, but it's got lotsa wok hei and a flavourful stock.

The very first time i tried white beehoon is sembawang's version. And i don't like beehoon back then.

I believe sembawang should be the OG or close to the OG.
Cos i've never seen any white beehoon stall or even offered by anyone before my in laws dabao for me.

But u guys are older than me, so u might remember differently. 

11 hours ago, Tohto said:

All look good to me. My type of food.

i dunno. It's now very PRC like. hardly anything without chilli. Lol i dunno the quality of their other stuff like skewers. But their vegetable stir fries are always good. 

My wife also ate far more veggies than she usually does. Which she only does there.

3 hours ago, Loki said:

20220415_184241.jpg

20220415_185358.jpg

20220415_185416.jpg

20220415_192223.jpg

20220415_192415.jpg

yeah i went with my parents to suntec, i think in 2018/2019. The CKT was good.

10 hours ago, Jman888 said:

onion produces a lot of gas. I don't mind eating. I like onion. but bit too much

12 hours ago, Adrianli said:

The one at AMK central food centre white beehoon got wok hei. So comparing it with them.

This one : https://www.burpple.com/joyous-seafood-white-bee-hoon-at-amk-central-market-food-centre

But it closed down liao. Wifey say the soup for AMK one is full of seafood and lala taste but the restaurant one is only egg taste in the soup.

lol the list in your later post is bit dubious honestly. 
628 market I don't know any white beehoon stall... There's only one zi char stall which does general zhi char dishes.

U can try the one at yishun park HC if u like the soupy white beehoon version.
It's not bad. I like it more than White restaurant
https://yishunparkhc.sg/hawkers/xin-long-xing/

Sembawang White restaurant is not as good as 10+ years before. But their one the gravy taste has always been subtle. Not as strong as the current more modern versions. More eggy and more suitable for older folks to eat. I have to say it really wow-ed me when I ate it so many years back.

I guess if i want wok hei i would eat xing zhou mi fen.

3 hours ago, zipping said:

paradigm mall, stone pot noodles. Tonkotsu (classic set) & tomato (seafood & porky set) soup base. Deep fried enoki mushroom missing fr all e set.

Screenshot_2022-04-16-07-48-24.thumb.jpeg.2e60c7c48d7d3beef3a562733660fc46.jpegScreenshot_2022-04-16-07-48-41.thumb.jpeg.e7696db500271f78358773b804b7479d.jpegScreenshot_2022-04-16-07-49-01.thumb.jpeg.9f94385e5d8af32982c289790adbb95f.jpegScreenshot_2022-04-16-07-49-38.thumb.jpeg.ef073bc6b6526c0441426403ab856e38.jpegScreenshot_2022-04-16-07-49-18.thumb.jpeg.a9b83680ed74f37d23a063ec26982d65.jpeg

Paradigm mall still around sia despite covid for long? Lol.

16 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Paradigm mall still around sia despite covid for long? Lol.

yup, surprisingly quite alot of e makan places pre covid still open.