Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

5 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

MP is not necessarily a Minister.  
they hold normal day jobs. So depending on their jobs, businessman, doctor, lawyer etc, they can be multi millionaires in their own right

so why not?  

True, so not wrong to know if they have 'gained' from this appointment right? Not all lawyers and even specialist have $30 m too.

Edited by Victor68

4 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

more than half of white MPs are office bearers ie receiving additional celery plus MP allowance, like Snr Parliament Secretary, Mayors, Ministers of State, Speaker etc. I think should be at least 800k a year total. 

Pure MPs taking only the miserable 180k allowance (the number in my mind) is a small minority, unless they are from the oppos.

You have just highlighted the salary they multi tasked within their limited hours per day as a super human. 😆

7 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

True, so not wrong to know if they have 'gained' from this appointment right? Not all lawyers and even specialist have $30 m too.

You mean just like how celebrities also open cafe, salon, restaurant?  Heehee

42 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

Seems that many dishonest hawkers are coming up with such stunts. 

rice 1.50
taogei 1.50
Box 0.50

Lmao 😅

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

Taogei also so expensive?? 😅
This cost 3.50

image.thumb.png.599d7c14b4ffb55857f7f6892781756d.png

Another sensational picture without back story.

https://mothership.sg/2022/12/rice-bean-sprouts-expensive/

Stall assistant's side of story

A 27-year-old stall assistant told Shin Min that he recalls the incident, which took place on Sunday, Dec. 4 at around 1pm.

He explained that the stall he works at mainly does set meals, and rarely does it serve rice with à la carte dishes.

He added: "The domestic helper said she wanted a vegetable set meal, but also said she couldn't finish it. All she needed was bean sprouts, rice, and curry sauce."

An available vegetarian set meal offered by the stall is rice served with two types of vegetables, curry sauce, and papadam for S$4.

Customer informed

The stall assistant also claimed he had told the customer beforehand that by purchasing just rice, bean sprouts, and a splash of curry sauce, it will only be 50 cents cheaper than the set meal.

He added, providing a breakdown of prices: "Both the rice and bean sprouts cost S$1.50 each, while the curry sauce is 50 cents."

"The domestic helper was told about this price and she agreed to it," he also said.

"I didn't expect her employer to question me afterwards. After I explained to him, he left and I didn’t expect him to post the matter on Facebook later.”

17 hours ago, Ghgan said:

A 27-year-old stall assistant told Shin Min that he recalls the incident, which took place on Sunday, Dec. 4 at around 1pm.

He explained that the stall he works at mainly does set meals, and rarely does it serve rice with à la carte dishes.

He added: "The domestic helper said she wanted a vegetable set meal, but also said she couldn't finish it. All she needed was bean sprouts, rice, and curry sauce."

An available vegetarian set meal offered by the stall is rice served with two types of vegetables, curry sauce, and papadam for S$4.

Customer informed

The stall assistant also claimed he had told the customer beforehand that by purchasing just rice, bean sprouts, and a splash of curry sauce, it will only be 50 cents cheaper than the set meal.

He added, providing a breakdown of prices: "Both the rice and bean sprouts cost S$1.50 each, while the curry sauce is 50 cents."

"The domestic helper was told about this price and she agreed to it," he also said.

"I didn't expect her employer to question me afterwards. After I explained to him, he left and I didn’t expect him to post the matter on Facebook later.”

this will teach people that it doesnt mean if you had said it and it was agreed, it would still be right.  Profiteering means profiteering and so you get publicity

17 hours ago, Ghgan said:

Customer informed

People won’t waste time argue with hawker on the 3.5 one

one post, you hum zhim Peng ah

34 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

this will teach people that it doesnt mean if you had said it and it was agreed, it would still be right.  Profiteering means profiteering and so you get publicity

Fast food restaurant had been doing that for donkey years already. Value Meal for Filet-O-Fish cost $5.80 come with Medium Fries and Small Coke. When order ala carte Filet-O-Fish cost $3.70. Medium Fries $3.40, Small Coke  $2.85. Not sure why people are more acceptable to fast food pricing strategy as compare to hawker.
Some hawkers have minimum cost of the food price.
Any food order less than their minimum cost, it will cost minimum cost.
E.g. minimum cost = $3.50
If you order 1 or 2 vegs + rice which is less than minimum cost, it will cost $3.50.

