2023 Honda Civic Type R Debuts As Most Powerful Model Ever

kobayashiGT

image.thumb.png.dd79948f56e945c1142c9172db47a9fc.png

Source: https://www.motor1.com/news/599481/2023-honda-civic-type-r-debut/

It's been over a year since we first saw camouflaged prototypes of the 2023 Honda Civic Type R. An official teaser campaign from Honda began six months ago, featuring everything from auto show appearances to setting lap records, all with cars still wearing a camo wrap. Now, the wait is finally over and all is revealed. Well, except for a few minor details like power, performance, and price.

Admittedly, those aren't minor details but Honda promises more information is coming soon. What we can share right now is that the newest Civic is the most powerful Type R ever. In fact, Honda says it's the fastest, most powerful Honda-branded vehicle ever offered for US buyers. The familiar turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder from the outgoing Type R still holds station under the hood, sending its power to the front wheels through a revised six-speed manual transmission. There is no sequential gearbox, no all-wheel drive, and no wild hybrid tech. In terms of powertrain, it's a proper old-school hot hatchback.

2023-honda-civic-type-r-wing.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-engine.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-seats.jpg

As with the engine, Honda isn't ready to share details on the Civic Type R's underpinnings save for it being "enhanced." We do know the car is lower, longer, and wider than the previous model. It also wears a wider set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires, all of which surely contributes to the new Type R setting a front-wheel-drive lap record at Suzuka.

Visually speaking, we finally get a good look at the Type R's big rear wing in context with the car. It's not the only upgrade – the front clip is a bit more aggressive with a mesh grille and revised corner intakes. Subtle side sills are found on the fenders behind the front wheels that work with the intakes, enhancing airflow efficiency around the car. Type R wheels and tires neatly fill bulged fender flares, and to maintain the sporty look, the hot hatch has wider rear doors versus the standard Civic. A rounded rear fascia with a diffuser and the triple-exit exhaust completes the exterior makeover.

Inside, of course there's red mixed with black. You'll find red on the aggressive sport seats, carpeting, badging, and contrast stitching. Black covers the rest, including the Civic's handsome dash which carries over from the standard model. A special +R driving mode adds some visual excitement to the driver display, and an onboard data logger offers real-time information on the car and how it's responding to the driver.

Spoiler

2023-honda-civic-type-r-front-view.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-rear-view.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-exhaust.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-interior.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-dash.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-badge.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-touchscreen.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-door.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-driver-display.j

It will be way cooler if there is a handbrake. But if you ask me, this iteration of Type R is tastefully done. Koba approve! :grin:

10 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

It will be way cooler if there is a handbrake. But if you ask me, this iteration of Type R is tastefully done. Koba approve! :grin:

Honda follows WRX route to sell in USA.  

41 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

image.thumb.png.dd79948f56e945c1142c9172db47a9fc.png

Source: https://www.motor1.com/news/599481/2023-honda-civic-type-r-debut/

It's been over a year since we first saw camouflaged prototypes of the 2023 Honda Civic Type R. An official teaser campaign from Honda began six months ago, featuring everything from auto show appearances to setting lap records, all with cars still wearing a camo wrap. Now, the wait is finally over and all is revealed. Well, except for a few minor details like power, performance, and price.

Admittedly, those aren't minor details but Honda promises more information is coming soon. What we can share right now is that the newest Civic is the most powerful Type R ever. In fact, Honda says it's the fastest, most powerful Honda-branded vehicle ever offered for US buyers. The familiar turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder from the outgoing Type R still holds station under the hood, sending its power to the front wheels through a revised six-speed manual transmission. There is no sequential gearbox, no all-wheel drive, and no wild hybrid tech. In terms of powertrain, it's a proper old-school hot hatchback.

As with the engine, Honda isn't ready to share details on the Civic Type R's underpinnings save for it being "enhanced." We do know the car is lower, longer, and wider than the previous model. It also wears a wider set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires, all of which surely contributes to the new Type R setting a front-wheel-drive lap record at Suzuka.

Visually speaking, we finally get a good look at the Type R's big rear wing in context with the car. It's not the only upgrade – the front clip is a bit more aggressive with a mesh grille and revised corner intakes. Subtle side sills are found on the fenders behind the front wheels that work with the intakes, enhancing airflow efficiency around the car. Type R wheels and tires neatly fill bulged fender flares, and to maintain the sporty look, the hot hatch has wider rear doors versus the standard Civic. A rounded rear fascia with a diffuser and the triple-exit exhaust completes the exterior makeover.

Inside, of course there's red mixed with black. You'll find red on the aggressive sport seats, carpeting, badging, and contrast stitching. Black covers the rest, including the Civic's handsome dash which carries over from the standard model. A special +R driving mode adds some visual excitement to the driver display, and an onboard data logger offers real-time information on the car and how it's responding to the driver.

Reveal hidden contents

2023-honda-civic-type-r-rear-view.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-exhaust.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-dash.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-badge.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-touchscreen.jpg

2023-honda-civic-type-r-door.jpg

😍😍😍

23 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

See this one wet already 🤣

image.thumb.png.ea7484b636bff8d85824fd1c012d91e4.png

Me too! My palms wet. Because the excitement can cause me sweaty palms.😃 

38 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Honda follows WRX route to sell in USA.  

US keep on printing money.... hahaha. They can afford lah. feds know what they are doing. :grin:

the engine 2.0L at 306hp and 400NM is no slouch...combined with relatively light (japenese style) chasis, with this much power to weight ratio, I am surprised at the 0-100 sprint timing of 5.5s

is it because of the FWD (cannot put all the power to the ground) and full manual (most modern sports-tuned AT shifts faster)?

24 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

the engine 2.0L at 306hp and 400NM is no slouch...combined with relatively light (japenese style) chasis, with this much power to weight ratio, I am surprised at the 0-100 sprint timing of 5.5s

is it because of the FWD (cannot put all the power to the ground) and full manual (most modern sports-tuned AT shifts faster)?

According to Mat Watson, it is because of MT.

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

Maybe can Trade in your euro R for this type r 😆

1 hour ago, Lethalstrike said:

See this one wet already 🤣

image.thumb.png.ea7484b636bff8d85824fd1c012d91e4.png

Sama sama see already dum liao 😂 

1 hour ago, Inlinefour said:

go Boleh cum back TaBoleh 🙈🙉🙊

This time still OK lah. Still cum back when everyone thought it went sarwadee liao.:XD:

43 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

This time still OK lah. Still cum back when everyone thought it went sarwadee liao.:XD:

true hor

lose little treat as won 🙊🙉🙈

4 hours ago, Confusedboi said:

Maybe can Trade in your euro R for this type r 😆

Hahahah. I like old car. I will wait for this FL5 for 10 years. 🤣