Outlook for post-Covid recovery clouded, recession could hit 'within next 2 years': PM Lee

@Volvobrick COE will never drop South, it is G's coffer that makes them happy and keep their blanket warmth@night, literally this silly piece of Paper ( See hor Ee ) translate in Hokkien, we are the one and only states in the whole wide world that suck motorists blood dry, yet some very happy to bid higher just to get it 🤭

11 minutes ago, Meanmachine said:

@Volvobrick COE will never drop South, it is G's coffer that makes them happy and keep their blanket warmth@night, literally this silly piece of Paper ( See hor Ee ) translate in Hokkien, we are the one and only states in the whole wide world that suck motorists blood dry, yet some very happy to bid higher just to get it 🤭

Can't tell. Main thing is interest rates is going to increase a lot. It may cause some to drop out of the market. Good for MCFers who pay full cash if course! 

Explainer: What will likely cause a recession by 2024 that PM Lee cautioned about?

• Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on May 1 that there may be a recession in 2023 or 2024
  • Analysts said some factors that could lead to a recession include the Russia-Ukraine war and China's strict zero-Covid-19 regime
  • It could happen faster than Mr Lee’s prediction if there is a rapid deterioration in global demand conditions, coupled with an escalation in the Russia-Ukraine crisis, one economist said
  • Job losses and cuts in wages are to be expected should a recession hit Singapore

1 hour ago, noobcarbuyer said:

Explainer: What will likely cause a recession by 2024 that PM Lee cautioned about?

• Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on May 1 that there may be a recession in 2023 or 2024
  • Analysts said some factors that could lead to a recession include the Russia-Ukraine war and China's strict zero-Covid-19 regime
  • It could happen faster than Mr Lee’s prediction if there is a rapid deterioration in global demand conditions, coupled with an escalation in the Russia-Ukraine crisis, one economist said
  • Job losses and cuts in wages are to be expected should a recession hit Singapore

So properties and car prices still up?  Sell one hdb buy two condos still can?  Winning option trading strategies still work?  Guru masterclasses still huat?    

If so, then no problem lah

23 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Can't tell. Main thing is interest rates is going to increase a lot. It may cause some to drop out of the market. Good for MCFers who pay full cash if course! 

Our Mcfers are One of A Kind de, Uniquely Singaporeans bery Richie Rich. Tio bo 🤪

8 hours ago, noobcarbuyer said:

What PM LSL said is/was, correct, it has been more than 2+yrs since Covid the trouble maker of this special edition of virus kept bugging us else we be flying in/out of town everyone and then, Since the topic of Recession, I reckon this could give us a guideline of how bad the conditions and situations can be, over the wide range of spectrums heavily hit are the Tourism, Aviation, Manufacturing & Production, Oil & Gas, F&Bs, Hawkers and All form of transportation has had taken a nose dive while focuses. are on Hospitality, wellness & various related sectors are badly hit as well, resulting in Govt providing financial aids and subsidies, not forgetting many fellow Singaporeans were being lockdown@home, W@H were the name of the game too. Everybody were masked up, can't see faces 😷

In mere sight restricted to a standstill in our downtown fighting the C-19 hands in hands. We could have been a badly punctured by the severity of our medical staffs overloading with fatigue and deprive of sleep. I could have vivid memory of Govt making a " Tikum Tikum " decision on the daily new positive cases. gg forwards, aren't we glad we fought this C-19 together, the recession was part and parcel of C-19, but It were a dreadful, yet painful decision the Multi task force gang-up mastering all their heavily soiled minds together, we are really happy the borders remains closed till the very end, Gosh How I dread it could be worse than dead if we didn't come upon with a executed and well time contingency plan. 

In short, I could say the recession were a matter of time since we can't only see daylight, as we did not suffers alone. All the world a stage, the Year 2020-2022 could not have been any better living with COVID. ( Don't want to talk about Russia and Ukraine invasion here )🤭

Expect Chronic Inflation, Says CIO of Singapore’s Sovereign Wealth Fund

At the Milken Institute Global Conference, institutional investors discussed rethinking their allocations, as the inflationary environment seems likely to be here for the long haul.

