I got charged for Global SMS by Singtel, and they cannot do anything!

Silverkris

My kid phone number, tagged to me, was charged for over 200+ global SMS to the following numbers:

at the following time:

19-Jun-22 11PM to 20-Jun-22 at 10 AM.

This was informed to me after I have sent enquiry to Singtel.

But at that time, My kid was asleep in our room already and definitely not playing with his phone or anything. I also checked his phone for these 200+ messages to no avail.

Unfortunately, Singtel was not able to do anything about it at all. And he definitely do not know anything about these global SMS. Who uses SMS nowadays anyway?

I will be less surprised if it is some form of online purchases, but global SMS?

Anyway, Singtel say they cannot help on this and just ask me to monitor the device messages.

I suspect the SIM data being hacked but they also ignored this.

• Shocked 3

7 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

must be iPhone right?

me also paying to ST for years regarding this global sms 🙊🙉🙈

Yes, but 200++ messages in one night? more like the phone / SIM getting hacked

22 minutes ago, Silverkris said:

My kid phone number, tagged to me, was charged for over 200+ global SMS to the following numbers:

at the following time:

But at that time, My kid was asleep in our room already and definitely not playing with his phone or anything. I also checked his phone for these 200+ messages to no avail.

Unfortunately, Singtel was not able to do anything about it at all. And he definitely do not know anything about these global SMS. Who uses SMS nowadays anyway?

I will be less surprised if it is some form of online purchases, but global SMS?

Anyway, Singtel say they cannot help on this and just ask me to monitor the device messages.

Get refund and cancel the number.

46 minutes ago, Silverkris said:

at the following time:

That number got spoofed! Lodge a police report and cancel that number fast.

Best to make a police report for Singtel to take action. 

Not about the number of global smses but there are some genuine cases of other consumers making those smses and trying to pass off as unauthorised. Dunno what numbers though. 

Looks like kena hacked. Best to quickly cancel that number. The hackers also know timespan will be very short for them to do their damage. 

Just sharing. 

Stay safe 

1 hour ago, Silverkris said:

at the following time:

@Silverkris When you go through those messages sent, generally what was the content about?
Maybe from those you can narrow down the issue.

52 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

i sua gu, what is global sms? [sweatdrop]

I also dont know 

maybe is send sms to other country 

2 hours ago, Silverkris said:

Yes, but 200++ messages in one night? more like the phone / SIM getting hacked

mine was charged once daily until I surrendered 

ported over to m1

problem solved 

nothing to do with sim

it is the iPhone 

7 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

mine was charged once daily until I surrendered 

ported over to m1

problem solved 

nothing to do with sim

it is the iPhone 

Erm don't make sense leh.. If it is iPhone, shouldn't the solution is to change to Android? 

10 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

Erm don't make sense leh.. If it is iPhone, shouldn't the solution is to change to Android? 

if you want to stay with ST then android lah

but my eco all mac

so LL lor 

iPhone users may be charged by Apple for activation request* sent to Apple Servers (in UK) each time you:
- Turn on/off iMessage function
- Turn on/off FaceTime function
- Insert SIM card into iPhone (each removal/insertion of SIM will trigger request for iMessage)
*Activation request is sent via GlobalSMS @$0.18/sms to Apple Servers; including but not limited to the following UK numbers:-

You may refer to Apple Support at https://support.apple.com/en-ph/HT201349 for more details.

1 hour ago, Ghgan said:

iPhone users may be charged by Apple for activation request* sent to Apple Servers (in UK) each time you:
- Turn on/off iMessage function
- Turn on/off FaceTime function
- Insert SIM card into iPhone (each removal/insertion of SIM will trigger request for iMessage)
*Activation request is sent via GlobalSMS @$0.18/sms to Apple Servers; including but not limited to the following UK numbers:-

You may refer to Apple Support at https://support.apple.com/en-ph/HT201349 for more details.

This sounds like an iphone behavior.. nothing to do with Singtel or M1..