Malaysia / JB Makan (Pics and Places)

Davidklt

Now the the causeway and 2nd link is back to its business, lets have a thread to share and recommend food places up north ?

I did a search and actually could not find a similar thread.

This would be useful to many.

To kick this off, this is my first contribution. The curry mee which I find it so hard to find in Singapore.

Address: Kang Bee Hong, 4446Jalan Eko Botani 3/679100 Nusajaya, Johor, Malaysia

76DD8338-40E5-4EA4-BA73-BC6EE32B8871_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.f8a2157f266e36110e2296e0033c89bf.jpeg

• Praise 15

I remember there was one thread in the makan folder,  but should be quite an old one now and hardly anymore updates there.  

I used it alot when I went to Jb almost every week many years ago.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

8 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Maybe i didn’t explore much

but my fav is dragon i.

i eat dtf, xtal jade and paradise until sian lol

Kim Gary didn’t seems to have survive the pandemic ?

34 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Maybe i didn’t explore much

but my fav is dragon i.

i eat dtf, xtal jade and paradise until sian lol

Sorry bro, but this dragon is seriously not that good. 

I luv roast duck and have been eating Eastern dragon (龙华)opposite of KSL since 80's.

After border opened up and went there, only realized thay have shifted near to Austin hill golf resort. 

11 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

Sorry bro, but this dragon is seriously not that good. 

I find it nice

better than dtf. Suit my tastebud more lol

dtf in sg eat until sian that find it no longer nice hahaha

5 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

I find it nice

better than dtf. Suit my tastebud more lol

dtf in sg eat until sian that find it no longer nice hahaha

DTF?? I rather stay home eat loti...... Hahaha haha. 

7 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

DTF?? I rather stay home eat loti...... Hahaha haha. 

Other chain i normally go is tang shifu and d shanghai. But since covid nvr go. Not sure still nice anot

also go noodle 

oh yah dtf in jb is halal

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

I used to frequent Canton-i and Dragon-i too, especially to eat roast goose which we can't get here, but when went in recently to Bt Indah and Tebrau all the outlets closed down already.

These are my usual go-to places for now:

Bt Indah - Loon Sing Restoran, Jeju Black/BBQ

Gelang Patah - Tian Lai,Chua Kee

10 minutes ago, badlammy said:

I used to frequent Canton-i and Dragon-i too, especially to eat roast goose which we can't get here, but when went in recently to Bt Indah and Tebrau all the outlets closed down already.

These are my usual go-to places for now:

Bt Indah - Loon Sing Restoran, Jeju Black/BBQ

Gelang Patah - Tian Lai,Chua Kee

Loon sing so so imo

i had dragon i in city sq and mid valley, both good

10 hours ago, Davidklt said:

Now the the causeway and 2nd link is back to its business, lets have a thread to share and recommend food places up north ?

I did a search and actually could not find a similar thread.

This would be useful to many.

To kick this off, this is my first contribution. The curry mee which I find it so hard to find in Singapore.

Address: Kang Bee Hong, 4446Jalan Eko Botani 3/679100 Nusajaya, Johor, Malaysia

76DD8338-40E5-4EA4-BA73-BC6EE32B8871_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.f8a2157f266e36110e2296e0033c89bf.jpeg

the curry in johor curry mee is usually lighter (or more diluted) than the SG version. How is this? 

@Shibadog

1 hour ago, Shibadog said:

the curry in johor curry mee is usually lighter (or more diluted) than the SG version. How is this? 

It is the thicker type and much more flavourful. Which I cannot find in Singapore. For this shop, you can choose the noodles and type of meat. I added shio bak. Nice.

Edited by Davidklt

12 hours ago, Davidklt said:

Kim Gary didn’t seems to have survive the pandemic ?

Kim gary in sg no more liao right? I dont remember the eatery that i ate when i went to JB during pre covid days liao. Too long never go and dementia already set in. 😂

Anyone know any old school malls still flourishing in KL? I went sungei wang and its a dead mall.... 

22 minutes ago, Yeshe said:

Anyone know any old school malls still flourishing in KL? I went sungei wang and its a dead mall.... 

it’s more or less even before Covid