Institutional investors at the Milken Institute Global Conference panel yesterday titled “Institutional Investors: Long-Term Strategic Thinkers” revealed that they are taking inflation more seriously.  Previously, the Federal Reserve and other experts had referred to inflation as merely “transitory,” a comforting idea to institutional investors, who invest for decades as opposed to months.

“We see inflation being more chronic over the next decade,” said Rohit Sipahimalani, CIO of Singaporean sovereign wealth fund Temasek International.

For Sipahimalani, this has meant having to shift investment strategy in a way that he has never seen before.

“In the last 20 years, when we constructed our portfolio, we always talked about having things that did well in all different environments,” said Sipahimalani. “But the high-inflation environment was not something that people looked at that seriously. And I think we now need to look at that much more seriously.”

As a result, Temasek is looking at more asset classes that they would not have previously considered.

“We don’t invest right now in things like metals and mining. But we are starting to wonder—should we?” said Sipahimalani. “More importantly, I would say in almost every investment we do now, looking at the pricing power of that company or the business becomes much more important.”

Raphael Arndt, CEO of Australian sovereign wealth fund Future Fund, agreed with Sipahimalani about the long-term potential for inflation.

“Right now we know that inflation will become more embedded in society, because we’ve got some supply constraints, as well as very, very loose monetary policy and very loose and populist fiscal policy,” said Arndt.

Arndt clarified that while he believes a productivity boom that counteracts inflation is in the realm of possibility—and that he is prepared for multiple scenarios—he’s not hedging his bets on it.

‘We see a big recession in the making’: Top CEOs are fearing the worst in Europe

• The CEOs of several European blue chip companies have told CNBC that they see a significant recession coming down the pike in Europe.
  • The euro zone faces concurrent economic shocks from the war in Ukraine and a surge in food and energy prices exacerbated by the conflict, along with a supply shock from China’s zero-Covid policy.
  • Stefan Hartung, CEO of German engineering and technology giant Bosch, told CNBC that the company sees “a big recession in the making.”

Timing always linked somewhat with GE

steady hand rhetoric rocks!!

Wooohooo. 

Recession, retrenchment, song ah!

Cash is King!  
All the smart asses like hedge fund gurus, fixed income champs, stock experts are wrong, yet again….😁

Edited by Throttle2

45 minutes ago, awhtc said:

10-year Treasury yield is already hitting 3.15... 

For the past 6 times whenever it inched so near yet retreated eventually...this time is for real ...gonna readjust my breakfast set options liao 😅

Edited by mersaylee

Rolex prices and AP also dropping 

watching the 5711 soften 

14 hours ago, noobcarbuyer said:

‘We see a big recession in the making’: Top CEOs are fearing the worst in Europe

• The CEOs of several European blue chip companies have told CNBC that they see a significant recession coming down the pike in Europe.
  • The euro zone faces concurrent economic shocks from the war in Ukraine and a surge in food and energy prices exacerbated by the conflict, along with a supply shock from China’s zero-Covid policy.
  • Stefan Hartung, CEO of German engineering and technology giant Bosch, told CNBC that the company sees “a big recession in the making.”

Usually if everyone is talking about it or "preparing" for it, then it either never happens or at worst, very soft impact.

It is only when no one talks about it,  the market will crash and burns.

8 hours ago, RadX said:

Rolex prices and AP also dropping 

watching the 5711 soften 

Drop drop drop. 👍👌👏🏻

On 5/1/2022 at 11:22 PM, noobcarbuyer said:

No recession, so many foreign investments :grin:, this is one of them.

