Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 6/24/2022 at 8:08 AM, Scion said:

if a 2-3 year recession is inevitable, then hopefully we will have a great reset in prices, stock/crypto bubble, properties, wealth gap between rich and poor, everything

Wah, you iron rice bowl? 

singapore ... singapore ... singapore ....

tencent , alibaba , tiktok ... 欢迎 欢迎 ... lai lai lai

short term inflation pressure sup sup water ... 

long term all salary no $20K per month no talk [thumbsup] 

14 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

🤣🤣

These issues signal to Wong that the government needs to do more to provide more assurances for Singaporeans.

"Every Singaporean must know and feel that they will not be left to fend for themselves when times are hard," said Wong.

https://mothership.sg/2022/06/lawrence-wong-singaporeans-hard-times/?fbclid=IwAR0L9DI16a4NRrAbk75VOE2AesIoKscD3KPksch6H5i_C8_NTmCIsxWlV2k&fs=e&s=cl

Then scrap the GST increase and reduce petrol tax la…clown.

’Reducing petrol tax is equivalent to giving a subsidy’.

….. I think it is not productive to keep arguing what tax to cut and what money to give.

I rather the gov focus on cutting costs…

one good thing gov has done recently. Cutting the cost of cancer drugs through their bargaining power instead of just letting market forces dictate. 
‘things like sourcing additional supplies of food, etc. 

cutting costs and improving economy and jobs should always be the main focus to fight inflation… vs cutting tax or giving subsidies…

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/cancer-treatment-cost-insurance-premiums-will-rise-if-healthcare-financing-liberally-extended-moh

Edited by Wind30

28 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

….. I think it is not productive to keep arguing what tax to cut and what money to give.

I rather the gov focus on cutting costs…

one good thing gov has done recently. Cutting the cost of cancer drugs through their bargaining power instead of just letting market forces dictate. 
‘things like sourcing additional supplies of food, etc. 

cutting costs and improving economy and jobs should always be the main focus to fight inflation… vs cutting tax or giving subsidies…

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/cancer-treatment-cost-insurance-premiums-will-rise-if-healthcare-financing-liberally-extended-moh

Cutting cost I agree.

Let’s start with the bloated govt, more specifically the mayor role shall we? 

The man said it himself.

B8B59A35-8AE4-4C47-A214-6A566E8EA3B6.jpeg

Edited by Fcw75

Inflation is a good thing.

People are getting fatter, more diabetes, high blood pressure, obesity etc.

Food so ex cut down expensive sugars and fats and fast food and lose weight and be healthier.

Why people only see the negative side?

3 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Inflation is a good thing.

People are getting fatter, more diabetes, high blood pressure, obesity etc.

Food so ex cut down expensive sugars and fats and fast food and lose weight and be healthier.

Why people only see the negative side?

cos u everyday see ur MIL, so everything else seem positive after lor.

On 6/24/2022 at 8:08 AM, Scion said:

if a 2-3 year recession is inevitable, then hopefully we will have a great reset in prices, stock/crypto bubble, properties, wealth gap between rich and poor, everything

can already tell you are still asleep and dreaming

15 hours ago, Wt_know said:

reduce petrol tax “savings” will not transfer to comsumer … this one i believe

the kopi-c price will not come down because they say operation cost goes up due to high petrol price

school bus, goods delivery price will not come down and they continue to blame high fuel cost

once company raise their price … they will not reduce

all learn from the best ah gong liao

Crisis-hit Sri Lanka shuts schools, urges work-from-home to save fuel

https://www.thejakartapost.com/paper/2022/06/27/crisis-hit-sri-lanka-shuts-schools-urges-work-from-home-to-save-fuel.html

• Sad 1

For now, i cannot find a good reason for GST to be increased.   
other forms of Consumption taxes already cover for it.  
GST in my opinion should stay at 7% or in fact be reduced to 5% as interest rates climb. 
dont ask me why, i am not the finance minister. 
muayhahahah. 

GLSGL

31 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

WLN!! tomato $3.70 per kg ....... usually under $2/- a kg at wet market  

I never liked tomatoes.

I only eat it if it's a sauce.

28 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

GST in my opinion should stay at 7% or in fact be reduced to 5% as interest rates climb. 
muayhahahah. 

GLSGL

I agree, in a highly inflationary environment, why give merchants another excuse to increase prices? We are not running a deficit, it is all on paper only. Timing wise, i am sure it could be deferred. 

54 minutes ago, denser said:

got inflation meh...property, car and travel so hot now

Buy now before inflation erodes your purchasing power. 😂

Good thing about all this is it makes me do involuntary intermittent fasting.

Hopefully can see sixpack soon. 

17 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

I never liked tomatoes.

I only eat it if it's a sauce.

Ya lor u like every saucy  stuff oni 🤣🤣

1 hour ago, Throttle2 said:

muayhahahah. 

GLSGL

Cutting GST while increasing interest rates basically keeps things unchanged, mentally. It doesn't combat inflation as people will spend on the basis things are unchanged.

Habits (spending) changes during those difficult times, prioritizing essentials over luxuries except those that can afford.

It's a good excuse for those that inherently cannot afford the luxuries, to not buy. Flip side is it adds pressure to appear to be one that can afford them.

No easy answer.