COE Bidding – June 2022

Carbon82

3 hours ago, mikk123 said:

why go dempsey leh? other place got even better food lah😁

Dempsey is not just for the food. They go there to showcase their cars lei 😂  car meetups are held there

Please advise:

when the COE goes up, AD’s give discounts but do they usually give higher trade-in values for your old car?

is it cheaper to buy a new car when COE is high but AD’s give discount & higher trade-in value or cheaper to buy a new car without discount and lower trade-in value?

When cars are cheaper, will you only get “paper value” + $1k to $2k?

Edited by SLing

Motor dealers expect COE premiums to break $110k record as early as August

SINGAPORE - Car buyers may soon have to deal with certificate of entitlement (COE) prices breaking the $110,500 record set in 1994, with premiums in two categories crossing the six-digit mark in the two latest tender exercises in June.

Motor traders are expecting prices to break the 28-year-old record as early as August, based on their projected reduction in the supply of COEs from August to October.

As for how far beyond the record premiums can go, their estimations range between $115,000 and $120,000 for the large car category. Few believe - or dare to imagine - that premiums can go beyond that.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/motor-dealers-expect-coe-premiums-to-break-110k-record-by-august

Speculative bidding fuels COE price spiral

For now, there is no sign of policy intervention.

But if nothing is done - and done soon - COE prices look certain to soar well past 1994's record.

And individual car buyers will continue to bear the brunt of a wildly cyclical auction which has less to do with supply and demand, and more with greed and manipulation.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/speculative-bidding-fuels-coe-price-spiral

Prospective buyer here, hoping to scoop a CAT A within 1 - 1.5 year.

We have been grabbing mostly, but feel that a car is quite an essential with a kid coming along.

Any insights on COE prices in the coming quarters?

Quite disappointed that COE has risen to such levels, I'm quite baffled why are PHV vehicles drawing from the same pool.

On 7/1/2022 at 9:11 AM, Tianmo said:

I know of someone who was entitled to company car with driver,  but she sold the car and let the driver go, and takes uberexec everyday.  She said cheaper and more effective,  and of course she still gets E class or 5er.  This was when Uber was still here.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Poor driver... 😕

• Sad 1

31 minutes ago, detached2007 said:

We have been grabbing mostly, but feel that a car is quite an essential with a kid coming along.

Quite disappointed that COE has risen to such levels, I'm quite baffled why are PHV vehicles drawing from the same pool.

Get a 2nd hand good condition car with child safety fearures. 

41 minutes ago, detached2007 said:

Dealers are speculating the next quarter coe will decrease hence price will go up further. News of next quarter quota will be release after next bid.

1 hour ago, detached2007 said:

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltagov/who_we_are/statistics_and_publications/statistics/pdf/M01-03M-Age.pdf

With zero growth, the link will tell you the supply going forward. Supply is at its tightest this year and maybe next year (lagging effect) and with demand being super strong with the reopening of the country, you had better budget more and not less. Just buy a used car and swap to a new one when supply is more normalized.

It is really simple demand and supply curve, not some rocket science. 

So those calling for smlj Cat N (for the Needy) have never learnt from 30 years of COE history. 

Sorry for being brutal. 

2 hours ago, detached2007 said:

Should be remaining high, at least until 2023.

3 hours ago, detached2007 said:

Just buy a used 5-year old Japanese/Korean car. During the last cycle, people who bought at $90k COE ended up trading in for a new car when COE dropped back to below $30k. Of course, they lost a lot of money in the process.

2 hours ago, Voodooman said:

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltagov/who_we_are/statistics_and_publications/statistics/pdf/M01-03M-Age.pdf

With zero growth, the link will tell you the supply going forward. Supply is at its tightest this year and maybe next year (lagging effect) and with demand being super strong with the reopening of the country, you had better budget more and not less. Just buy a used car and swap to a new one when supply is more normalized.

So those calling for smlj Cat N (for the Needy) have never learnt from 30 years of COE history. 

Sorry for being brutal. 

No such thing as Needy when you can easily Grab or rent from car-sharing platforms

2 hours ago, Voodooman said:

Sorry for being brutal. 

Private car ownership is a want and never a need. 

And also just because you are a professional does not automatically entitle you to a certificate of entitlement.... 

Change frens.

My frens all eat hawker centre one.

This kind of frens no stress no need to show off.

On 7/1/2022 at 8:33 AM, Ginyu said:

Aiya no need to think so much, just get the car with 10 year loan .Your friends are all driving and they jio u makan at Dempsey you take bus and walk, very lao kui one lei 😂 

13 hours ago, Vratenza said:

Get a 2nd hand good condition car with child safety fearures. 

I heard jamesc used cars got.