Just now, Ghgan said:

Fast food restaurant had been doing that for donkey years already. Value Meal for Filet-O-Fish cost $5.80 come with Medium Fries and Small Coke. When order ala carte Filet-O-Fish cost $3.70. Medium Fries $3.40, Small Coke  $2.85. Not sure why people are more acceptable to fast food pricing strategy as compare to hawker.
Some hawkers have minimum cost of the food price.
Any food order less than their minimum cost, it will cost minimum cost.
E.g. minimum cost = $3.50
If you order 1 or 2 vegs + rice which is less than minimum cost, it will cost $3.50.

no leh, if i run a hawker stall, i would sell her for $2 max.  Becos hawker decides every MF thing in his own stall.

he can decide to close and not serve.   But profiteering means profiteering.

hawker stall dont take come and compare with global organization lah

• Sad 1

18 hours ago, Ghgan said:

Customer informed

That  extra curry sauce cost 50 cents?

If this goes on,  next time stalls will charge the extra chillies and soya sauce that we take on the side for our food. Maybe a dash of pepper will also charge.

Edited by Starry

39 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

no leh, if i run a hawker stall, i would sell her for $2 max.  Becos hawker decides every MF thing in his own stall.

he can decide to close and not serve.   But profiteering means profiteering.

hawker stall dont take come and compare with global organization lah

I guess when the price is stated or communicated, the customer should decide if they still want to buy. 

every single dish needs profit, some more than other. 
nothing too wrong as long as it’s transparent in my opinion. 

some stalls BCM sells for $4 but some sells for $10. 

can say that it’s expensive but cant say that its wrong. 

public should/will vote with their wallet 

9 minutes ago, Starry said:

That  extra curry sauce cost 50 cents?

If this goes on,  next time stalls will charge the extra chillies and soya sauce that we take on the side for our food. Maybe a dash of pepper will also charge.

There are already stalls that charge extra for chilli 

13 minutes ago, Dp26 said:

There are already stalls that charge extra for chilli 

yes ... especially for chicken rice where chilli is the winning factor

give standard 1 pack/serving chilli , extra chilli = extra charge

chicken rice without chilli many many where got shiok  [mad]  ... especially with spare parts! [laugh] 

347933580_Innards.jpg

even korean foodstall also no give ownself "top up" kimchi liao ... [bigcry] 

14 minutes ago, Dp26 said:

I guess when the price is stated or communicated, the customer should decide if they still want to buy. 

every single dish needs profit, some more than other. 
nothing too wrong as long as it’s transparent in my opinion. 

some stalls BCM sells for $4 but some sells for $10. 

can say that it’s expensive but cant say that its wrong. 

public should/will vote with their wallet 

Yes public must vote with their wallet.

but businesses should also not profiteer

now everyone is just using every excuse they have to raise prices. Thanks to you know who and you know what😄😁🤣

Edited by Throttle2

1 hour ago, Throttle2 said:

Yes public must vote with their wallet.

but businesses should also not profiteer

now everyone is just using every excuse they have to raise prices. Thanks to you know who and you know what😄😁🤣

Businesses exist to make max profits for the owners. Can't blame them for maximising their profits, unless they are in a monopolistic situation/collusion in which case the gahmen must step in to regulate.

I don't mind hawkers charging more and make more money as I can choose to go elsewhere, but SQ tickets, petrol stations vehicle inspections etc... those I mind as there are no alternative! 

12 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Businesses exist to make max profits for the owners. Can't blame them for maximising their profits, unless they are in a monopolistic situation/collusion in which case the gahmen must step in to regulate.

I don't mind hawkers charging more and make more money as I can choose to go elsewhere, but SQ tickets, petrol stations vehicle inspections etc... those I mind as there are no alternative! 

SQ no alternative? Daily consumables must maintain lah. If government give you $400 to offset inflation, it is only $1 per day for 1 year. Better they stop those $1m bin center.