VEP for entering Malaysia

Hammerhammer

8 minutes ago, Steptronic said:

Officially minimum 6 months. All My airports go nuts on this. Actually the system throws an error on the screen as soon as the passport is scanned by officers. These errors are sometimes (or most of the times?!) ignored by road side officers. You can try your luck or if you are caught, you can even reqeust officer to allow this time ONLY. This also happens. Worst case you need to send back your parents from there or drop them back.

All the best.

I think Sg CIQ will pull him aside and advise NOT to go ahead.  If don't go ahead, ICA will escort the car u-turn.

If go ahead, it is pure luck on Msia side.

11 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

SMART TAG uses infra-red

ERP use some kind of short-range radio frequency

VEP/TnG RFID use RFID

All 3 are different.

Since Msia has gantry, no need camera unless it is a Lambo.

The gantry is causing the jam in MY.  It won't lift if it can't read the code. 

Just take picture and issue summons like in Singapore. 

Come to think of it, gantry also not cheap to maintain.

ERP is RFID technology lah.

ERP gantries erected at roads prone to congestion use Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) technology to automatically collect a fee from any vehicle passing under them during their operating hours.

https://www.mot.gov.sg/what-we-do/motoring-road-network-and-infrastructure/Electronic-Road-Pricing

15 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

I think Sg CIQ will pull him aside and advise NOT to go ahead.  If don't go ahead, ICA will escort the car u-turn.

Just renew passport. I have however heard of people being allowed into MY with less than 6 months validity. 

25 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Between the two, it is no contest for me. I already kpkb about the  new high tech gigantic IU unit LTA is insisting on installing on my dashboard, adding a fugly smart tag is a no no.

The issue with MY system is they have no money to install camera at each toll booth, unlike in Singapore, where we have no need for gantry and use cameras to take picture of vehicles with insufficient money in their cashcard.  

Both our ERP and MY system are using RFID technology, if I am not wrong.

676DAD41-611C-4FF8-8034-6F65B67BEB76.jpeg

F3739D89-42DE-4A69-AE1B-5FB060CF6A73.jpeg

1) i don't know of any malaysians that leave the smart tag on dashboard. It's always kept out of sight except when approaching toll booth. Security issue, at slight inconvenience. 

2) RFID got two distinct types - passive (msia RFID) vs active (SG IU). Not quite right to say they are similar. 

33 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

From the videos I have watched, a lot of issues arise coz the tag is pasted too near metal surfaces (it interferes with the reading).

The instruction is to paste it on the left headlamp and at least 5cm away from any metal parts, hence windscreen may be better location.

This one is not in accordance with the instruction provided.

DD30BD05-E663-4B3C-9C12-F901A5AAB088.jpeg

My one is like that... you think pass or not? Fitted by the technician at the JPJ pop-up fitment centre at Lima Kedia in 2019...

Zke9GMoH_o.jpg

Anyway, next year is 2023... and my tag will expire on 2024 (5 years from 2019)... means some time next year must apply again... ha!

Edited by teomingern

8 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

not if u drive in. 

flight - yes. 

Flight also not required. I flew to KL a couple of weeks ago. But, finger prints were taken

11 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Just renew passport. I have however heard of people being allowed into MY with less than 6 months validity. 

I think Malaysia allows 4 months, that's what I remember reading in the past but may not be relevant anymore...

Just now, Steptronic said:

Flight also not required. I flew to KL a couple of weeks ago. But, finger prints were taken

Everyone moving towards biometric and electronic clearance... maybe one day don't need physical passport with blockchain tech...

29 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Sg side, it is more of a favour to us. We can enter Sg with less than 6 months validity.

43 minutes ago, Steptronic said:

Officially minimum 6 months. All My airports go nuts on this. Actually the system throws an error on the screen as soon as the passport is scanned by officers. These errors are sometimes (or most of the times?!) ignored by road side officers. You can try your luck or if you are caught, you can even reqeust officer to allow this time ONLY. This also happens. Worst case you need to send back your parents from there or drop them back.

All the best.

Ya man, so now my BIL going to ICA with hotel booking slip to ask for super expedite on their passport renewal, so if can be done by 10th Dec! Fingers crossed.

10 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

1) i don't know of any malaysians that leave the smart tag on dashboard. It's always kept out of sight except when approaching toll booth. Security issue, at slight inconvenience. 

2) RFID got two distinct types - passive (msia RFID) vs active (SG IU). Not quite right to say they are similar. 

Isn't that more troublesome, go near gantry, scramble to position the smart tag? 

Thanks for sharing, so ours got signal booster (powered by the car) and that is why our ERP reader can be 3m high? 

12 minutes ago, teomingern said:

My one is like that... you think pass or not? Fitted by the technician at the JPJ pop-up fitment centre at Lima Kedia in 2019...

Zke9GMoH_o.jpg

Anyway, next year is 2023... and my tag will expire on 2024 (5 years from 2019)... means some time next year must apply again... ha!

Confirmed pass, you have driven up a couple of times, right?D401349E-02E5-4D71-BB5C-6D9660C8276D.thumb.jpeg.5c4e2cf8cb06ccbdef854500cdc4985b.jpeg

This is mine. I will feedback when I drive up north soon.  

9 minutes ago, AndrewLee72 said:

Ya man, so now my BIL going to ICA with hotel booking slip to ask for super expedite on their passport renewal, so if can be done by 10th Dec! Fingers crossed.

I got my passport in 1 day before... cos I came back from one trip, and stupid stupid left it in my pants and it was washed in the machine... got a good telling off at ICA and I got it within the day cos I was leaving in 3 days time for the next trip... the officer said - one time only, next time no more passport, use travel document... - and I sit there like a kindergarten kid and 'guai guai' suck it up lor...

5 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Confirmed pass, you have driven up a couple of times, right?D401349E-02E5-4D71-BB5C-6D9660C8276D.thumb.jpeg.5c4e2cf8cb06ccbdef854500cdc4985b.jpeg

This is mine. I will feedback when I drive up north soon.  

Yeah, but never got the payment via the e-wallet to work at all... I have been in twice only - once in June, once in Oct...

But you said before your road charge was deducted on your e-wallet lor... so yours confirm work right?

12 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Isn't that more troublesome, go near gantry, scramble to position the smart tag? 

Thanks for sharing, so ours got signal booster (powered by the car) and that is why our ERP reader can be 3m high? 

Not sure leh... now RFID got to scramble to align the car... I think that's harder than positioning the SMART tag? I don't know...