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/¬chinese-national-buys-20-units-canninghill-piers-over-85-mil

Chinese national buys 20 units at CanningHill Piers for over $85 mil

SINGAPORE (EDGEPROP) - Word on the street is that a Chinese buyer recently purchased 20 units in a bulk deal at luxury condo CanningHill Piers. The total purchase price is believed to be over $85 million for the units. The deal was brokered by agents from ERA Realty Network.

be0d96-BLD-CANNINGHILL-PIERS-4BR-SHOWFLA

https://www.reuters.com/markets/europe/global-markets-wrapup-1-2022-06-02/

Inflation, recession worries drag down Asian shares; oil skids

SHANGHAI, June 2 (Reuters) - Asian share markets slipped on Thursday on widespread investor concern over high inflation and the threat of recession, while oil prices slumped following a report of reassurances from Saudi Arabia over production.

In Europe, shares were set to nudge higher at the open after regional indexes notched two days in the red. Euro Stoxx 50 futures were up 0.16% and German DAX futures added less than 0.1%, while FTSE futures were flat.

Global benchmark Brent crude was down about 2% at $114.02 per barrel ahead of a meeting of oil producing countries later in the day, which is expected to pave the way for output increases. OIL/

U.S. crude also dipped around 2% to $112.97.

The fall in oil prices gathered pace after the Financial Times reported that Saudi Arabia may be prepared to raise oil production in the event of a sharp drop in Russia's output. read more

"This will be well received by Western leaders given inflation – and inflation expectations – remain eye wateringly high, and central banks try to raise rates at the risk of tipping their economies into a recession," said Matt Simpson, senior market analyst at City Index in Sydney.

"More supply essentially soothes some of those inflationary fears, even if there is a lot more work to do when it comes to fighting inflation."

Carlos Casanova, senior Asian economist at Union Bancaire Privee in Hong Kong, said that amid reports that China and India are buying oil at a steep discount from Russia, an increase in Saudi production could see oil prices stabilise at around $100-$110 per barrel.

MSCI's broadest index of Asia-Pacific shares outside Japan (.MIAPJ0000PUS) was down 1.4% in afternoon trade. China's blue-chip index (.CSI300) fell 0.1%, Australian shares (.AXJO) lost 1%, and Seoul's KOSPI (.KS11) slid 1.1%.

In Tokyo, the Nikkei (.N225) slipped 0.25%.

Investors' worries over inflation and recession have festered amid uncertainty caused by the U.S. Federal Reserve's pace of interest rate hikes, the impact of the Russia-Ukraine war on food and commodity prices, and supply chain constraints exacerbated by strict COVID-19 curbs in China.

On Wednesday, a survey showing stronger-than-expected U.S. manufacturing activity in May did little to assuage those concerns. Jamie Dimon, chairman and chief executive of JPMorgan Chase & Co (JPM.N), likened the challenges facing the U.S. economy to a "hurricane". read more

Rodrigo Catril, senior FX strategist at NAB, said details of the survey showed price signals "still consistent with extremely strong inflationary pressures" and negative employment growth in the manufacturing sector.

"The services sector is the big U.S. employer so it will be important to see what the Services ISM reveals on Friday," he said.

A new survey of South Korean factory activity on Thursday showed slowing growth in May as import and export orders shrank, the latest indicator of global manufacturing woes. read more

While the stronger U.S. manufacturing data did little to lift U.S. shares overnight, it supported the dollar as yields pushed to two-week highs.

In Asian trade, the global dollar index was steady at 102.56, while the yen firmed slightly to 130.04 per dollar as U.S. yields inched lower. The euro edged up 0.05% to $1.0651.

Benchmark U.S. 10-year Treasury notes last yielded 2.9076%, down from a U.S. close of 2.931% on Wednesday, while the two-year yield slipped to 2.6540% from a close of 2.664%.

The lower yields kept gold prices steady after hitting a two-week low on Wednesday. Spot gold was barely higher at $1,846.46 per ounce.

K232S7T53RNRJOBN56YG5WWZJM.jpg

Edited by Windwaver